Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Love Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Love Cake

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2002

      It was very easy to make. It tasted amazing very good cake. I will make again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      I made this as part of my contribution to a potluck and our friends absolutely loved it! So delicious. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2002

      I couldn't beleive tthis cake tasted as wonderful as it looked! I grated semi-sweet choclate over the topping after it set for an hour, then served to my friends on Valentines Day! They LOVED it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      I have made this cake twice. It takes 80-90 min to bake, not the 1 hr as stated in recipe. It does not dry out due to longer baking time. Your knife must come out clean for this cake to be done. The longer time I stated is correct as I have baked this in two different ovens and baking time was the same.One was in my gas oven at home, the other was a electric oven while on vacation in my time share condo. Don't be afraid to bake this, oh sooooooo delicious cake! Enjoy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2003

      Really delicious--so rich and wonderful! Will make it a lot. Pretty quick and easy! Lots of calories and chosterol however.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      Wonderful, easy to make, so good my wife is asking me to make another and the first one isn't even gone yet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2003

      Served this recipe to visiting relatives. My son-in-law liked it so much he wanted to take some home with him. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks. Jan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      The first time I made this it was awesome!!! The second time it has a bit of a 'wang' to it,I put it in a glass pan the first time and a metal pan the second and i believe the ricotta reacted with the metal and that was what the problem was, so only make this in a glass pan. Just a suggestions to be on the safe side. Really awesome cake, not to sweet, gonna make if for an Italian dinner party with the in-laws!! Wish me luck!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      DO NOT make cupcakes with these. The filling will sink to the bottom a crumble everywhere. They did taste very good though, with the help of a plate and fork. Next time I'll try it with lemon cake and vanilla topping.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      To be perfectly honest, it didn't have any flavor. The recipe sounded great, but mine went to waste

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      Even though I'm not a chocolate cake lover (ok, so I'm a little weird), I made this to take to a dinner party. I'm rating this 5 stars because the hostess absolutely LOVED it! She liked it because she said that it wasn't too sweet. The cake was very easy to make. The only problem I had was that after an hour, when I tested it, the toothpick came out very wet. My oven thermometer registered at slightly under 350 degrees but I figured that it was okay because I was using a glass baking dish. I had to keep it in the oven more than 20 extra minutes. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      This cake was wonderful! I made it today for a party at work and everyone requested the recipe. I was curious how all that ricotta cheese was going to work out, but it turned out beautiful. The cheese layer sunk to the bottom and formed a delicious creamy layer. The texture reminds me of tiramisu and it cut into squares perfectly. I used some reduced fat ingredients and can probably make it even lighter next time. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2003

      Wow! Thought I'd try this recipe and am I glad I did. Out of the several recipies I have tried from this Site, this is by far my favorite. Not only is this cake delicious, it looks so great! You don't have to be a master chef for this cake to turn out perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      Jeannie from Indiana, Your cake was awesome! Easy to make! That was to die for Steve! Thank you, Jeannie Mussatto. 9/21/2003

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      Luscious!!I made it with Chocolate Fudge Cake Mix instead of the Marble and melted good quality chocolate chips with butter and drizzeled on top. It was so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2014

      Light, similar to tiramisu, but actually better. This was a huge hit with family and friends. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2013

      I didn't have any ricotta, so I substituted 2 oz. blocks of cream cheese and used 3 eggs and 1/2 cup sugar. Baked for 50 minutes and came out perfectly. Also, I don't like the chemical taste of 'whipped topping' so I beat a cup of whipping cream with a tbsp of sugar and folded that into the pudding mix/milk mixture. This cake is so much better after spending the night in the fridge. Delicious! Initially, my husband was put off a bit by the texture - whipped cream, cheesecake, and flour cake. But he came around pretty quickly. Nice cake to add into the rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      Made this for a dinner party and was a total hit! I am not a baker, more of a cook, but this was easy and delicious. The only issue was the pudding and cool whip topping, it got a little runny, still yummy though...any suggestions on how to keep or get the topping fluffier would be appreciated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      Baked this cake 1 1/2 hours and it was barely done. I found the flavor of this cake just ok. The topping on the other hand was rather tasty, almost mousse like. The good thing about this cake is that it is not very sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Made this cake. It was good if you like alot of ricotta cheese. Guess i was expecting something better. More of a cheese cake fan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Love Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 507.1
     
    Calories from Fat 199
    39%
    Total Fat 22.1 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 103.5 mg
    34%
    Sodium 511.3 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.3 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 52.1 g
    208%
    Protein 13.2 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites