Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Pepper and Sausage Dinner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Pepper and Sausage Dinner

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2009

      Good, quick, use whatever you have kind of recipe. Added frozen yellow & green squash from my summer garden & sliced mushrooms. Did add 1/2 cp chkn broth & only had dried herbs, but was very good. Some dried red peppers would add extra zest. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      Everyone loved this... kids even had seconds. We used Colosimo's Mild Italian sausage (purchased from Costco... used 4 links). I used only 1 T olive oil, which was plenty for the vegetables. I didn't have romano cheese, so I used fresh Parmesan. Also, I didn't have fresh basil, so I used 2 tsp. dry basil... it was great and will be part of our regular rotation (a few times a year). I love that it is rich in vegetables. Next time I make it, I'll use a whole grain pasta, and maybe 50% more veggies. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      We used this recipe as a base, and changed it up a little. We used ground mild italian sausage, home canned tomatoes, and doubled the recipe. When it was almost done, I added a package of cream cheese.The tomatoes were juicy, so I added a bit of cornstarch to thicken. It was so yummy. We had it on angel hair pasta, as that was all we had on hand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I cut this recipe down a bit but didn't measure. I used one red pepper, one can of diced tomatoes with green chilies, and added a little ck broth. I stirred in a lot of fresh basil and oregano from my garden...added more basil at the end. Awesome! I made this to suit our tastes perfectly and I can't wait to make this again. TRY the fresh oregano too. Thanks for sharing...Luv this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Like Cathy17, I didn't have red or yellow peppers, so I used 2 large green peppers, one large Vidalia onion and a jar of sliced mushrooms. I sauteed the veggies and then the added the garlic in the remaining sausage fat and added the veggies once the onions were translucent. Once that was all mixed up with the sausage and had simmered for a bit, I added a 28 oz can of fire roasted tomatoes , a tablespoon chili powder, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano and 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes and let simmer for about 20 minutes. Then added some grated parmesan cheese and let simmer a bit more before letting stand for about 10 minutes before serving. The fresh basil was wonderful in this dish. Next time I'll add about 1/4 cup of red wine as well. Great flavors...we will most definitely make again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      This was an easy and delicious meal! I used roma tomatoes in place of stewed and used Italian turkey sausage. Leftovers work great in eggs!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Everyone really liked this recipe. I chopped the vegetables instead of slicing to make it easier to eat. I used bowtie pasta, but really only needed 1/2 lb. It looked as good as it tasted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      you have to try this!!excellent, i left the casing on and sauted slices of sausage. delicious. thank you for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2014

      Loved it as is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      I had all the ingredients on hand and made the recipe as written. It was delicious! I will definitely make this again. This is the type of dish I love; it is easy to make but it tastes as if it was difficult to make.<br/>Dec 27, 2013: Made it again with penne pasta and dried basil instead of fresh and it was still delicious. I left the Italian sausage in the casing, browned it until if firmed enough to cut into slices easily, put it back in the pan to finish cooking and then used it like the recipe called for for ground sausage, I like it better sliced in the dish rather than ground.<br/>Thanks again for posting this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      Made this for our dinner cutting this in half and adding some more garlic, red pepper flakes (for some zing), oregano and some red wine....oh so yummy! This was a great comfort food recipe and one that we will be using again. Thank you for posting. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup 2013 tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      Very very easy, and my DH loved it!!! There was a ton of flavor, and it was one of the simplest dishes I've every made. I only had penne pasta, parmesan cheese, and peeled plum tomatoes with puree and basil, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you for sharing, this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      I Loved this recipe with it's very fresh taste. I used both sweet and hot sausage and sliced them before browning them. Also used 1 tble of oil and about 1/4 cup of merlot to deglaze the pan while cooking the vegtables.Used large can of diced tomatoes with oregeno and basil. Also used dry italian spices and added a 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes to give it a little kick. To thicken I added 3/4 cup of pasta sauce (Tomato with basil ) I had left over. It was out of this world.... Perfect over Pasta and for lunch on a hoaggie with cheese. This will become a regular at my place for sure. Thank you Glitter!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      I enjoyed this but would decrease the amount of noodles next time . I think I would have prefered more sauce, less noodles. Great taste and easy to make..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      My hubby & I both enjoyed this, we used hot italian sausage, steamed & cut into coins. Served it over Penne Pasta, yum, will add this to the rotation. Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Very comforting dinner. thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Sooooo delicious!!!! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Yum, yum, yum! This was devine! Thanks for sharing a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Yum! I had to make a few subs. I used about 5 fresh roma tomatoes (no canned on hand) and dried basil. I can only imagine how good it is with fresh. I love fresh herbs. This was simple yet tasted like it took much more time and effort. Very fresh and delicious. Thank you glitter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      My husband and I enjoyed this a lot. I added some fresh oregano and parsley too. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Pepper and Sausage Dinner

    Serving Size: 1 (342 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 643.4
     
    Calories from Fat 244
    37%
    Total Fat 27.1 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 44.9 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1176.7 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.6 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 26.8 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites