Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Peasant Bread for Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Peasant Bread for Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    95 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 95

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2003

      This tastes just like the bread at Macaroni Grill. The rosemary flavor was wonderful. I am so happy to find this recipe. I reduced the olive oil in the bread to one tablespoon and only used 1 teaspoon of salt. After brushing the risen loaf with olive oil, I sprinked on garlic salt and basil. It turned out perfect. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2003

      This is a really good bread recipe .. I did cut the amount of salt in half to allow the bread to rise higher .. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I am one of the few people who still regularly uses my bread machine. One of the reasons I GOT a bread machine in the first place is because I LOVE the bread I get at places like the Macaroni Grill. This recipe makes bread that is EXACTLY like it. I let my machine bake it all the way through instead of taking the dough out, shaping it and letting it bake in the oven; it's the TASTE I care about rather than the more than the shape. This recipe makes bread that is freaking AWESOME!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2003

      Ok, I remade this bread, cutting the salt to 1 1/2tsp, and the rosemary to 1/2 T. It turned out perfectly...just like was posted,,crusty on the outside and soft on the inside. This is the kind of bread I was looking for. We just don't care for a strong rosemary taste, and the salt amount was too much for us. After re-making it and reducing these 2 ingredients, it's a wonderful bread I will make many more times! Thankyou for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      I subbed in one cup of whole wheat flour and used a little less rosemary and salt. I think next time I might leave the salt or add some to the outside, for me it needed it. This was so easy to do I can't wait to do it again. I served this with some tortellini soup that I added rosemary to and they were great together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      This is wonderful bread. I put a little less rosemary but wish I had put a little more. Note: this makes a small loaf. For my family of 4 I would double next time. We had with roasted eggplant and portabello mushrooms sandwiches. Can't wait to try with olive oil and balsamic dip!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      The bread was deliciously soft and crusty, but I would definitely suggest cutting down on the salt. A tablespoon and a half was a little too much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Bread was delicious! I made mine in a cast iron loaf pan. Next time I might try a "free" shape to see how we like that. I also set it on the toaster oven, which was set at 250, to rise, and that was perfect! The whole family enjoyed this bread - we pulled it apart at the table. I didn't do anything to get a crisp crust, but will also try for that next time as well. Very pleased with the results in any case.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Although I missed the mark with this, the flavor and promise is enough to try again. It didn't fully rise for me. Date on my yeast is good, kitchen was warm, started in ABM, I dunno. But I will give this another go as we both really liked it. Even in it's lessened state, it worked wonders as a dipper in Andi's Tomato Soup Tomato Soup. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      My daughter-in-law, (run for your life) told me about this recipe...so glad she did! Absolutely delicious! I only used 1 teaspoon of salt...perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Too much salt! When I saw 2 T I though "Holy Cow!" and reduced it to 1 1/2 T. That was still too salty. Does this restaurant serve alcholic drinks or something? I think the bread would have been good otherwise.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      This was OUTSTANDING. Followed it to a T and it is perfection. Its perfect with a little balsamic and olive oil for dipping. UPDATE::: This bread has been my go to bread for dinner parties to put out with some olive oil and balsamic vinegar for dipping. Everytime hands down, people ask where I get it from. So wonderful. I have even subbed dry basil for the rosemary in a pinch and it is wonderful still!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      This is by far the best bread I have ever made! It tastes almost exactly like Macaroni Grill. I did cut back on the salt a bit and added about 1 tsp of garlic. Love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      I've made this bread twice now, and both times the 3/4 cup water wasn't enough to bind the dry ingredients together. The first time I added an extra tbsp. of olive oil. It didn't rise well, and tasted heavy. The second time, I added an extra tbsp. of water. That did the trick! I also left out the rosemary, as I was serving this with Carrabba's Bread Dipping Spice. I also decreased the salt to 2 tsp. and will only use 1 1/2 tsp. in the future. I did brush the top of the bread with a little olive oil, coarsely ground salt, and a little of the Carrabba's Bread Dipping Spice. Everyone in the family really enjoyed it! Thanks Jamie Renee!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I am only giving this recipe 4 stars because I feel Jamie may have mistyped a couple of the ingredient amounts. I used 1 tsp. salt, not Tbsp., 1 tsp. rosemary, 1-1/4 tsp. yeast. I used the bread machine during the whole process of this recipe and it came out very nicely. Be sure to add all liquid ingred. first, then the salt, sugar, spice. Yeast is always last. I used the French bread setting. This bread went very well with Spaghetti, not too overpowering with spice. Would do this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Very yummy bread! I too decreased the salt to 1 tsp and the olive oil to 1 T. Also, I used 1/2 whole wheat flour. Rather than using egg white or oil to make it "crusty", I used steam. Lightly spray the bread with water before baking and pre-heat oven with a square pan of water on the bottom rack. Bake bread on the rack above the water. The steam makes a nice crust on the outside while the bread stays soft inside. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      This bread was pretty easy to make, and people kept telling me how great it was. I did reduce the salt to 1.5 tsp as lots of the other reviewers suggested, and it turned out perfectly. I made it again, this time adding garlic powder, and it was great! This will be a staple recipe from now on. Thanks Crimsonvixen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2003

      Awesome bread! It was just like the bread they serve at the Macaroni Grill. My husband ate a whole loaf all by himself. Thank you Crimsonvixen for this excellent recipe. When I made this, I used "Bread Flour" and found that it had a great texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      Wow, turned out great to serve with our pasta and meat sauce. May use a bit less rosemary next time, but was great as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      Well worth making. May be be the best recipe I've found yet on food.com. Used 1-1/2 tsp. salt and 1 tablespoon yeast in the dough. Used my bread machine and stretched the dough out quite flat with oiled fingers on a black baking sheet that was oiled and sprinkled with cornmeal. Made very deep dimples. I've made this 3 times already and like it better each time. The last time, I topped half with oil, gorgonzola cheese, Hawaiian red salt and pepper. Other half with shredded Parmesan and dried minced garlic soaked in olive oil, salt and pepper. It looked very professional and was delicious. I heartily recommend this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Peasant Bread for Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 632.0
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    21%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3497.1 mg
    145%
    Total Carbohydrate 107.5 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    39%
    Protein 15.3 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes