17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty meatballs! I usually make my own recipe but every now and them I like to try something new. I followed the recipe as posted then threw the meatballs in a pot of sauce. The meatballs baked really well and I wouldn't do it any differently with this recipe. I also think these would make great little cocktail meatballs since they are so flavorful. Thanks for posting, we will definitely try this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atm1970 September 08, 2007

Very good and easy recipe. I skipped the wine and tomato paste (used the sauce I was using for spaghetti. I also used plain bread crumbs and added extra Italian seasonings. Very tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyMysT June 19, 2006

very good recipe, put a piece of provolone cheese inside each meatball and it'll be perfect

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nlfrenkel February 22, 2006

I found it saltly the first time, so the second time I left out the salt. Much better.
Also, I did not have red wine so I used Worchester Sauce and it worked great! Excellent recipe. Made it several times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpoczynek November 08, 2011

This is a very tasty meatball recipe. I made them a little smaller and baked them on a rack so that the fat would drain as it baked. Ate some, froze the rest for future use. This recipe has endless possibilities.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cucina Casalingo September 28, 2010

These are now my favorite meatballs. I get rave reviews every time I serve them. I substitute Panko bread crumbs for the Italian. and finely dice fresh onion rather than powder. I double the recipe and freeze the remainder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spiker1a December 20, 2008

These were wonderful. I didn't have any red wine so I simply left it out. I made large meatballs but since it's just the two of us more than half went into the freezer. They were great with spaghetti sauce and also great in a mushroom gravy over noodles. I will make sure that I always have a supply of these in the freezer. thanks Christine

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka December 01, 2008

This recipe has ruined me for all other meatballs. I've made these at least 6 times and they are always excellent. I freeze the leftovers and have meatballs always available for sandwiches. I didn't have any marjoram the first time I made them so I used Oregano and they turned out so well that I have kept using it. These meatballs are easy to make and I can throw them together in less than 1/2 hour now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
comfort*foodie*mama July 14, 2007

Really nice kicked up meatballs. I used pretty hot n spicy italian sausage. They really complimented sauce and pasta. Thanks Christine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jockey January 28, 2007

These were great - very tasty on spaghetti and amazing on a meatball sandwich. I made a huge batch to freeze (froze them uncooked on a cookie sheet and then put them in freezer bags). Then when we wanted them again, I put some on a baking sheet and popped in the oven for the recommended 30 minutes. Since they started frozen, they probably weren't cooked quite through, but then I simmered in sauce for another 20-30 minutes. We made meatball sandwiches on seeded rolls with mozzarella cheese - they were so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply October 26, 2006
Italian Meatballs