16 Reviews

Since I used my own marinara sauce,I did not need to make the tomato sauce in this recipe. But I am giving the meatball recipe 5 STARS!! I have been searching for a really good meatball recipe, and these meatballs were great! I thought they were easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out delicious. My family really liked these meatballs too. I will definately make them again. Thanks Recipezaar!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DJ June 27, 2002

I thought I would be daring and actually follow a recipe for once. Glad I did! I shall make this again. :o)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gtspr April 06, 2006

Thank you so very much for sharing this wonderful dish Recipezaar. We enjoyed it so much. I added 1/2 cup of sliced sweet vadillia onion, celery, mushrooms and green peppers as my family likes vegetables in their sauce. The sauce base and meatballs are absolutely wonderful...The meatballs are so tasty and tender and big...I will certainly be making this quick, easy to prepare dish again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 14, 2005

Not bad, easy prep. Didn't make the sauce, just the meatballs and used my own sauce. The kids loved it more than I did, which is a good thing! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenna0905 November 03, 2009

I was looking for a sauce for some meatballs I had made and frozen previously. This sauce was delicious!!! It is now my go-to tomato sauce...so good! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozen_rain October 18, 2009

I've made these meatballs and it is out of this world. Charmaine Viljoen - South-Africa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charo.style October 02, 2009

Yummm!!!! It's funny because I have tried the highest rated meatballs with the most ratings, and they didn't even compare to these! These are wonderful and full of flavor! I only made the meatballs and this is what I did differently. I added about 2 tablesoons of italian bread crumbs, as the meat mixture was too runny with just the two slices of bread. (I used potato bread) I also added a tablespoon of minced dried onions and a half tablespoon of minced dried garlic instead of the fresh garlic. I also used 2 tablespoons of dried prarlsey instead of fresh. And for the cheese I had to use a mix of parm and romano as that is all I had on hand. I also prefer to bake the meatballs at 450 for 10 minutes instead of frying. Then I added them to the sauce to simmer for an hour or so to finish cooking. Next time I am going to try the sauce as well :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liz in NJ January 07, 2009

This is one awesome recipe. I've made this several times for my friends and family and they all enjoyed it immensely. It is on the top of my list for Italian sauces. Paul San Francisco, CA

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Paulie in San Francisco, CA December 31, 2008

Great tomato sauce! I already had meatballs prepared from another recipe here (691738), but needed a similarly sensational sauce to go with them and this was it! I followed the recipe exactly as written, except for the addition of extra garlic; the red wine really gave it a wonderful earthiness and I promise never again to use that icky store bought tomato sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefanie #3 November 18, 2008

This was delicious and easy. I decided to make small meatballs and got over 20 from the recipe since my family likes them small.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barry44 November 16, 2008
Italian Meatballs in Tomato Sauce