Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Chicken

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2003

      Nicer, healthier and tastier version of breaded chicken (no carbs, hooray!) Rather than margarine I brushed olive oil on the breasts and used fresh parsley, minced garlic and dried orgegano. I found two tablespoons of oregano to be a bit overpowering although it could very well be the dried Greek variety I buy. It is sold in large branches and the taste and smell are different from the North American version (I'm not going to fault you for my ingredients)! The chicken breasts I used were huge and I was concerned about the cooking time although the high heat method worked very well; the breasts were very tender. Next time I may try marinating in garlic, lemon juice/zest and olive oil before pressing into the mixture just to see what transpires! This will become a mainstay in our house! Thanks kindly for your recipe! P.S. Try tossing leftover chicken in a salad with tomatoes, red onion, kalamata olives, feta and lemon vinaigrette; my lovely lunch today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      Very quick and easy yet tasted as if you've slaved over the stove all day. My family really enjoyed it and asked if I could make it again soon. It was very tasty and there were no leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      Very tasty and extremely quick and easy to make. I will be making this again the next time I'm in a pinch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      Yowzers! All through dinner, I kept commenting, "Isn't this great? Isn't this just delicious?" I can't get over how much I enjoyed this simple chicken dish. I used freshly grated parmesan, and dipped the chicken in melted butter (not margarine). Oh, and used the fresh parsley, not dried. This was very, very easy to prepare, cooked to moist tender perfection after 20 minutes in the oven, and will definitely become a regular for me. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2003

      You've done it again, MG! This is an outstanding recipe! I decided to make this last night because of the low carbs in the dish. I have to be honest, though...I really doubted how good this would be from the very simple list of ingredients! Wow, was I ever wrong! I love the oregano flavor in this dish. I did not change a single thing, there isn't a need to. I just can't stress what an outstanding flavor combination this is, the ease of preparation and how juicy and moist the chicken was. I served this with some couscous for the guys and sliced tomatoes and green beans for myself and we all just kept commenting on how delicious it was. Thanks for this recipe, this one will become a staple in this house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      dont you hate it when people do everything different, and then review your recipe???? :) I had thighs, skinless and de-fatted, I was really "annoyed" to find I was out of oregano, BUT I did have Italian herbs, which had oregano, and basil and PARSLEY, (which I knew I didnt have :) I sprayed the first thigh with oil, but realised I didnt need too, and just coated the next 5. I sprinkled over the extra stuff. One thing about thighs, they take longer, allow at least 40 minutes. served with a Greek salad, marinated mushrooms, and a little re-heated rice, it was wonderfull and I will definately do this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2003

      Very quick and easy to make. I loved it and so did my dinner guest! I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      This just about drove me crazy while it cooked. The kitchen smelled amazing and my dh practically ripped the oven door off trying to inhale the amazing aroma!!! This recipe was so fast, so easy, and yielded the most delicious results!!!! I used chicken thighs, and romano and parmesan cheese. I am sure it is even more amazing with chicken breasts. Thank you Mystery Girl!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      This chicken was so moist and delicious. I could not stop eating it. I have been looking for low carb recipes and this popped up, what a wonderful dish. My dh thought I slaved over the stove trying to prepare it. I won't tell him how simple it was. Awesome recipe Mysterygirl!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2003

      I loved this! I was afraid that the green color from the oregano would scare the little ones but it didn't! I did have to make a few changes, but that was all my fault. I didn't coat the chicken with any butter and it worked fine. Plus, I didn't have parsley so that was out and, since I didn't have parmesan cheese, I shredded some Havarti and that worked wonderfully. On top I sprinkled some more pepper. Also, it took a little longer: maybe 30-35 minutes but that was ok--this very tender!! I am definately going to make this again!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2003

      This chicken was extremely falvorful and moist. Easy to make, and quickly put on the table! I prepared this recipe as stated, but increased it to 6 servings. You couldn't ask for an easier main course recipe. Delicious. I will definitely make this again! My "Picky Panel of Judges" gave this 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      MG, this was absolutely delicious! And so easy! I love recipes like this! And it really is foolproof. You just have to make sure you don't overcook your chicken. Makes great sandwiches, too. Thank you! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2003

      Tasty, moist and FAST! This recipe saved the day when I was to make another recipe but realized that I had forgotten to buy one of the ingredients. Checked the cookbook and the description said quick and easy and it was. Next time I would make a bit more seasoning mix since this barely covered the 4 chicken breasts (maybe they were big chickens). Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2003

      very quick and I always have all of the ingredients on hand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      Wonderful recipe option for the South Beach diet - I sprayed the chicken with I Can't Believe it's Not Butter spray margarine, rather than dredging in the regular stuff. It came out just fine - moist and delicious - after 25 min. cooking time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      I am doing the South Beach Diet and wanted something different. This made a wonderfully moist chicken that tasted absolutely delicious. My picky 3 year old even loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      Delicious! The bake time was perfect! Very flavorful and moist. Will use less oregano next time. I will enjoy this again :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      WOW! This came out FABULOUS (and easy)! I doubled the recipe for 6 people and had only one piece of chicken left over (and 2 hours later that was gone!)! I can't believe how much this tastes like breaded chicken without the breadcrumbs. I served with a 4-cheese pasta side dish and salad. I will be making this again...next time I may try topping it with sauce and cheese. Thanks for sharing...everyone loved this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      Tender, juicy and oh so flavorful!! I made as stated but without the parsley and it was wonderful. Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2003

      This is a good, low-carb dish! I used minced, fresh garlic and added some cayenne for a little kick. The chicken came out moist and surprisingly flavorful considering there are few ingredients! I loved the parmesan crust - especially the browned edges! I'll be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.3
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    50%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 86.5 mg
    28%
    Sodium 428.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 30.2 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites