Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Peasant Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Peasant Soup

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2003

      I made this recipe exactly as written. This is a very good, satisfying soup. Its not fancy, but very substantial and perfect for a Sunday night family supper. What I like about this soup is that one can taste all the different ingredients....the flavors are very clear and distinct and not muddled. Oh, the leftover soup was even better, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Delicious! My husband says it's the best soup he's ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

    • on November 21, 2010

      My husband loved this! The leftovers were even better! I also used two cans of tomatoes instead of one and served with garlic bread! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This soup is sooooo delicious. My husband raves about it and he doesn't even like spinach! This soup has changed his mind. Great recipe. I love to serve it with sourdough rolls and don't skimp on the Parmesan! I like to add a couple chopped carrots to the recipe. I have the recipe in TOH'S Big Book of Soup and it does call for 2 cans (14-1/2 ounces each) of diced tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This was really nummy! I totally forgot to thaw my chicken, so by the time I went to make it is was too late. I added some macaroni to the soup to beef it up in place of the chicken. still good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This is wonderful for all you carb watchers, just reduce the beans to 1 can.I have been making this recipe for years. It has been enjoyed by family and guests and is always a hit. I have found a shortcut for the chicken and suasage prep. I put them together in a 9/13 dish covered with foil and bake at 375 for about 1 hour (a little longer if frozen). I will alternate my bean selection according to what I have in my pantry and sometime use Tyrkey sausage for an even healthier option.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      So hearty and delicious. I did it the lazy way- started the sausage, when it was just about done we added the chicken, onions and garlic. We didn't drain it at all. We also made this in huge quantities- 25 quarts. It was delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Well, this IS really good! I have to admit, while this was cooking, I wasn't sure...But the soup was great! We each had seconds! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      I love this soup. I first had it at my Mom's at least a year ago and only tried it myself last month when I found the recipe here. I used itallian turkey sausage to cut down on the fat and it was great. I also used a 28ounce can of diced tomatoes instead of 14 1/2. Tonight I served it to a group of friends and eveyone enjoyed it. This is my new favorite soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      A wonderful hearty soup. I loved all the flavors of this soup. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      This is a great tasting recipe and very filling. It`s soup season now and this just sounded so good I had to try it. The flavor combination just combined really well. Thank you for a really tasty recipe. This soup is as great for the eyes as for the palate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Wonderful! I used turkey italian sausage and white northern beans in my version. Also used 1 can low sodium broth and 1 can regular. I really thought 2 onions was a little bit too much so I used one large one. Also used flavored diced tomatoes for a little more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Now this is a soup with gusto! The combination of textures and flavors make this recipe one of a kind! When I served this to my DH and DS, I really felt a sense of accomplishment. This wasn't just soup, this was a hardy meal. As crackers were being crumbled into the soup, I heard both my boys making "mmmmmm" noises in between spoonfuls of soup. That's a noise we all love to hear. Along with some of the other reviewers, I added two cans of the diced tomatoes. Instead of cutting the sausage into 1" pieces, I took it out of the casings to fry it up. Finishing off the soup with baby spinach and a shake of parmesan cheese was the perfect ending. This soup will be served many, many times in our house. I also look forward to sharing it with the rest of our relatives. Thanks for posting such an impressive recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      This soup is fantastic!! I did use great northern beans and added one extra can of diced tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      This is a great soup! I made this recipe the night before and then warmed it up and added the spinach. Everyone loved it. Thanks for this wonderful soup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      What a wonderful soup! I made this recipe the night before Thanksgiving for all of my family that traveled to my house for this year's feast. Everyone raved, and the college kids stole the leftovers to take back to school with them. Thanks for winner soup recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2003

      Now this is my kind of soup. Hearty, lot of flavor and easy to put together. I followed the recipe and thought it tasted great, but this could be so versatile, the possibilites are endless. I think next time, I will add some Italian green beans and zucchini. A good one for the cooler weather. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      Amen to all the other reviews-this is terrific. Such a good blend of flavors. This will be a do-er again in our house! Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      I love this soup! I substitute escarole for the spinach and serve with fresh italian bread. great comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Peasant Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (347 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.8
     
    Calories from Fat 183
    50%
    Total Fat 20.4 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 59.9 mg
    19%
    Sodium 1119.7 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 24.6 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites