Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Flavored Tempeh Nuggets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Flavored Tempeh Nuggets

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2011

      Oh, yum. These are crispy, crunchy, flavorful, deliciousness. I added some korean veggie stir-fry sauce to the marinade(I bought mine at Stop 'n' Shop, I highly reccomend it). These are super simple to make- perfect for a healthy, vegan meal in a time crunch. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      I thought these were great. Mine were a bit spicy- definitely due to the red pepper flakes. I ended up marinating them for just over 24 hours and I put them on a salad (baby spinach, carrots, tomato, avocado, and sauteed onions & mushrooms. I topped the salad with a tiny bit of extra virgin olive oil & balsamic and I was set to go. Delicious! Best tempeh recipe I've made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      This was a very easy recipe to make and tasted great! I varied the spices and used oregano and red pepper flakes instead. It was slightly spicy but it was just perfect and really flavorful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      This was so good! My boyfriend and I gobbled these up in minutes. Will make again and again. Highly recommend.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      I love this recipe!!! I actually let it sit for 2 days in the fridge, and it turned out so great that after I took my first bite, I came straight here to write this review!! This was my first and for sure not my last tempeh experience!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      This was pretty good, but too bland. Next time I'll try doubling the amount of marinade and see how that works.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I used braggs instead of soy sauce, omitted rosemary (just cause i didn't have any), added an additional clove of garlic, and used just 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes - and they were spicy!! The herbs and flavoring was really yum and i definitely didn't, at all, mind the heat. i don't know if my particular brand of crushed red pepper is extra hot or what, but I will make my daughter's portion separate next time, without the red pepper flakes. She is not a big fan of hot. Even i favored mixing the nuggets into my quinoa to disperse the (very strong) flavor a bit. It was scrumptious with vegetable quinoa. (finely diced 2 carrots, 1 cup mushroom, & 1 red bell pepper- sauteed in smart Balance light and plenty of Mrs. dash, then cooked with 2 cups veggie broth and 1 cup quinoa.) These recipes yielded 4 servings of about 1 cup veg quinoa & 1/2 cup of nuggets each. The amount of oil and balsamic were perfect for me and my daughter. I couldn't stop "taste-testing" the nuggets, as they were cooking. (~_^) For tempeh novices, always remember to boil or steam it for about 15 minutes before marinating or cooking it. It opens the tempeh up to allow it to really absorb the flavors, and it kills any slightly bitter flavor some types of tempeh can have.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      I served it with broccolini, mushrooms and onions over linguini. I chose to use some ketch up instead of soy sauce because I wanted to avoid *asian* flavoring. It was well loved by both my baby and husband (who usually doesn't like tofu or tempeh.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      I have Beyond Meat brand "chicken strips" and portobellos marinating in this right now and it smells out of this world! I skipped the thyme because I didn't have any, and the red pepper since my daughter is not keen on the spice. I only have white balsamic, and I used extra garlic fresh basil that we are growing. I cannot wait for dinner tonight. And next time, I am going to throw it all on a salad for lunch. A keeper, for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      I thought these were great! Wonderful flavor, I loved the crispy outside. Unfortunately I was the only one in my family that liked them. Oh well, more for me! I'm making some more today. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      These are delicious! My toddlers weren't big fans, but my hubby and I loved them. I doubled the recipe, used Braggs instead of soy, and they marinated for about an hour and half. They turned out great! They're even good cold the next day! I grabbed a few when I needed a quick protein burst after a workout. They were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I liked these a lot served with spaghetti and red sauce. They had a nice, substantial texture and the flavor was good but not overpowering. Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      You may have cured me of my fear of tempeh! The few times I've tried tempeh I haven't liked it, until now. It ended up sitting for 2 nights because dinner plans changed, but even after sitting in the marinade for just an hour, I was surprised at how much the tempeh had sucked up. When it came time to cooking, the pan was getting a little dry so I splashed in a bit more of the liquid ingredients and everything was great. I thought the marinade was really good and could see throwing these completed nuggets into a delicious pasta sauce. Today I just served the nuggets over spinach & couscous. Thanks Kozmic, I'm glad I finally tried this, and even more importantly, liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Best and easiest recipe for tempeh that I have tried so far. I only marinated for an hour and everything came out wonderfully. Marinade hides the tempeh aftertaste well, and I found it unnecessary to steam or boil it beforehand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      This is the first time I have ever had tempeh, and this turned out to be a great way to cook it! I omitted the oil, and the nuggets came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I use this recipe to make a mushroom tempeh marinara sauce (to mimic meat sauce type things). Letting the tempeh set in the marinade overnight is the key to success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Couldn't get over the flavour of the olive oil in this one. I added extra vinegar during the cooking process, and it still tasted like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      I work at a health food store and found your recipe and made it. My boss and everyone else loved it. The flavors are great. I omitted the red pepper flakes and it is still great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      This revipe is pretty good. I omitted the soy sauce, which is probably why it was not better. I found that the marinade did not soak into the tempeh (so if you are reading this, marinate it OVERNIGHT, not for an hour). It seemed to be better raw than cooked. Idk if it's bad to eat raw tempeh. Also, this did not taste Italian to me, but it was still good. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Flavored Tempeh Nuggets

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 159.7
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    54%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 636.6 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites