51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used only ground beef since I was out of sausage meat. I also used whole wheat egg noodles. My family "LOVED" this meal. I will certainly be making this again. Maybe with ground sausage next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cidd September 20, 2011

This is now an 'old reliable'. I've made it about 7 or 8 times, with a few tweaks each time. The great thing about it is it keeps in the frig for at least a week. If I'm short on time I can just heat up a portion and it's ready in no time. The batch that's cooking now has farmer's cheese, mozzarella, parmesan, and romano on top. Another trick is to put half the mixture into the baking pan, put cheese on top of that, and then add the rest and top that with cheese. It's also great with ricotta. All that cheese-- how terrible!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnbrills April 28, 2011

Not a keeper IMHO. Was easy to make, but I didn't care for consistency. Not for those that like Al Dente pasta. Followed exactly, just came out a big glop the kids didn't even like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RandomRamblings October 17, 2010

I made this pretty much as the recipe reads using mild Italian sausage links (casing removed) and added some grated romano cheese. I also took a previous reviewer's suggestion to bake for an initial 15 minutes before adding the cheeses and bake for another 15 - worked perfectly. This is an easy, flavorful meal for a weeknight dish. I rated it 4 stars, though, because I do plan to make some modifications next time: 1. I never balk away from salt, but I think between the sausage and cheeses (adding romano didn't help), it's WAY too much. The extra tsp is not needed, I won't add it in next time. 2. I'm not a huge sausage lover, but added the whole 1/2 lb. For me, it added a really great flavor but was just a bit too much. I think next time I'll try a higher beef-to-sausage ratio, maybe 3/4-to-1/4. Overall, great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimad May 13, 2010

I can't believe anyone said this recipe was bland. For my family I cut back on the spices and still thought it was a bit too spicy. I followed the recipe except I only used one tablespoon of garlic, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper. I also only used ground beef as I didn't have any sausage. I also mixed the cheddar and mozzarella cheese into the casserole and then topped with another cup of mozazarella. I only cooked this for 10 minutes, just enough to melt the cheese on top. Next time I would cut the pepper back to about 1/4 teaspoon and cut the garlic down to about 1/2 tablespoon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 26, 2009

Made as written. Was just o.k. for me. My husband liked it more than I did. I would make it again for him, as it was easy and makes a lot, so there are leftovers for him to take to work. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs May 04, 2009

Because of my daughters school schedule the easiest time for me to get dinner started is the afternoon. I just made the sauce for this dinner, and it is so good, I have to force myself not to just sit here and eat spoonfuls of it. I can't put the bell peppers in, or my oldest won't eat it. And i decided to add in 8 oz. of baby bella mushrooms. I'm already trying to figure out how to turn this into a larger portion of sauce for my regular spaghetti. Really Fantastic. Thank You!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashdoes April 27, 2009

Very good! The only thing I did differently was I cut up about 4 baby bella mushrooms and added them to the pot when the meat was almost done cooking. I also added a LOT more cheese, because in this house, the more cheese, the better. We all enjoyed this a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Sara Sue March 24, 2009

I doubled the recipe. I used two pounds of sausage and omitted the hamburger. I don't care for green pepper so I used two 8oz boxes of sliced mushrooms. It was great and very easy to make. Thanks for posting I'll be maing this time and again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy Jase February 06, 2009
Italian Casserole Dinner