11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made a wedding cake for a friend and used this recipe--came out perfectly, whether I used all butter (trial run) or butter and shortening combo (for the wedding--such a warm day)! I used a candy thermometer and added the syrup to the whites when it reached 238F. However, this recipe does threaten to overflow my KitchenAid stand mixer's bowl and it takes way longer than 10 minutes for it to cool down.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anonymous23 July 26, 2009

I flavored mine with almond extract...it was so, addictive. You do have to keep beating, and a few ice cubes to the water seemed to help speed up the process. This recipe blends well with Nutella, the 26.5 oz jar to the whole recipe by blending nearly 2 cups of icing to the Nutella, then folding the Nutella mixture into the remaining icing. The Nutella Italian Butter Cream makes an excellent filling/icing for chocolate (cup)cakes with a Chocolate Ganauche and toasted Hazelnut finish. The only problem is when this icing is cold, it will separate, so let it warm up to room temp. then mix again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
525975 July 18, 2007

I have been looking for an italian butter cream for a while, this is perfect! I used meringue powder instead of fresh eggs and it was really easy.I will be using it for my daughters wedding cake in two weeks. It does go through a scary phase where it looks curdled, and it did take more than 10 minutes to cool, but it turned out fantastic, light, not too sweet....the hard part will be staying out of it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hotoes40 September 07, 2009

LOVED this icing. Beats Wilton's recipe fo buttercream icing. Requires effort but I kept going according to instructions and it turned out so wonderful. Thanks for taking your time to add this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Strawberries and Roses June 09, 2007

I soaked a towel in cold water and after wringing it out well wrapped it around the bowl of my mixer, worked great. Lovely icing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jdayl December 12, 2012

Awesome wonderful - my new go to icing recipe! Not too sweet - wonderful texture - great to decorate with!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
720775 April 08, 2012

Thank you so much for this awesome recipe! This was so easy and it came out perfect on my first try. I halved the recipe - which worked well in my KitchenAid stand mixer - and used it on a devil's food cake. I followed another reviewer's idea of mixing Nutella with just part of the frosting - about 1 1/2 c frosting and about 1/2 c Nutella - to fill the middle layer. Then I used the regular buttercream on the outside. It was incredible. Thanks again!!!
***Update: I've been experimenting with flavors and so far our favorite is adding 1/8 to 1/4 cup of butterscotch schnapps to 1/2 of the full recipe. I used it on "yellow sour cream cupcakes" - super yummy!!!***

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipemeister January 31, 2011

Came out excellent. I halved the recipe and had plenty for 24 cupcakes with some left over... Even after DH sampled until we had tummy aches. Step #3 putting bowl into cool water reduced cooling time considerably.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foofoo Sullivan October 18, 2009

This recipe is pretty good, though still a little bit too buttery for my taste, I'm thinking next time to cut down the butter by a 1/4lb. I loved the way it piped though :) And make sure the butter is very soft when you start adding it to the meringue other wise is going to separate and you'll end up with a mess, I learned that the hard way on a very cold winter day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
o_lynk February 15, 2015

I followed this recipe EXACTLY and did get something that LOOKED like frosting (after pushing through the extended, "oh my goodness, this is a curdled waste of butter" stage. But then I tasted it and just as I suspected from the 1.5 pounds of butter requirement -- it takes like sweetened butter. Nothing at all like frosting ... would be great on fresh cornbread but on a cake? No way!! I thought maybe it was just me, not being used to Italian Buttercream frosting. I had my husband taste it. He said, "yum. that would be great on cornbread or a sweet yeast roll right out of the oven." I told him that it was frosting and he looked at my like I'd lost my mind. But I had cored cupcakes for filling so he grabbed a little core of red velvet cake and put a little frosting on it. "Weird", he said. "That stuff is not for cake. Maybe a corn muffin, but not for cake." Then my daughter came home. I didn't tell her what it was for and after tasting it, she asked why I was making so much "honey butter." This recipe is simple and only a few ingredients, so we know it is what it is, Sweetened butter. I'm not sure what the point of the whipped egg whites was. Those disintegrated with the slow streaming of the sugar syrup and later seem to serve the sole purpose of helping the frosting separate. At the suggestion family to "do something to try to turn it into frosting and not waste all of that butter" I added a two pound bag of powdered sugar and it then tasted like frosting but way too thin to put on a cupcake. It would slide right off. Not being willing to waste any more groceries on this recipe, it's going into the trash bin as soon as I finish with this review. My advice? If you want a great substitute for honey butter for corn muffins or as something to brush over a fresh loaf of bread that comes out of the oven, this is good. Otherwise, don't expect anything like frosting. Expect, as you can see from the list of ingredients, to get sweet whipped butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rloreth October 28, 2013
Italian Buttercream Icing