40 Reviews

YUM!! I used crushed garlic instead of garlic powder for this recipe and it was divine! I'll definately be making this again one day!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karin... March 15, 2002

This was a superb recipe! My fiance and I nearly gorged ourselves on the bread without looking at the main course it was served beside! The smell of the herbs and the garlic infused so well. It fulfills everything: smell, texture, and taste. WONDERFUL!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie Smith March 09, 2002

This Italian bread is Excellent! The smell of it cooking in your oven is wonderful and the taste is just as wonderful! I agree with the others that this would also make a great pizza dough!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB February 26, 2003

Absolutely incredible! Made this to go in an Italian Dinner Gift Basket and kept one loaf out for us! We went through the loaf in about 10 minutes, it was that great. My second rising took about 45 minutes, but other than that, I followed the recipe exact. I shaped my loaves instead of using pans and they looked lovely. I agree that this dough would make a great pizza crust...can't wait to try it! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= December 23, 2002

This bread was simply wonderful!!! It made 12 rolls and 1 loaf of bread. I am going to use this recipe the next time I make homemade pizza. This would make terrific pizza crust!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Merrill April 28, 2002

This is a fantastic bread! I have made it twice. The first time I didnt have bread flour so I used regular AP flour. The second time I used the bread flour but I found the bread to be much heavier than with the AP flour. So for me I will stick with the AP. I also used lots of fresh crushed garlic too. I made bruschetta with this bread and they disappeared very quick! Thanks for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ERguy August 09, 2003

I took many shortcuts with this recipe and it still turned out so good that I would give it 10 stars if I could! I halved the recipe, used dried spices, used an Italian blend of cheese (had romano plus 5 other kinds), and threw it in the breadmaker. It took 5 minutes prep time, 3.5 hours machine time, and was SO good! Both DH and I had to have a slice as soon as it came out of the ABM! I'm sorry that I made so many changes, but thanks for a great recipe that I will making often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ February 29, 2004

Excellent! My 1st attempt at bread making, just wonderful. I used fresh herbs and added garlic. I did not have onion powder, so used freshly chopped onions. I also made this in a bread machine, so it was very very simple to make. I used All-purpose flour and rapid rise yeast. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerr(ie)bear February 16, 2004

Ooohh this bread is soo good. I was brining it down to my basement last Fri for it's second rising and found I had a flood in the basement. I ignored the bread & took care of the basement. A few hours later I put it in the oven as I was hungry. What a wonderful tasty loaf and it saved my sanity on a very tough day!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree February 11, 2004

OMG S'kat! This bread is AWESOME!! Makes me wonder why I ever was afraid of yeast in the first place...This was so easy to put together...only about 20 minutes of actual "work" time, the rest was rising and baking. The dough is pretty stiff, and I was worried at first, but the result was a lovely, flavor packed loaf of heaven! I served it spread lightly with butter, and we ended up eating one whole loaf at dinner! I will be making this often! If I could give it more stars I would! Thanks S'kat!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl February 08, 2004
Italian Herb Bread