26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love this cheese bread, I usually whip up my own Italian dressing with, olive oil, wine vinegar, sugar, Italian seasonings, basil, and granulated garlic (it is thicker than bottled Italian dressing) the results are amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lemon Girl January 07, 2010

I'm more than a little disappointed, especially after 24 5 star ratings. At first, I thought the dough was nice and it was easy enough to put together. Once I baked it, disaster. It was only okay. I even added extra seasonings and it was bland. I won't make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indigosmom September 15, 2009

This was very good. I had to make a few changes as certain ingredients not available in Denmark. Used regular dried yeast, and Cardini's Italian dressing. Added basil to herbs sprinkled onto bread. Texture of bread was excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan-Amer #1 August 23, 2009

Wow! I did add a packet of dried Italian Seasoning to the dough, and used only asiago cheese on top-it's resting right now-making the house smell wonderful. I did tear off a tad to try and it's lovely! Very easy to make (I needed a fast "something") for brushetta and this is it. My new "fall back to" summer bread, sturdy enough to grill-can't wait to try that! Thanks for posting!!! Di;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's May 11, 2009

I used everything as stated and it was delicious and wonderful. I will be making this so many other times.Thanks very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmy March 19, 2009

I used 1.5 cups of bread flour and 1 cup of all-purpose due to personal preference, let my stand mixer need the dough 4 minutes then let it rise for 20 minutes and punched down and let rest for 10 minutes before rolling rolled into a rectangle. We were out of Italian dressing so I used melted butter to brush on dough instead. I doubled the topping recipe (but next time would cut back a bit on the salt and garlic when doubling) , sprinkled with the mozzerella cheese (would pulse this in the chopper next time so it is a bit finer) and cut the dough into 9 bread sticks. I baked them at 375 for 12 minutes on a well greesed cookie sheet and then cut them in half to make 16 sticks when they were done. I don't usually rate recipes that I have modified but this just shows that you can put your own touches on this "bread" and still have great results in very little time with very little effort.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
6 pack mama November 20, 2008

Delicious and wonderful. I baked it on my stoneware and it gave it a wonderful texture. I served it with a tomato sauce with Parmesan mixed in. It was wonderful with the tortellini I had for dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julieannie July 11, 2008

I served this delicious bread with lasagna, and the whole family enjoyed it. Especially my teenage sons. So it is a keeper in my book! I used a bottle of Italian dressing from our local Italian restaurant and it was yummy! Quick and easy to follow recipe with great results. Thanks, Marie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula May 23, 2008

Delicious. My DH and 10 year old fussy son loved your recipe. I used Kraft Zesty Italian dressing; I'm from Canada and have never heard of Good Seasons. Other then that I followed your recipe to a T. I will definitely be putting this into my favorites folder. Quick, easy and yummy! Thank you so much for sharing Marie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Biffy 62 March 31, 2008

Splendid recipe! I used a four-cheese mexican mix instead of the mozerella (Just because I was out) and it turned out marvelously! I actually cooked it 20 minutes, but that would depend on your oven. Great treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seraph224 March 20, 2008
Italian Cheese Bread