Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Herb Dipping Oil Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Herb Dipping Oil

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2010

      Very good! We had this herbed dipping oil with french bread and it was shared with an Italian dinner. I found that if you press some of the herbs with the back of a spoon the flavors became more prominent. Prepared as a participant in the January 2010 French Country Kitchen and Spice of the Month which was using Thyme.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Made this when a few friends were over and got rave reviews. I did add one clove of fresh garlic. I minced it with a little kosher salt until it turned almost to paste, and then mixed it in to the oil along with all the herbs. Used the red pepper, and also a few grinds of fresh black pepper and a little sprinkle of grated Romano cheese. Great balance of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      My family was split on this dipping oil. I thought it was a little bitter - not sure why. One daughter sided with me, though we both didn't have any problem eating it. Husband and other daughter thought it was great. Next time I will add some fresh garlic and maybe parmesan as well, as suggested by other reviewers. It was a nice change as we usually use a balsamic vinegar/olive oil mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Yummy! Added kosher salt as suggested by other reviews and a fresh crushed clove of garlic. I put the herbs in the bottom of a small sauce pan and added the amount of olive oil I wanted. I then slowly warmed the oil to get the flavors of the herbs to relase a little. Was a great addition to my lasagna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      This is very good, and like a few other reviewers I also added some fresh crushed garlic, and some salt. I think right now I am spoiled with a bounty of fresh herbs from my garden, so would suggest when using dried herbs to make this well ahead of time so that the flavors can absorb into the oil. A few hours of sitting time and this oil just got better and better. I will keep this recipe close by and use it all winter long for dipping bread, once my garden is under ice and snow. Thanks, bobo3039! Made for PAC Fall 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      First, I wanted to say that "Thanks" for the recipe review of my potatoes (I do not have a paid membership,yet, so I could not email you directly). And so I wanted to get the message to you somehow, and I do intend on making this herb dipping oil very soon, something similiar is served at my favorite italian restaurant. Again, THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

    • on January 22, 2007

      Delicious! I halved the recipe and had with some Ezekial bread. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Very addicting!! I used a crushed garlic clove in place of the garlic powder and added 1/2 tsp of kosher salt sprinkled on top. I made this for our last poker night and served with sliced baguette. Everyone really enjoyed it and my husband has been asking for it at least once a week. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      I am eating a slice of bread dipped in this sauce as I type...careful, you might slip from my oily fingerprints!! I'm trying to get the LAST DROP out of the bowl I'm using! THIS IS SOOOOOO good. I used fresh herbs and it is wonderful with french bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      Wonderful with crusty bread. I followed the directions as much as I could and used most of the dried herbs called for, but I did use fresh rosemary, and just couldn't bear to not use fresh garlic, so I added some crushed cloves. :) Also added the optional red pepper. Great stuff--thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      I've made this a few times now, both with and without the red pepper flakes. I have a little saucer shaped dish I use for the oil (not sure exactly what volume) and I just stir in the herbs and it's perfect, much better than using the expensive pre-made dipping oils from the specialty food section at the grocery store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Herb Dipping Oil

    Serving Size: 1 (1 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 7.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    81%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites