Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Chopped Salad in Shells Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Chopped Salad in Shells

    Average Rating:

    164 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 164

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2002

      Made this for a Fourth of July picnic and everyone RAVED! I made these the night before, and had to substitute pepperoni and hot italian ham, since I didn't have cooked chicken or salami. I added shredded parmesan cheese, too. A word of advice, though; make sure to measure 4 cups of the chopped romaine. I measured 4 cups, then chopped it, and felt more romaine would've been great. There are a lot of ways to slightly change this recipe for different tastes - it's very versatile, and would be a great addition to a brunch, casual, or even more formal buffet. They're perfect finger food, and do look pretty elegant. My friends, family, & I could not have been more pleased. We'll be making this often. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2002

      Very elegant looking & easy to put together. I really stuffed the shells & only got about 24 appetizers, rather than 34. Took to a Christmas party. It was after work and, being the holidays, I figured everyone would bring sweets. They did and everyone pounced on these! I had some bottled Italian dressing I needed to use up, so didn't get the vinaigrette. When I first put the shells together, thought they were going to be awfully oily & messy but after 2 hrs in the 'fridge they were fine. Will use the vinaigrette next time. Everyone asked me to email the recipe, so will do that and turn them on to 'Zaar! Good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2002

      This might sound strange but I left out the lettuce,Im not fond of it,I found it pretty good,try it,it's good ribbit ribbit

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2003

      These were wonderful. My husband and I had them for supper but they would make a good appetizer also. Very unique and easy to make. I ended up with 30 stuffed shells. I took the left-overs to work and they were goobled up in no time and rave about by my co-workers. Thanks yooper. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2002

      I followed the recipe and everyone loved it! I prepared everything the night before and then added the dressing and stuffed the shells that morning. This was one we will have again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      This is a fantastic appetizer. I made these for a spa party I hosted and they were loved by all. I am in full agreement with Vicky Bryant as to the versatility of this recipe. Also, I heeded the advice of the other reviewers and added p;enty of dressing until I thought it looked "right." I excluded the cucumber and tomato and put a greek spin on it with kalamata olives and artichokes. I just crammed it with whatever sounded good to me :). I boiled the shells about 6 hours ahead of time and just coated them with a little bit of olive oil to prevent sticking. A few shells fell apart in the water but most stayed whole. One more thing, they were full and gorgeous when I first stuffed them but after a few hours they kind of deflated so if you want to do some prep mix all the filling ingredients (except the lettuce and basil) including the dressing. Add the lettuce and basil when you are ready to fill. Thanks for such a wonderful appetizer!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      I had to make some changes 'cause I couldn't see paying $11 for a bag of pasta (the only jumbo shells I could find...they were on sale for $7 but that's still too much!). So, instead of stuffing my 'shells', I cut and mixed together everything as instructed (romaine about 1/4" though), added some Barilla bowtie (farfalle) pasta, then refrigerated. Yummmm, I think I'll make this for our next office party ... thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      I made these for a weekend BBQ and they were a big HIT! I chopped the romaine, then measured, but still had to add about a cup later to fill all of my shells. I left out the chicken since I was serving it with chicken. Oh, and definitely sprinkle with parmesan. However, my biggest tip for yall is to serve them in a deviled egg tray. They won't roll around that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2003

      I made this today and it is fabulous. I changed the proportions a little - less lettuce and a little more chicken. Also added red & yellow peppers - you really can use whatever you want. It's just a really clever idea. Definitely a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2003

      Yes! Like the other reviewers before me, I can say this is a truly versatile dish - you can't do too much to ruin it! I had no basil, so used chopped fresh parsley. Had some diced pepperoni on hand so used that instead of the salami. Tossed in a handful of grated parmesan cheese. For the dressing, I used Newman's Own Balsamic Vinaigrette, with great falvor results. I took this to a picnic and served it as a salad/side dish. Too bad they were all gobbled up so quickly - I think these would be even better if left to refrigerate overnight! Thanks, Mark!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2003

      What a great idea!! I sliced the lettuce in my food processor and also added sliced cabbage for some extra 'crunch'. I really 'wowed' them at work with this. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2003

      These were wonderful! I omitted the salami and used "Garlic Expressions" dressing as the vinaigrette. They are a great little appetizer and very easy to make. They set up nicely after a couple hours in the fridge and make a nice little finger food. Thanks for posting Yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      Great finger food! I changed up the recipe a little bit - took out the chicken and basil and added black olives, red onion, and shredded parmesan cheese. Instead of vinaigrette, I used Kraft Light House Italian, and before stuffing the shells, I drizzled a tiny bit of olive oil over them and lightly sprinkled italian seasoning over that. Everyone commented on how fresh they were and how they would be great for a summer get together. Thanks for the great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      Not only do I look at a recipe for what is in it, but, also what can be changed about it and what ideas I get from it. THIS is a keeper on all counts! Not only is it good as written, it gets you thinking about so many other ideas using this concept!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I love these- and have received so many great compliments on them. I do think the key is to use a salad dressing that is full flavored- that you love. I make mine from scratch with loads of garlic and fresh herbs. Its fun to add salami, sun dried tomatoes, cheese, whatever!! Such a fun idea- and awesome presentation. I love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      I don't know if I didn't cook the shells long enough (cooked longer than package directions) but had 2 different groups of friends try them and they said the same thing "filling is GREAT but the pasta is too dense and overwhelming". Next time I'm going to either mix some pasta with the salad part to make a great pasta salad or use something else as my vessel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      I made these for a Christmas appetizer. They make a beautiful presentation and were absolutely delicious and different than the normal holiday fare. The only modifications I made were using a balsamic vinegarette and adding feta and parmesan cheese. I also used an English cucumber as they have less water content and are easier to chop. I was reluctant to try this recipe as I thought that they would fall apart, but they were easy to work with and held together just fine even before refrigeration. The only downside was that they were quite time-consuming to make, but that is partially my fault as my food chopper quit half way through. I am looking forward to serving these! Thank you for posting!~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      The possibilites are ENDLESS! I've made these several times with many variations. Any left over meat diced up in place of the chicken works great as does adding some diced sharp or pepperjack cheese. I've also used rotini noodles in place of stuffing shells with great results. These are portable, easy and delish, a must make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      I have made this serveral times but I use endive leaves instead of pasta shells. Also I add some chopped gouda or havarti cheese and sometimes I add garbonzo beans. This is always a hit with guests and all but filling the endive leaves can be done ahead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      I made the shells with the above ingredients except I substituted pepperoni and mozzarella cheese for the chicken and salami, and used a good italian dressing. They were delish! Next time I might try a greek theme and use feta, kalamata olives etc. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Chopped Salad in Shells

    Serving Size: 1 (1148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 64.7
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    16%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 5.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 51.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    garlic vinaigrette dressing

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes