24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Definitely double the icing recipe (except the nuts... doubling with the nuts makes it way too gritty!) This was delicious and so addictive. Although it was not noted in the recipe, I kept my cake in the refrigerator due to the cream cheese icing. It was smooth and creamy, even when it was cold, and did not dry out. This was almost as easy as opening up a cake mix, except the taste is so much better. Make sure you have the egg whites at room temperature before you whip them.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lutie April 11, 2007

I've never made an Italian Cream cake until now. It was absolutely perfect. I received many, many compliments. Had I not made it myself, I would have thought it came from a gourmet bakery. So good!!! Update: Use BUTTERMILK. I made it a second time and didn't have butter milk. I tried the lemon juice in milk trick. Not nearly as good.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley L. May 22, 2007

Oustanding cake -- easy to make, moist, tall and regal on my crystal cake stand -- a real winner. However, I found that one recipe of the frosting was not nearly enough. I had to make a second batch. A friend who makes this same cake tells me she always doubles the frosting as well. Trust me -- you will be thankful after spending the time and energy making this lovely cake to have double the icing this calls for -- double will NOT be too much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snow White November 25, 2006

Update - Since I doubled the frosting, I had leftover in the fridge, 2 months later & it still tastes fabulous! -- AMAZING! The best Italian Cream cake I have ever tasted! I followed the reviews & doubled the frosting. I also did the 1 cup of pecans in the cake (toasted) instead of the frosting for my husband prefers it that way. I had another recipe that was similar & recommended putting the soda into the buttermilk & letting it sit for a bit, so I did that first & when I went to add the buttermilk it was very thick. I'm not sure what it did (or didn't do!) but I will do it again since it was so yummy! Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alesha Ann March 14, 2013

I made these into cup cakes and took them to a graduation party and everyone loved them. They were gone quick and people were asking for more! I will defiantly make these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wishes4kissez June 06, 2011

Fabulous cake and the icing is to die for! We loved this one. Will definitely make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in KY May 19, 2011

Excellent cake. I did double the icing as well. If you've never whipped egg whites before, make sure you don't get ANYTHING with yoke in them or they will not atiffen up. Am posting picture...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Batman's Chef May 09, 2011

This a delicious, wonderfully easy to prepare cake. I made this for a dinner party tonight and it got really good revues from my guests.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 June 05, 2010

A delicious, buttery cake. I filled it with a little lemon curd to go with the cream cheese frosting. Aside from that, I made no changes except I did double the frosting recipe, which I recommend especially if you are going to do much/any decorating. The frosting was not too sweet -- it was perfect. Loved the hint of coconut in the cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~heidi~ January 03, 2009

This is the best cake EVER! I made it for my mom's birthday and everyone went on and on about how wonderful it was.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Min_D August 14, 2008
Italian Cream Cake