Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Herb Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Herb Bread

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2002

      YUM!! I used crushed garlic instead of garlic powder for this recipe and it was divine! I'll definately be making this again one day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2002

      This was a superb recipe! My fiance and I nearly gorged ourselves on the bread without looking at the main course it was served beside! The smell of the herbs and the garlic infused so well. It fulfills everything: smell, texture, and taste. WONDERFUL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      This Italian bread is Excellent! The smell of it cooking in your oven is wonderful and the taste is just as wonderful! I agree with the others that this would also make a great pizza dough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      Absolutely incredible! Made this to go in an Italian Dinner Gift Basket and kept one loaf out for us! We went through the loaf in about 10 minutes, it was that great. My second rising took about 45 minutes, but other than that, I followed the recipe exact. I shaped my loaves instead of using pans and they looked lovely. I agree that this dough would make a great pizza crust...can't wait to try it! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2002

      This bread was simply wonderful!!! It made 12 rolls and 1 loaf of bread. I am going to use this recipe the next time I make homemade pizza. This would make terrific pizza crust!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2003

      This is a fantastic bread! I have made it twice. The first time I didnt have bread flour so I used regular AP flour. The second time I used the bread flour but I found the bread to be much heavier than with the AP flour. So for me I will stick with the AP. I also used lots of fresh crushed garlic too. I made bruschetta with this bread and they disappeared very quick! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      I took many shortcuts with this recipe and it still turned out so good that I would give it 10 stars if I could! I halved the recipe, used dried spices, used an Italian blend of cheese (had romano plus 5 other kinds), and threw it in the breadmaker. It took 5 minutes prep time, 3.5 hours machine time, and was SO good! Both DH and I had to have a slice as soon as it came out of the ABM! I'm sorry that I made so many changes, but thanks for a great recipe that I will making often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2004

      Excellent! My 1st attempt at bread making, just wonderful. I used fresh herbs and added garlic. I did not have onion powder, so used freshly chopped onions. I also made this in a bread machine, so it was very very simple to make. I used All-purpose flour and rapid rise yeast. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      Ooohh this bread is soo good. I was brining it down to my basement last Fri for it's second rising and found I had a flood in the basement. I ignored the bread & took care of the basement. A few hours later I put it in the oven as I was hungry. What a wonderful tasty loaf and it saved my sanity on a very tough day!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      OMG S'kat! This bread is AWESOME!! Makes me wonder why I ever was afraid of yeast in the first place...This was so easy to put together...only about 20 minutes of actual "work" time, the rest was rising and baking. The dough is pretty stiff, and I was worried at first, but the result was a lovely, flavor packed loaf of heaven! I served it spread lightly with butter, and we ended up eating one whole loaf at dinner! I will be making this often! If I could give it more stars I would! Thanks S'kat!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      Thanks so much! This bread turned out great and in the past I did not have much luck making bread.Next time I will double it and and freeze two loaves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      This bread is delicious!!! I added some olives and it was amazing!!! My family loved it! I think this would be a great pizza base. I'll definitely try that next time I'm making pizza! :) 5 stars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      This was a wonderful recipe. I had all of the fresh herbs in my garden and added some rosemary and minced onions instead of onion powder. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      This bread was good but I wouldnt go as far as giving it a 5 star rating. I didnt have fresh basil or oregano so I used dried. It was good my family loved i, but bottom line I have had better homeade italian bread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      this is a great recipe! i chopped onions and garlic and put it in the bread, along with some basil and fresh sage. It was great, crispy on the outside and sooo yummy on the inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Easy and delicious. I had no frsh oregano so I subbed 1/2 tsp dried. It worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      I've made this bread successfully. It's so delicious either eat dirrectly or with a dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      very very very yummy! I made this in one big loaf in my ceramic coated cast iron pot and it turned out lovely! Golden and crispy on the outside and very fluffy aon the inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Fantastic bread! The first time I made it I made both loaves, one for a date that night and the other to share with my 20 housemates. Suffice it to say I took it as a good sign when the loaf that I set out was gone within the hour! Hubby loved it as well. Thanks for sucha great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      We liked this bread very much. It was crusty on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. Just what I was looking for to go with our Beef and Gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Herb Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (42 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.2
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    16%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 219.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pecorino romano cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites