Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Bread Crumbs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Bread Crumbs

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2003

      This is great for the many times that I make chicken or veal parmesan. I used 1/4 tsp dried oregano & left out the sugar. Thanks Barb

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2003

      Perfecto! And yes, simple and quick. Great to have since I always make my own breadcrumbs just never knew the seasoning proportions for Italian breadcrumbs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2003

      I was more than pleased with this recipe, will use it often. I used hamburger buns to make the crumbs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      I liked this recipe very much since I cannot find Italian bread crumbs here. I use it to coat chicken (with Parm cheese) and then bake the chicken in the oven. I've also made skinless, boneless breasts with this coating and cooked it on top of the stove. Very nice! Thanx!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      Really good. I used them for chicken parmesan and they were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      Just what I was looking for! I didn't add the sugar, but did add dried basil. Next time I think I'll use a little less salt. So good, easy and cheap. Why would anyone buy them? Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2012

      I was lucky to find this! I thought that I had enough for a recipe but found out otherwise when I started cooking (and company was coming for dinner). I'll skip buying the prepared Italian breadcrumbs from now on! This was great! Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      This is great! I've been saving old bread, burger/hot dog buns, rolls and making them into bread crumbs. I hate to waste food. I keep the breadcrumbs in a containier in the frig. Adding these seasonings just make them so much more tasty. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      Used this recipe to make chicken parm. I did add parmesan cheese to the crumbs before coating the chicken. Great and easy recipe that uses ingredients I always have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      I used this for meatballs and have enough leftover for something else. Great flavor and so easy. I toasted my bread in the oven then threw everything in my food processor. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      So good! I used these for Chicken Parmesan #19135. Very easy and tasty! I used a variety of whole wheat breads chopped in the processor and added a handful of grated parmesan. Excellent and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I used these to dip some center cut pork chops in, and they were excellent sprayed with a little cooking spray and baked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Perfect! I didn't have any onion powder but it was still awesome! I used these to make Chicken Pesto Recipe (http://www.recipezaar.com/Chicken-Pesto-21882) and it turned out so yummy! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Saved me a trip to the grocery just for Italian bread crumbs. I thought what a waste of time, and money when I have an old loaf of bread sitting in the pantry I am about to throw out. These were so yummy. Thanks! The only thing I did differently was to take the bread crumbs and melted some butter. Sauteed them in a skillet until they were a sandy texture. Made the kitchen smell great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I've prepared this too many times to count. As a matter of fact, I haven't purchased store-bought for more than two - three years. I process left-over bread of any kind into crumbs then dry in the oven before assembling. Did I ever mention that I looooove to be frugal?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      A real saver - thanks! I did add some italian seasoning to the mix as well - turned out fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Thank you so much. All I had was plain bread crumbs. You saved me another trip to the store. At the price of gas that was an awesome thing. This tasted great on some breaded pork chops. Thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Perfect! I used this recipe to get me out of a jam. I thought I had Italian bread crumbs, but turned out they were just regular. I was cooking a recipe that called for Italian, so whipped this together quick and it was great! Thank you so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      I made these they were great.I added parmesan cheese to then and used for chicken.Thanks for posting.Will make again.I have a batch in the freezer now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      I make my own crumbs from homemade bread and this takes it to a whole new level! These are simply fantastic!! I am going to make up two or three batches at a time and keep in the freezer! Thanks Aroostook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Bread Crumbs

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.0
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    11%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1955.3 mg
    81%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.9 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 14.6 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites