Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Chopped Salad in Shells Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Chopped Salad in Shells

    Average Rating:

    164 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 164

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2003

      I needed a quick meal when one daughter and boyfriend were on their way home with 1 1/2 hours notice.(I made spinach-tofu stuffed shells to accompany) Since both daughters are vegetarian, I omitted the meat and added chopped mushrooms. Delicious! I will certainly be making these many times again. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2003

      I'm sorry, but I was really disappointed in these, considering all the 5-star reviews. Maybe it's because I'm new at stuffing shell pasta, but I found that all the filling fell out at the first bite of a shell. I ended up just dumping out the shells and eating the filling as salad. The salad itself was pretty good, but I would change the proportions to have a bit less romaine and a bit more "substance" ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      This is a wonderful salad. I made it for a picnic with friends on our boat and it was a big hit. Thanks for such an easy and different dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2003

      These are great! I will definitely make them again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      These were a big hit! I used turkey because I didn't have any chicken, and substituted hearts of palm because I didn't have any cucumber. I will definitely make these the next time I have to bring a salad or appy someplace. And of course, I will have to make them at home because my family just loved them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      I have been making these for years but finally am signed up to rate. I love these, the kids love these and so does my hubby. If I could rate it higher I would. My kids typically don't care for salads but when I make these, the kids devour them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      Made these for the family one night just to try them out. The kids wouldn't eat them whole, but picked them a part and ate the salad and shells separate, but even my bf surprising liked them. The only thing I did different was use dry basil since I don't have any fresh. Thanks so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Wow what a great appetizer! Guaranteed no one is showing up with anything like this. This would be even better with the addition of some crisp bacon crumbled up in it. Definitely saving this to my cookbook

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      I made this for our 4th of July party and it was a huge hit! It really kept the crispness of the lettuce which made it a great recipe to make earlier in the day and then just pull out and serve when the guests arrived. This will definately be added to my faves for potlocks, picnics and BBQs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      Brought these to a fourth of July picnic and they went over very well. I added more salami and less chicken and used dried basil because the store was out of fresh. Newman's Own makes a Parmesan and Roasted Garlic dressing that worked nicely with the salad. If you are running short on time, just add pasta to the salad and serve as a side dish. Would definitely serve this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      Absolutely wonderful and so easy and inexpensive to make! Made it by the recipe the first time and it was great! Next time I'm going to add chopped artichokes and black olives...yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

    • on December 26, 2011

      Will be making these again! Quite the flavorful lil bugs they are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      Made with ham and salami for the meats, these were delicious! I went home with an empty plate and got lots of raves from everyone at the shower!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      Thanks, yooper, this was a hit at our 4th of July get-together. I used Garlic Expressions as the vinaigrette, and that worked well. The hardest part was boiling the shells and having them behave. But after stuffing, the appetizers all looked lovely and tasted great--received many positive comments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      I made these for an appitizer and they were a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Loved these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      I made these for an office party, but they were not very popular. I just loved the whole concept of a finger salad, but the bland, cold shell just wasn't very appealing. The salad itself was good. I really liked the zip the fresh basil gave it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      Made these for the first time tonight for a Christmas party. Really creative, and everyone seemed to like them. Great in the midst of dessert-heavy holiday parties. Will experiment in the future to make it a little less bland, but great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Chopped Salad in Shells

    Serving Size: 1 (1148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 64.7
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    16%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 5.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 51.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    garlic vinaigrette dressing

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes