89 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nicer, healthier and tastier version of breaded chicken (no carbs, hooray!) Rather than margarine I brushed olive oil on the breasts and used fresh parsley, minced garlic and dried orgegano. I found two tablespoons of oregano to be a bit overpowering although it could very well be the dried Greek variety I buy. It is sold in large branches and the taste and smell are different from the North American version (I'm not going to fault you for my ingredients)! The chicken breasts I used were huge and I was concerned about the cooking time although the high heat method worked very well; the breasts were very tender. Next time I may try marinating in garlic, lemon juice/zest and olive oil before pressing into the mixture just to see what transpires! This will become a mainstay in our house! Thanks kindly for your recipe! P.S. Try tossing leftover chicken in a salad with tomatoes, red onion, kalamata olives, feta and lemon vinaigrette; my lovely lunch today!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Highland Lass January 21, 2003

Very quick and easy yet tasted as if you've slaved over the stove all day. My family really enjoyed it and asked if I could make it again soon. It was very tasty and there were no leftovers!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Steinmetz September 02, 2002

Very tasty and extremely quick and easy to make. I will be making this again the next time I'm in a pinch.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie Perez July 14, 2002

Yowzers! All through dinner, I kept commenting, "Isn't this great? Isn't this just delicious?" I can't get over how much I enjoyed this simple chicken dish. I used freshly grated parmesan, and dipped the chicken in melted butter (not margarine). Oh, and used the fresh parsley, not dried. This was very, very easy to prepare, cooked to moist tender perfection after 20 minutes in the oven, and will definitely become a regular for me. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie December 16, 2002

You've done it again, MG! This is an outstanding recipe! I decided to make this last night because of the low carbs in the dish. I have to be honest, though...I really doubted how good this would be from the very simple list of ingredients! Wow, was I ever wrong! I love the oregano flavor in this dish. I did not change a single thing, there isn't a need to. I just can't stress what an outstanding flavor combination this is, the ease of preparation and how juicy and moist the chicken was. I served this with some couscous for the guys and sliced tomatoes and green beans for myself and we all just kept commenting on how delicious it was. Thanks for this recipe, this one will become a staple in this house!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! April 04, 2003

dont you hate it when people do everything different, and then review your recipe???? :) I had thighs, skinless and de-fatted, I was really "annoyed" to find I was out of oregano, BUT I did have Italian herbs, which had oregano, and basil and PARSLEY, (which I knew I didnt have :) I sprayed the first thigh with oil, but realised I didnt need too, and just coated the next 5. I sprinkled over the extra stuff. One thing about thighs, they take longer, allow at least 40 minutes. served with a Greek salad, marinated mushrooms, and a little re-heated rice, it was wonderfull and I will definately do this again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills April 08, 2003

Very quick and easy to make. I loved it and so did my dinner guest! I will make this again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulette April 17, 2003

This just about drove me crazy while it cooked. The kitchen smelled amazing and my dh practically ripped the oven door off trying to inhale the amazing aroma!!! This recipe was so fast, so easy, and yielded the most delicious results!!!! I used chicken thighs, and romano and parmesan cheese. I am sure it is even more amazing with chicken breasts. Thank you Mystery Girl!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerkitten D April 15, 2003

This chicken was so moist and delicious. I could not stop eating it. I have been looking for low carb recipes and this popped up, what a wonderful dish. My dh thought I slaved over the stove trying to prepare it. I won't tell him how simple it was. Awesome recipe Mysterygirl!!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~jb4~ March 26, 2003

I loved this! I was afraid that the green color from the oregano would scare the little ones but it didn't! I did have to make a few changes, but that was all my fault. I didn't coat the chicken with any butter and it worked fine. Plus, I didn't have parsley so that was out and, since I didn't have parmesan cheese, I shredded some Havarti and that worked wonderfully. On top I sprinkled some more pepper. Also, it took a little longer: maybe 30-35 minutes but that was ok--this very tender!! I am definately going to make this again!! Thanks!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bec February 19, 2003
Italian Chicken