Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Chopped Salad in Shells Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Chopped Salad in Shells

    Average Rating:

    164 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 164

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2009

      My mother said these were "interesting", and we all know what that means, but I loved them. I think it was the basil she didn't like, but for me the fresh tasting herb is what makes these so good. Be sure to salt your pasta cooking water liberally to flavor the shells. I deseeded the tomatoes before finely dicing and this helped to keep the dressing from becoming diluted. I used a package of Good Seasons Italian dressing, which is one of my favorites. Instead of salami, I used a vegan version of ham from my local Asian market, which is very good and nobody who tastes it knows it's not ham. I tasted some of these cold, and some at room temperature that had sat out for a couple of hours. I prefer the texture of the pasta at room temperature, and the salad mixture was still crunchy. Use small Persian or Japanese cucumbers if you can find them, otherwise I recommend removing the seeds from a regular cucumber. So unusual and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      We loved this recipe! I used Garlic Expressions for the dressing and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I made these for our Super Bowl party and they were great! We made our own roasted garlic vinaigrette dressing. We will make them again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This salad was a hit!! Everyone loved it!! Will use this again and again!! I used pepperoni sticks sliced thin in it too, instead of salami. GrannyJany

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      As most everyone else said, these are terrific! I left out the chicken, used about 5 oz of salami and used house italian dressing. I didnt have any problems stuffing the shells. I only chilled them for about 1/2 hour before serving, but it didnt seem to matter. My dh is so picky, but he loved them. We are catering a meal for 50 next weekend and we think we are going to do these instead of regular salad. We will let you know the out come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I made these for a picnic this summer, and they were awesome! The possibilities for the stuffing is limitless, and it's a cute way to serve a salad. Everyone loved them and I will surely make them again. Thanks Yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This is a great recipe, even more so because my DH really likes them. I made these for NYE along with some really nice boiled shrimp and cocktail sauce for a lighter NYE. I added about a tsp or so of Dijon, next time I will add shredded asiago. So many possibilities, I can't wait to enjoy these in summer on the back porch. Will be a regular, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I made as an appetizer for Christmas Eve and these were enjoyed very much! The kids even loved them. I used Zesty Italian dressing instead of the Roasted Garlic Vinaigrette dressing, and it worked equally well for this. I used chopped pepperoni pieces in place of the hard salami too, and added some shredded cheese on top of each one before serving. This will be repeated and used a lot in the summertime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      I probably shouldn't rate this because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I had some vegetarians coming to my party, so I skipped the meats and added some walnuts and pecans. It was still excellent and a terrific idea to get some salad into a finger foods menu! Really a great idea!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      This is a great idea! Made these for a work party and so many people told me how good they were. I used peperoni instead of chicken too. They are super messy unless you allow adequate fridge time before serving. Very versatile recipe I will use again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Made these for XMAS eve party! I had trouble stuffing the shells because I was in a hurry. I added provolone cheese to the recipe. It was a great idea but it seemed like it needed something else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I loved these because they were so fresh tasting and something very different from your average appetizers. I did sprinkle just a little parmesean on mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      I don't really understand the big fuss on this one-I made as directed and they were good, but just OK. Maybe if one added some cubed provolone and chopped olives or something, but as is......could take or leave them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      This recipe was awesome. Such a good idea for a brunch or a party where finger foods are served. I made the chopped salad quick and easy with my Toss & Chop Salad Chopper by Silvermark. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I have made this twice now & have followed the recipe to the letter. Made it for our holiday party last year - every shell was GONE. And I doubled the recipe! Then made it for a summer party - GONE. They are SO delicious & light tasting, yet filling. The italian salami is very firm, so I have our deli slice it so half the work is done for me, then finish chopping at home. YUMMY!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Made for the office and they were a huge hit especially w/ the men. I used turkey in some of them, too. Fast, easy to prepare and DELICIOUS!!! Thank you for a great recipe, yooper! Made for the Think Pink Tag Game In Honor of Breast Cancer Awareness, October 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      I made this along with other finger foods for my sister's bridal shower. After the chopping, it goes together very easy. It's impressive to look at and a great "tidy" way to serve salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Fun way to serve salad. I made a double recipe to take to a potluck. The filling didn't fill twice the shells (not sure why). I used packaged shredded lettuce and cut up pepperoni for the salami. I seeded the cucumber. I couldn't find a garlic vinaigrette so I used Tuscan Italian dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Really excellent summertime salad. I made for a cookout last weekend and my family devoured them! I added chopped black olives and tiny chopped vadalia onions, omitted the chicken and added more hard salami pieces. I loved the leftovers, and there weren't many! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      I made this recently but have a few suggestions to make it even better. Instead of the chicken substitute some boiled ham. I also added 1/2 cup of finely chopped red onion and 3/4 cup coarsly chopped black olives. Everyone really loved this recipe! SME

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Chopped Salad in Shells

    Serving Size: 1 (1148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 64.7
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    16%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 5.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 51.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    garlic vinaigrette dressing

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes