11 Reviews

Well this was my first experience in making Hoagies and we throughly enjoyed , I scaled back for 3 srves and got 16 balls but only needed 4 per roll so had a serve of balls and sauce which will be used in sandwiches for lunch and I seved with Sweet N' Sassy Summer Apple Coleslaw on the side wich was a great complemtnt to the Hogie, Thank you CoffeeB for tor the recipe and lazyme for the recommendation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat November 06, 2012

Awesome sammies and easy, easy, easy! All of us really enjoyed this meal a lot with a nice green salad. I made this as listed, including the mozzarella (of course!) and wouldn't change it next time. Made for Zaar Stars tag game. Thanks CoffeeB! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif July 18, 2012

Delicious sammy! I choose to use ground turkey instead of the beef and halved the recipe. I also didn't shape the meat into balls. Instead made cylinders, as I don't care for the balls moving around and falling off of the bun. As a result, I didn't heat them in the sauce. Spooned it on top instead and used provolone cheese. Personal preference. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama October 23, 2011

Well. Well. Well. The. Best. Ever. I followed this exactly, and totally would not change anything. Ok, I quartered it, but still this is the bomb. You don't need my accolades to make this a winner, but still I will say...it is. I love, love, love the use of saltines.Seriously, this is a under utilized addition that really is economical and tastes great! I even kept it *the sandwich in the oven a bit until DH came home, and it only made it more delicious. How wonderful! Thanks so much CB, you made my day! Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* October 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm October 27, 2009

Wow, great meatballs! Really good flavor. My little girl loved these. We had them for her 6th birthday party. I had to try them with all the great reviews and I'm glad I did. Thanks, Coffee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night May 25, 2009

Absolutely delicious! Melt in your mouth meatballs! The flavors are spot on!!! This will be great to make for football parties, and the next potluck! Thanks Coffee! This is a keeper! Made for Every Day is a Holiday!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom May 12, 2009

What a yummy sandwich. We loved it. The meatballs, were tender, flavorful and so tasty. Perfect ratio of meat and tomato sauce. Can't wait to make this hoagie again. I made it exactly as written, very quick and easy to make. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe Coffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 08, 2009

I gave my family one choice out of 3 dishes for dinner. The pick was unanimous. The conclusion, unanimous again...5's! Oh, in my part of the country we would call this a meatball po-boy. Made for Everyday's a Holiday Event May '09

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 07, 2009

These made a great lunch for us. We used to go out for meatball sammies ... not anymore. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family February 11, 2009

I cut this recipe in half and it turned out delicious. I made exactly as stated and they made a great dinner! My family loved them. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 September 09, 2008
Italian Meatball Hoagies