Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Cream Cake (old family recipe)
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Cream Cake (old family recipe)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2008

      I made this recipe today for my mother's 90th birthday cake. This is her favorite cake and I know she will love it. The directions were easy to follow and the cake turned out great. I did add toasted coconut to the icing--just for mom. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      This is also an old family recipe in our family - delicious! My mom makes this for holidays. It disappears quickly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      What a winner this is! We loved every bite and then some! So easy to make and really delicious! We loved the frosting with this cake. I put chopped nuts on top of the frosting too. Everyone gave compliments they loved it so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Great recipe! DH and I loved it for our Italian week. Sooooo good. Easy recipe, plenty of icing! Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Cake is easier to make than it sounds, excellent excellent flavor. Mine overran the cake pans might use 3 nine inch pans next time and see what happens.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      This was the best recipe I have ever used for Italian Cream Cake. Tasted wonderful, nice and moist. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Great Cake! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      We have a dinner club that meets every month. This month was Italian and Italian Cream Cake was requested. I had to bring dessert and had never made one before. This cake was wonderful and a big hit. I will definitely make this again. The icing was very good and so easy that I plan on using it on a carrot cake as well. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      We really enjoyed this cake. It came together much easier than I expected and it tasted great! I used FF cream cheese in the icing and it worked fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      Delicious, Kim! As I was eating this cake I kept thinking I had tasted this flavor before....it tastes to me like butter pecan ice cream : ) So if you like butter pecan, you are going to love this cake! Very easy to follow recipe for an excellent and moist cake! Thanks, Kim, for sharing this wonderful cake with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      I am rating this recipe simply because it is the same recipe I have used for a long time now. This is delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2014

      This exact recipe was given to me by a good friend. It was his grandmother's Italian Cream Cake. When I tried it, I LOVED IT. It was incredibly good. Yeah, it's a lot of work and a bit expensive, but man is it so worth it. When I took this to work, it catapulted me into Cake Goddess realm. ~*~ I did substitute solid-at-room-temp coconut oil for the shortening and it worked quite well. I also made a separate gluten free version using Bob's Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour (also using a bit of xanthan gum as recommended by the Bob's Red Mill company) and I think it was better than the regular wheat flour one. I will definitely be making this one again. And again and again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Cream Cake (old family recipe)

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 646.5
     
    Calories from Fat 339
    52%
    Total Fat 37.7 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 18.3 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 128.9 mg
    42%
    Sodium 277.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.0 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 56.8 g
    227%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes