Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Dressing

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2008

      This dressing exceeded my expectations! (And I've tried several of Marie's recipes, so they were pretty high to begin with. :)) I made it on Thursday, following the recipe exactly, to serve the next night. As several have mentioned, it definitely tasted too salty even though I'd used the kosher type. But I stuck it in the fridge thinking I'd give the flavors time to meld a little before adjusting. By Friday, it had completely mellowed out and was perfectly seasoned -- no tweaking necessary! If you plan to use it within a few hours, I'd recommend that you cut the salt approximately in half. But if made a day in advance, we thought it was pretty close to perfect as is. I served it over a salad with several different kinds of greens, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, red onion and pepperoncini. Thanks for a fabulous start to our Italian dinner, Marie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      i didn't have all the exact ingredients on hand so i subbed:
      italian herb seasoned red wine vinegar
      pizza seasonings ground from grinder
      salad oil
      pinch of sea salt

      doubled the recipe and used on a pasta salad...yummy...tfs this one

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      very tasty - a bit tart but once I added a bit more oil, it was great! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      I enjoyed this, just thought it needed a little more acidity. I mixed this recipe with 2 prepared envelopes of Hidden Valley Italian and it mimicked the Olive Garden's dressing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      Excellent!!!! This made the perfect Italian dressing. I made exactly as written and would not change a thing. Thanks so much Marie for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      I loved it! I needed some dressing to make Simple Pasta Salad and since I don't like store bought dressings this was the perfect replacement.I used homemade seasoning and since I was out of mayonnaise I threw in a yolk.I thought it 'd be tart,but I liked it the way it was.Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Very good Italian dressing. A little tart, will use balsamic vinegar for half the vinegar next time. The spice blend was very good. Also I used half olive oil and half canola oil, just for a lighter taste. Marie, thanks for posting . . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      It was salty, but, I LIKE it that way, I use less dressing and have all the flavor. I used fresh garlic because I was out of powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Made this to go with the spaghetti dinner last night and it was yummy. Creamy Italian was the perfect dressing to go on our green salad. Thank you for posting Marie! I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      I made this yesterday for tonights dinner and it was delicious!! I used fresh garlic instead of powder. Marie...your recipes are no-fail, thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      Awesome!!! I was out of my wishbone Italian so decided well I will try to make some salad dressing for the 1st time! So easy!!! I also used the Dee514's Italian Blend Spice Mix. I dont think it taste like wishbone but similar to Olive Garden maybe either way I really liked it and will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I made this Italian dressing (#73977 by Marie)tonight to go with our dinner of Jalapeno Garlic Tilapia by Johnny Carino's (MissAli) #192519 and a green salad. As suggested I used the Italian Blend Spice Mix (#38293 by Dee514) for the Italian spices. Both the dressing and the spice mix were delicious! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      This dressing was absolutely incredible--the best i've ever had--or made! I omitted the mayo and like other reviewers I also used the Dee514's Italian Blend Spice Mix. I will be making this again!! (I've never reviewed a recipe before so i didn't know how to paste in the link.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      This is a quick fix dressing. I measured out everything, poured into the Vita-Mix and blended for a few seconds. I did reduce the amount of salt by half and next time might try reducing the white wine vinegar a touch as this was a little tart for my taste. All in all a good dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      I didn't have any dressing on hand, so I looked this up. It was great!! I do plan on using the #38293, Dee514's Italian Blend Spice Mix next time. I'm not a fan of store bought Italian blend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      My 6 year old is begging for more salad....Hello!!....It's wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      Yum. I was out of whine wine vinegar, so I used a mix of plain white vinegar and balsamic. And I forgot the mayo. Still, a good taste. I think if I would have had the white wine vinegar and remembered the mayo, it would have rocked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      Marie, I got a two-fur out of this one. I loved your dressing. The only change I would make is to cut the salt by half (I am a salt lover -- perhaps Kosher salt would have toned that part down a bit but I used iodized table salt). Anyway, I made your dressing tonight and doubled the recipe -- I thought the flavor was excellent and maybe a little unique to boot. But then, being a man and all, I decided to mess with your wonderful recipe and I added more oil, plus some canola oil (to keep it from solidifying in the fridge), Tupelo honey, more vinegar, more sugar and a little prepared mustard and, WOW! A whole new recipe that tasted fantastic! I also found Reelani's suggestion about the "spice blend" quite helpful (Italian Blend Spice Mix, Dee514's Italian Blend Spice Mix). To be honest with you, had it not been for Ree, I would have used plain old Italian seasoning which is quite different, so thanks to you too, Ree. I only have one problem, Marie -- I owe you 10 stars but I can only give you 5!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      Great stuff! I'm so happy to have a nice bottle of dressing without the hefty store price. I added 1 tsp of balsamic vinegar, used an extra 1/2 tsp of sugar and only used 1 tsp of salt. Oh, and for the Italian spices I used Italian Blend Spice Mix, Dee514's Italian Blend Spice Mix. I'll be making this frequently and already have a request to make a batch for Mom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2004

      You've done it again, Girl! Another fantastic Marie recipe! I used your wonderful dressing in Italian Sausage and Potatoes Italian Sausage and Potatoes, by Andrewzmom...Oh, sooo good! Tis easy, quick, and tasty, and you can bet I'll be making it again! Thanks for sharing, M...it's a 5* winner, for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (47 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.2
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    98%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 405.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites