Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Meatballs in Tomato Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Meatballs in Tomato Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2002

      Since I used my own marinara sauce,I did not need to make the tomato sauce in this recipe. But I am giving the meatball recipe 5 STARS!! I have been searching for a really good meatball recipe, and these meatballs were great! I thought they were easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out delicious. My family really liked these meatballs too. I will definately make them again. Thanks Recipezaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      I thought I would be daring and actually follow a recipe for once. Glad I did! I shall make this again. :o)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      Thank you so very much for sharing this wonderful dish Recipezaar. We enjoyed it so much. I added 1/2 cup of sliced sweet vadillia onion, celery, mushrooms and green peppers as my family likes vegetables in their sauce. The sauce base and meatballs are absolutely wonderful...The meatballs are so tasty and tender and big...I will certainly be making this quick, easy to prepare dish again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Not bad, easy prep. Didn't make the sauce, just the meatballs and used my own sauce. The kids loved it more than I did, which is a good thing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I was looking for a sauce for some meatballs I had made and frozen previously. This sauce was delicious!!! It is now my go-to tomato sauce...so good! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      I've made these meatballs and it is out of this world. Charmaine Viljoen - South-Africa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Yummm!!!! It's funny because I have tried the highest rated meatballs with the most ratings, and they didn't even compare to these! These are wonderful and full of flavor! I only made the meatballs and this is what I did differently. I added about 2 tablesoons of italian bread crumbs, as the meat mixture was too runny with just the two slices of bread. (I used potato bread) I also added a tablespoon of minced dried onions and a half tablespoon of minced dried garlic instead of the fresh garlic. I also used 2 tablespoons of dried prarlsey instead of fresh. And for the cheese I had to use a mix of parm and romano as that is all I had on hand. I also prefer to bake the meatballs at 450 for 10 minutes instead of frying. Then I added them to the sauce to simmer for an hour or so to finish cooking. Next time I am going to try the sauce as well :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      This is one awesome recipe. I've made this several times for my friends and family and they all enjoyed it immensely. It is on the top of my list for Italian sauces. Paul San Francisco, CA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      Great tomato sauce! I already had meatballs prepared from another recipe here (691738), but needed a similarly sensational sauce to go with them and this was it! I followed the recipe exactly as written, except for the addition of extra garlic; the red wine really gave it a wonderful earthiness and I promise never again to use that icky store bought tomato sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      This was delicious and easy. I decided to make small meatballs and got over 20 from the recipe since my family likes them small.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      I made the sauce, not the meatballs. Very tasty and easy to make with all the ingredients on hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      Great sauce, I used 4 cloves garlic, fresh basil and followed your recipe. I had meatballs in the freezer but will try these next time. They sound very good. I like the romano cheese in the sauce. Thanks for a lovely dinner Julesong

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      What a wonderful sauce! I followed the recipe exactly for once and it was really delicious and so easy to make! I used the sauce with #69173 Parmesan Meatballs and it was a really yummy dinner, thanks for a great tomato sauce I will use again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2005

      I was looking for a tomato sauce to top some spaghetti squash, and decided to try this one. It's SO good. Got rave reviews. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2004

      This is my the same as my mother's recipe for meatballs (from Sicily). Try adding some finely chopped onions to the meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Meatballs in Tomato Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.6
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    59%
    Total Fat 27.7 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 107.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1239.2 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 14.2 g
    56%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chuck

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites