Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2007

      Very tasty meatballs! I usually make my own recipe but every now and them I like to try something new. I followed the recipe as posted then threw the meatballs in a pot of sauce. The meatballs baked really well and I wouldn't do it any differently with this recipe. I also think these would make great little cocktail meatballs since they are so flavorful. Thanks for posting, we will definitely try this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      Very good and easy recipe. I skipped the wine and tomato paste (used the sauce I was using for spaghetti. I also used plain bread crumbs and added extra Italian seasonings. Very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      very good recipe, put a piece of provolone cheese inside each meatball and it'll be perfect

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      I found it saltly the first time, so the second time I left out the salt. Much better.
      Also, I did not have red wine so I used Worchester Sauce and it worked great! Excellent recipe. Made it several times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      This is a very tasty meatball recipe. I made them a little smaller and baked them on a rack so that the fat would drain as it baked. Ate some, froze the rest for future use. This recipe has endless possibilities.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      These are now my favorite meatballs. I get rave reviews every time I serve them. I substitute Panko bread crumbs for the Italian. and finely dice fresh onion rather than powder. I double the recipe and freeze the remainder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      These were wonderful. I didn't have any red wine so I simply left it out. I made large meatballs but since it's just the two of us more than half went into the freezer. They were great with spaghetti sauce and also great in a mushroom gravy over noodles. I will make sure that I always have a supply of these in the freezer. thanks Christine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      This recipe has ruined me for all other meatballs. I've made these at least 6 times and they are always excellent. I freeze the leftovers and have meatballs always available for sandwiches. I didn't have any marjoram the first time I made them so I used Oregano and they turned out so well that I have kept using it. These meatballs are easy to make and I can throw them together in less than 1/2 hour now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Really nice kicked up meatballs. I used pretty hot n spicy italian sausage. They really complimented sauce and pasta. Thanks Christine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      These were great - very tasty on spaghetti and amazing on a meatball sandwich. I made a huge batch to freeze (froze them uncooked on a cookie sheet and then put them in freezer bags). Then when we wanted them again, I put some on a baking sheet and popped in the oven for the recommended 30 minutes. Since they started frozen, they probably weren't cooked quite through, but then I simmered in sauce for another 20-30 minutes. We made meatball sandwiches on seeded rolls with mozzarella cheese - they were so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Good recipe. I doubled it and used the Italian Bread Crumb Recipe (#54348) for the meatballs and used a combination of Manischevitz Concord Grape wine and Red wine vinegar because I didn't have any dry red wine. I left the cheese out and cooked the meatballs for 10 minutes at 400 degrees before I put them in the crock pot on low with spaghetti sauce for a better part of the day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      FINALLY....I made a good meatball...but I did make a few adjustments to accomidate my hectic schedule. I made a double batch, but instead of putting them in the oven, I browned them in olive oil on the stove. Then using the red wine that had to be opened, I deglazed the pan and added 2 jars of premade jar sauce.(and had a glass of wine. To this I rinsed out each jar with 1/2 jar of water and added that to the pan. Then this all went into the crockpot and the browned meatballs were added...Cook on low for 5 hours....Wonderfully simple...Thanks Much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      Very simple and with excellent flavor. I used fresh bread crumbs rather than the Italian seasoned, and finely diced red onion instead of the onion powder or flakes. I also increased my seasonings due to only using fresh bread crumbs. These were a quick fix on a lazy night and added to doctored bottle sauce and some pasta for a simple meal with a salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Excellent, tender, flavorful and very easy. The red wine and garlic are excellent. I used turkey Italian sauage and lean ground beef with great results. These may be my new favorite meatballs. Suggest increasing the recipe (I quadrupled it easily)and freezing the extras after baking. Can heat up frozen cooked meatballs in spaghetti sauce for a quick dinner or meatball sub. Thanks, Christine, for sharing your recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2005

      Great meatballs...my daughter made these to put on top of the meatball sub casserole recipe...family was not to stuck on casserole but loved the meatballs...so they picked them all off...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2005

      These meatballs were the absolute best I have ever tasted....follow the recipe exactly and you will not be disappointed. I added crumbled blue cheese to a batch and oh my were they ever amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2004

      These meatballs were a hit and are so easy to make! The hot oven not only sears in the meat juices but the aromas of the herbs, garlic, and wine too. This was my first time baking meatballs and it won't be the last. I think they're better than pan fried. No flavors need be wasted either. I deglaced the baking pan with a little wine and added this to the sauce. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (659 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.0
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    53%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 33.4 mg
    11%
    Sodium 393.8 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes