Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Mixed Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Mixed Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2010

      I already made beans from scratch and was trying to figure what to do with them. Found this recipe and it was perfect. Used 2 cups of fresh spinach roughly chopped and added zucchini. Used fresh oregano which I had on hand and some basil paste. Pulled out some beans and broth, used the blender and returned it to the soup to make it even thicker. YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      This was my first attempt using dried beans. Wow, I let them soak over night and used them for this recipe for an amazing end result. I followed the recipe exacly and it was so good. I tried to invite my husbands friends over for dinner but he said no so he could eat it all himself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      Yum! Halved the recipe which made about six portions. Did not use lentils and substituted sliced cabbage. Very happy with the outcome and would definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      This makes lovely soup. I made two and a half batches, so I'll have a lot of good soup for a pretty long time. I did take some liberties with the recipe - I wanted to use up all the odds and ends of beans in the cupboard, so had a pretty ecletic mix. I used whole mung beans and split yellowish colored some kind of lentils I think, in place of the lentils. I only used one carrot, but put in a bunch of parsley. I added some tomato paste in place of some of the canned tomatoes. I had to cook this quite a while before my pretty elderly beans became tender. I did use a Japanese green leafy vegetable similar to spinach (komatsu na), because I prefer it. Anyway, I now have a huge pot of delicious soup, which I will portion out and freeze for later enjoyment. Thank you very much for this recipe. However, I would like to add that it doesn't seem to mention cooking the beans anywhere. I think that might be something nice to add.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I added some ham hocks and ham, and eliminated the spinach. This soup was terrific and was even better as leftovers. This is a fantastic recipe for those cold winter days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      Great recipe, but I cooked 6 strips of bacon (chopped up) and used the drippings to saute the veggies. I also substituted chicken stock for the water and bouillon cubes. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2013

      I made this soup when my son was coming for a visit only changing kale for spinach. It was kind of funny because every couple bites he would make comments like: "wow good soup",then,"this is really great soup" and next " I can't believe this soup." Until he finally exploded with, " Mom I think this is the best soup I've ever eaten in my life!" And yes the rest of us love it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      We loved it and it's easy to make. I used cilantro and tomato bouillon because that's what I had on hand and frozen basil from my garden. At step 5 I put everything in my crockpot on high. (I didn't include the celery or lentils) Thank you! I am definitly a home made soup lover since I found this website.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      Like Kim127 we too loved this soup and I also had a package of the the mixed beans which had lentils already added. Used the Italian seasoned tomatoes because that was what I had on hand, I am sure it would be just as good using diced tomatoes. A meal in itself. Not only tastes great but looks so appealing served in white bowls. We soup lovers enjoyed -thank you Umberle it's been added to my 'Favorite Soups' cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      Loved this soup! Even better the second day. I had a 16 bean mixture that I used which already had the lentils in it, so I didn't add extra. I soaked them overnight and then added to the pot with the water. Also DH put in the request for me to add sausage, so I added a garlic cheese sausage that I sauteed sperately and added with the spinach. Umberle, this is going into the keeper file!! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Mixed Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (308 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.9
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    14%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 182.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites