193 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fabulous! I substituted olive oil, red wine vinegar and splenda and cut down on the garlic and added more parmesan. Tremendously better than store bought!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveNewRecipes January 25, 2011

This dressing is fabulous!! Thank you! This is the only dressing that everyone in my family loves! There are 8 of us and everyone liked a different kind of dressing so I had many many bottles in the fridge. I now have more space in my fridge. I didn't change a thing. I made the salad dressing exactly as the recipe states, which is rare for me...lol.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abbeygurl November 23, 2003

Doubled the sugar. So-so right after making it, but TOTALLY surprised me after 3 days in the fridge. This will be a staple in my house!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nduj July 06, 2011

I originally reviewed this way back when. Over the years this has become my favorite salad dressing. I have made it with balsamic vinegar, red wine vinegar, white wine vinegar and apple cider vinegar; basically whatever falls out of the cupboard at me. I do always use light olive oil. It is simply delicious and much more economical than buying bottled dressing. Bev, thank you so much for sharing your treasured family recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose May 12, 2011

I substituted olive oil and balsamic vinegar and added a bit more parmesan cheese. Wow, everybody loved it. We have been using this daily for the last 3 weeks. I have a very picky family and we don't give many 5-star ratings.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hsnow73 January 29, 2004

The best! When I shared with my Mom that after YEARS of buying every Italian dressing on the shelves with no success of finding the one from when I was a kid that this recipe was SPOT-ON. She laughed. My son, the 16yo who has lived on ranch his entire life and used to dunk everything in it has now switched to this. I am pretty sure he must be drinking it when nobody is around. It's delicious, easy and versatile. I make it as is most of the time but I sometimes throw in a handful of whatever dried herbs are mocking me. It's great with basil. Good with tarragon. Nice with some straight parsley. You get the idea. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! By the way. Thanks for posting this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen August 24, 2011

Delicious! I let it sit the better part of the afternoon. I think I'll add just a touch more sugar and Parmesan to it. Looking forward to revisiting it in a day or two. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama July 06, 2011

This dressing is simple AND simply delicious! I used splenda instead of sugar and left out the cheese because of dietary problems in my family. I didn't have time to let it sit for a while but I did put it in the freezer for about an hour and everyone loved it! I'm sure I'll never buy Italian Dressing again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks March 18, 2011

I love this dressing and will use it often. Thanks for sharing your family recipe, Bev.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Transplant December 06, 2010

Yay I've finally found it! The perfect, easy, cheap salad dressing recipe!!! I used to buy those Good Seasons packets, but I didn't like that they had preservatives in it. So I ran out of dressing today and spent ions of time trying to find a recipe on here that contained ingredients I had on hand. Voila! Thank you so much, Bev, for the wonderfully easy and tasty recipe that will be my family's new salad dressing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz November 24, 2010
Italian Salad Dressing