Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Cream Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Cream Cake

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2007

      Definitely double the icing recipe (except the nuts... doubling with the nuts makes it way too gritty!) This was delicious and so addictive. Although it was not noted in the recipe, I kept my cake in the refrigerator due to the cream cheese icing. It was smooth and creamy, even when it was cold, and did not dry out. This was almost as easy as opening up a cake mix, except the taste is so much better. Make sure you have the egg whites at room temperature before you whip them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I've never made an Italian Cream cake until now. It was absolutely perfect. I received many, many compliments. Had I not made it myself, I would have thought it came from a gourmet bakery. So good!!! Update: Use BUTTERMILK. I made it a second time and didn't have butter milk. I tried the lemon juice in milk trick. Not nearly as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      I made these into cup cakes and took them to a graduation party and everyone loved them. They were gone quick and people were asking for more! I will defiantly make these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      Fabulous cake and the icing is to die for! We loved this one. Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      Excellent cake. I did double the icing as well. If you've never whipped egg whites before, make sure you don't get ANYTHING with yoke in them or they will not atiffen up. Am posting picture...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This a delicious, wonderfully easy to prepare cake. I made this for a dinner party tonight and it got really good revues from my guests.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      A delicious, buttery cake. I filled it with a little lemon curd to go with the cream cheese frosting. Aside from that, I made no changes except I did double the frosting recipe, which I recommend especially if you are going to do much/any decorating. The frosting was not too sweet -- it was perfect. Loved the hint of coconut in the cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This is the best cake EVER! I made it for my mom's birthday and everyone went on and on about how wonderful it was.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Simply delicious! Made it without the pecans, loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      I made this cake for a bridal shower. It was very easy to make and was the first dessert gone from the table. I would definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      I made this cake to take to work, to some co-workers who love Italian Cream Cake. They all said it was the best cake they had ever eaten, and the best cake I had ever made. Wow. Excellent. Worth the effort.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Oustanding cake -- easy to make, moist, tall and regal on my crystal cake stand -- a real winner. However, I found that one recipe of the frosting was not nearly enough. I had to make a second batch. A friend who makes this same cake tells me she always doubles the frosting as well. Trust me -- you will be thankful after spending the time and energy making this lovely cake to have double the icing this calls for -- double will NOT be too much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      By far the best cake I've ever made from scratch. So moist,and elegant.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      I am making this cake for Christmas

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2005

      This cake deserves more than 5 stars. It was soooooo delicious. I took it to a 4th of July potluck and "everyone" said it was the most delicious cake. Told me I needed to be a gourmet cook. Thanks to you Nurse Di! It was also so easy to put together. The instructions were great. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2004

      NurseDi your recipes are just FABULOUS! I am pretty good with making cookies etc but when it comes to making a "pretty dessert" I am hopeless but the directions were so easy before I knew it I had a beautiful cake for Grandma's birthday. I garnished the top with the toasted pecans and received many oohs ahhs and this is delicious from party guests. Keeping this in the special occasion file! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2004

      OMG this is soooo good! I'm eating my second peice now. YUMMY! I've always wanted to be able to make these but was too scared to try. I'm so glad I did!! Using the food processor to mix ingredients made light work of it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      This was a good cake, I really don't think it takes any more time and effort than a lot of other cakes so don't be afraid of making this! It came together really quickly for us, we had it for our fourth of July barbecue and my family really enjoyed it. The frosting is especially flavorful and doesn't taste ONLY of cream cheese which happens with a lot of the cream cheese frostings I have tried. Thanks Nurse Di!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2004

      I have been making this cake during the holidays for the past couple of years. I found it in Southern Living magazine. This cake is rich but fantastic and worth all the time and effort. The taste is out of this world - I get faves every single time I make it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2004

      OUTSTANDING!! This looked so regal atop my crystal cake stand. It was really quite beautiful. The cake was tender and the icing was sweet, rich and the perfect spreadable consistency. I don't make a cake from scratch very often but this one is worth every bit of effort. Thanks for a treasure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Cream Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 767.0
     
    Calories from Fat 371
    48%
    Total Fat 41.2 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 18.7 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 139.8 mg
    46%
    Sodium 373.6 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.0 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 75.2 g
    300%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes