21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Everything I always have on hand anyway. This is much more economical than buying italian seasoning. Great in spaghetti and pizza sauces.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB February 05, 2010

Love this and it was so easy to put together and I had all the spices. Definately don't need to go to the store and buy the mix anymore. Thank you. Made for the Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #86 tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf March 21, 2014

This worked out perfect for me. I have all the seperate spices on hand from my garden that I dry for the winter months. I blended them together in a glass spaghetti sauce jar and it was used today making soup. I love fresh herbs and spices and this is so much more economical than buying it. It also makes it perfect for seasoning as I now can pull out this one jar for so many recipes as opposed to 4-6 jars to measure and blend. Thanks Peter for the recipe and the measurements needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie December 04, 2013

This is a must have in my kitchen. I've used it already so many times and I can't believe what a big change is from flavoring the dishes just with basil and oregano.I couldn't find sage at the store ,but it worked fine without it. I'll always keep a jar of this mix.Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia July 20, 2010

This worked perfectly in the "ricotta cheese" I made with macadamia nuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jengehl June 06, 2010

Wonderful blend of spices and herbs. It is so aromatic. And it is made with ingredients I always have in my spice cabinet. I will keep this on hand often. Great on chicken and with our gluten free pasta. Made and reviewed for the 37th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate February 04, 2010

What a perfectly convenient little recipe. I have put this together in a glass jar to use during the coming weeks to add to marinades or rubs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew October 08, 2009

Wonderful substitution - enjoyed it very much. Will definitely use again! Made for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Diva February 28, 2009

We usually buy the mix, but when you're out, it's nice to have a substitute. This also permits adjustments -- we can put in more basil and less oregano to suit the family palate. In the jar and in the sauce, we couldn't tell this from the commercial mix. Made for OZ/NZ swap, Dec. 08.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn January 02, 2009
Italian Herb Mix