Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Buttercream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Buttercream

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2012

      I've enjoyed the recipes on Food.com for many years but I signed up just now just to review this recipe! Freakin' unbelievable! I was afraid to overdo the butter but since it is added slowly, I just checked it after the third stick was incorporated. I added 1/2 teaspoon of clear vanilla and skipped the last butter. (so only used 3/4lb) It was heavenly tasting and such a JOY to spread. This will be going on my brother's wedding cake!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      I decided to make this frosting for Easter because I have been wanting to move away from the cloyingly sweet confectioners sugar recipes and I got rave reviews! Best frosting I have made! I did end up adding a little bit of confectioners sugar at the end because I also found it very buttery and not quite sweet enough. The cupcakes that I frosted and refrigerated were still delicious the next day after letting them sit out a little to let the frosting soften up. However, the leftover frosting that I had packed up and refrigerated tasted really bad and the texture changed by the second day when I wanted to use it again -as this was my first attempt at buttercream I am not sure why this happend but had to throw it out :( If anyone has suggestions on what to do about that please let me know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      This was my first time making Italian Buttercream. I did not love the taste, until after I turned it chocolatey by adding in some cocoa powder. Then it was really yummy. As written, it was very, very buttery tasting, for me it was a bit much. That's why I added cocoa. The texture is AMAZING. Silky smooth, I can't wait to experiment more with Italian Buttercream, but I definitely need to maybe add more sweetness? Not sure I can ever get past that super buttery taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      This is an excellent recipe. I have made it many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      This turned out very well. Light and fluffy and slightly sweet. I thought it could stand to be a bit sweeter, but overall very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      OMG! This tastes fantastic! And it was very easy to make- can't wait for DH to try- he will love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      This recipe turns out every time! I love it....It's not to sweet like most icings and is super creamy....My family loves it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      This Italian Butter cream is perfect everytime. You just be sure that the butter and egg whites have the same temperature. If not just take the time to mix a bit more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      I made a half recipe and added 1 tsp vanilla for flavoring. It's the first time I've ever tried making "real" buttercream (as opposed to butter creamed into powdered sugar) and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was. I'll definitely keep using this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Buttercream

    Serving Size: 1 (926 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4296.9
     
    Calories from Fat 3316
    77%
    Total Fat 368.4 g
    566%
    Saturated Fat 233.2 g
    1166%
    Cholesterol 976.1 mg
    325%
    Sodium 3483.5 mg
    145%
    Total Carbohydrate 251.2 g
    83%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 250.7 g
    1003%
    Protein 19.4 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites