Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Chopped Salad in Shells Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Chopped Salad in Shells

    Average Rating:

    164 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 164

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2008

      These were messy to eat, but yummy! Guests loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Made these for a group of Ladies and for the family as an appetizer. I followed the recipe exactly.The shells look great and are really fresh. We used a healthy garlic vinaigrette but next time I might try Italian dressing for a bigger kick of flavor and spices. It had great texture but chopping all the vegetables took time. It would make a great side dish salad for a cookout. As an appetizer, though, it needed more seasoning as it was standing alone. Again, it is all based on the dressing you buy so choose wisely. All in all a great find. Will make again. Thanks yooper for sharing. ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      I couldn't wait to try these shells they sounded so good to me. They were every bit as good as I thought they were going to be too! We had with grilled chicken and coleslaw for a great meal. Will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Easy and a pretty dish. I followed the directions except I made my own salad dressing and added a little more basil and some shredded parmesan, as suggested. This is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I followed other suggestions and added parmesean cheese and added more chicken and salami. I couldn't believe how easy they were to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      Just finished making these and I hope I can keep out of them long enough for my guests to get here. Delicious! I have a Mexican themed dinner to go to later this month and I think I'll take this idea and try stuffing with taco salad. This is a keeper. I did use about a cup of dressing as I thought the pasta would absorb too much but this is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      These are fabulous! I made them for my friend's MBA grad party, and took home an empty platter. My only deviations were using iceberg lettuce, Wishbone's Tuscan Romano Basil dressing, and the addition of crumbled garlic Brie. This was super simple to put together, and delicious to boot. Thanks for posting, yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      I made this one for my friends daughter's graduation party. It was enjoyed by all, and I brought home an empty pan! I guess that sums up how much they were enjoyed! Thanks Yooper for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Made these for my daughters graduation party. Actually had her stuff the shells. When we ran out of salad and still had some shells left she was so disappointed. Everyone at the party loved these. I did not add the chicken but just used Genoa salami. Could not find the garlic vinegarette dressing so I used Good Seasons Zesty Italian that you make yourself. It was delish! This will be a staple during the summer at our house. Thanks yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I've made this recipe 3 times since finding it 2 weeks ago! Everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. I added the black olives as someone suggested in a review, and I also shake grated romano cheese over top the shells before serving. A friend suggested that even chicken or tuna salad or seafood salad would be good in these shells. Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe! Carol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      These were great! The only change I made was to add salami instead of the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      These were REALLY GOOD! All the women at my daughters graduation party requested the recipe! I will be making these again and again! Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      Wow! These were really good and easy to make too! This will become a regular for cookouts this summer. I'm going to try this over the weekend using crab meat in place of the chicken. Thanks for sharing a delightful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      These were just the best! I took them to work and they were a big hit. I can't wait to make them for a BBQ we are having! I used ingreds. that I had on hand. Yellow peppers, purple onions, black olives, tomatoes and cucumbers. I used only one bag of lettuce. I used a greek vinigret. I made them the night before and they were great. The lettuce and basil did not turn brown or wilt. Thanks so much for a great recipe. This is a great way to fix a salad that is easy to serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      This is such a great idea! It makes something not fancy look fancy! My rating is for the concept. I made it with a BLT chopped salad with blue cheese chunks and blue cheese dressing and then sprinkles with cracked pepper. My husband (the non salad eater even ate it! This has opened my eyes to new uses for pasta shells. I can envision lots of fillers now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      I'm giving it 5 stars just for the idea alone. I have to admit that I stuffed the shells completely differently. My filling was: Feta Cheese, Endive, Scallions, Cilantro, Hard Salami, Broccoli, and garlic- with EV olive oil and splash of rice vinegar. I loved it and the wife liked it. However, if you don't LOVE garlic, I'd leave it out! It was very overpowering. You can put anything in the shells- use your imagination and tailor it to your favorite foods (or what you have on hand).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      Made this for a dinner party last week with some modifications and it was a hit. I omitted the romaine/cucumbers/chicken and added mozz and ham. It was a big hit and looked fantastic! I love the presentation and will probably play with other wonderful fillings. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      Very bland tasting and time comsuming.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I made these for a potluck this summer. Most people ate these with their fingers - - like a finger salad. That was perfect because most people were balancing their paper plates on their knees. So, this is a good bbq, or casual backyard dish to have. The flavors are very mild and suit most tastes. It's a bit time consuming to stuff all of the shells and several got ripped in the process. Also, the pasta shells are pretty slippery and several slid off the serving platter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      These were so wonderful. I made them for a party and they all disappeared and had many requests for the recipe. I too was afraid that the lettuce and basil would look terrible. But it did not turn brown at all. It did wilt but that didn't matter once everyone tasted them. I think it is important to cook the shells to aldente for sure. Mine sat in the frig for 7 hours and were still good. I did use Italian dressing and added a bit of shredded parmesan. Will make these many times in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Chopped Salad in Shells

    Serving Size: 1 (1148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 64.7
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    16%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 5.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 51.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    garlic vinaigrette dressing

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites