Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Herb Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Herb Mix

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2010

      Everything I always have on hand anyway. This is much more economical than buying italian seasoning. Great in spaghetti and pizza sauces.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2014

    • on March 21, 2014

      Love this and it was so easy to put together and I had all the spices. Definately don't need to go to the store and buy the mix anymore. Thank you. Made for the Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #86 tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      This worked out perfect for me. I have all the seperate spices on hand from my garden that I dry for the winter months. I blended them together in a glass spaghetti sauce jar and it was used today making soup. I love fresh herbs and spices and this is so much more economical than buying it. It also makes it perfect for seasoning as I now can pull out this one jar for so many recipes as opposed to 4-6 jars to measure and blend. Thanks Peter for the recipe and the measurements needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      This is a must have in my kitchen. I've used it already so many times and I can't believe what a big change is from flavoring the dishes just with basil and oregano.I couldn't find sage at the store ,but it worked fine without it. I'll always keep a jar of this mix.Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This worked perfectly in the "ricotta cheese" I made with macadamia nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Wonderful blend of spices and herbs. It is so aromatic. And it is made with ingredients I always have in my spice cabinet. I will keep this on hand often. Great on chicken and with our gluten free pasta. Made and reviewed for the 37th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      What a perfectly convenient little recipe. I have put this together in a glass jar to use during the coming weeks to add to marinades or rubs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Wonderful substitution - enjoyed it very much. Will definitely use again! Made for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      We usually buy the mix, but when you're out, it's nice to have a substitute. This also permits adjustments -- we can put in more basil and less oregano to suit the family palate. In the jar and in the sauce, we couldn't tell this from the commercial mix. Made for OZ/NZ swap, Dec. 08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I made soup with hamburger, vege's, cannollini beans, and pasta and used this seasoning mix. The flavor was really nice and I always have everything on hand to make it. Wont be buying italian seasoning at the store anymore. Thank you Peter for posting this great recipe! Made and reviewed for the Australia/New Zealand Forums Recipe Swap 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Wonderful! I ran out of Sauer's Italian Herbs while making meatloaf. The ingredients listed on the bottle started with marjoram and included savory. I didn't have either ingredient however if you are missing one listed in this recipe, I recommend using one or both in your Italian Herb Mix; probably keeping the same ratio. I will definitely use this mix from now on...one less bottle in the spice cabinet and I always have the five ingredients in this recipe on hand. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Excellent! I wish I had found this recipe when I had first moved to the Philippines and wasn't able to find Italian Seasoning mix anywhere. I used this in my Healthy Italian Breadsticks or Pizza Crust and it tasted terrific! Thanks Peter! Made for Aussie/Kiwi Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I have to agree with everyone else that this combination does smell wondeful. I used it in turkey burgers and it really jazzed up the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      I was out of italian herbs for a recipe I made tonight and this fit the bill perfectly! I won't worry about picking it up at the market anymore! Thanks for posting a terrific recipe (a lifesaver!!) PeterJ! **Made for ZWT4**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I chose to put this in our burgers and boy did my DH thank me. Great combo. Already have some made for the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      I made this for the WZT4 and as I ran out of Italian herb mix while making Beef Burgers. Oh boy, the results of the patties I made came out so delicious I could just taste the wonderful blend of flavors of this herb mix. Thanks for posting this, Peter J! I don't need to get store bought ones anymore since I have this! Keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      10 stars! I have used this in several vinagrettes, with salads and in a lasagne in the last week. Guests who had the lasagne said that somehow this lasagne was very different than any they had had before, so I told them that maybe it was this homemade version of Italian herbs and they demanded a look and a smell of it... they said that it was SO much better than shop bought mix. The other reviewers are on the button about the smell... this SMELLS devine... Please see my Rating System: 5 excellent stars for a simple recipe where the flavours combine wonderfully to produce what could be described as "essence of Italy" in a jar. Made for Zaar World Tour 2008. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Me too I haven't cooked with it yet. But it smells very italian to me. It smells even better than store-bought italian herb mix. Thanks Peter J. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Even though I haven't cooked with this yet, I KNOW it is outstanding just by the smell of it! It smells WONDERFUL!!!!! I LOVE recipes like this! Now I won't have to buy the pre-mixed kind anymore! Thank you very much!! Made for the ZWT4! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Herb Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (1 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    30%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites