165 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I catered a bachlorette party yesterday and made these. I didn't have fresh basil, so I used a sprinkle of dried basil. I made half of the batch veggitarian and then added grilled chicken breast and hard salami to the second half. I could not find roasted garlic vinaigrette, so I used an Asiago vinaigrette. I also had about 1/2 c of parmasaan cheese to use up, so I added that. I will be using this recipe many more times to come. The modifications to the ingredients are endless. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I also only got 24 shells.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right July 11, 2010

These were more time consuming than I anticipated, but definitely a nice little presentation. I brought them to a BBQ yesterday, and they were enjoyed. Healthier than some of the usual things, and my husband said it was nice to feel like he was eating something fresh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferB_RN July 05, 2010

We thought these were pretty good but I'm not sure if it is worth the work. I'm sure I will make these again so thanks for something a little different.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFitz June 23, 2010

This was ok....I made it for a family dinner - everyone agreed that it needed *something*....but no one could figure out what that *something* was....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker June 22, 2010

Fabulous! I have made them BLT style, with blue cheese dressing, and mexi style, with black beans, corn, chopped cooked chicken and salsa instead of dressing. Possibilities are endless! next time, might try chicken and ceaser dressing. Thanks for an innovative idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetsetflighty June 11, 2010

I made this because 133 people gave it great reviews...while I was making it I thought hmmm what is all the rave about... But I continued on and made and when we tried it we were like, now that's very good! I also put parmesan cheese in mine. I may try a smaller shell next time but we will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April1 May 31, 2010

I made this over the weekend for a barbque (hamburgs and brats) and they were definitely THE hit of the party. I was skeptical because I don't like lettuce and I hate taking a dish I haven't personally tried but my hubby loved it and so did everyone else. I used a 12 oz. package of shells and had a few leftover when I was done stuffing. Everything else I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out well and looked impressive! Will def make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannomcg May 18, 2010

Yooper - my family and I really enjoyed these! Next time, I want to try them with pepperoni. My daughter is pregnant, and a picky eater, so I was able to customize shells for her...I heated the salami in the microwave briefly (to be safe), substituted baby spinach for the romaine (to give her more iron), and left out the chicken for hers (she is not crazy about chicken). In spite of her early pregnancy nausea, she wolfed these down! As did the rest of my family. They kept well in the fridge for a couple of hours too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn May 07, 2010
Italian Chopped Salad in Shells