21 Reviews

This was spectacular. I tossed everything into the machine and let her go. Then I split the dough in two and rolled it out flat then rolled that into a loaf. Repeat, second rise, egg wash and baked the two loaves twenty minutes at 375'ish. It was super soft and I vrushef the hot loaves with garlic butter. We three adults ate 1.5 loaves with lunch of turkey cheddar potato soup. Will gladly remake again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Sarah*~ November 12, 2014

This bread was so soft and very forgiving! I made them for cheesesteaks and I wound up rising it a few times because the rolls were going to be way too big so I kneaded it again and then let them rise. SO soft - I don't know how another could have used it for pizza crust as it is very soft. Will make again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
palomino5873 October 17, 2009

This seems like a good bread recipe. But there was no way this bread was baked in 20-25 minutes. At 25 minutes the loaf was till raw. After checking other bread recipes the time called for 45 minutes. Then it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steffie L. December 15, 2013

Very good bread! Have made it a few times and added additional 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Also use 2 teaspoons of yeast. A little oregano on the top of the loaf and wala! Italian bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rletts January 08, 2013

This bread turned out very well for me. I used my french bread pans to bake the bread and it turned out very light and airy. As a previous reviewer said, it rose more than I expected it to as well. We all enjoyed it with butter - and Broccoli and Cheese Soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F December 20, 2011

Very good bread! I sprinkled the top with garlic salt and Italian herbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover February 11, 2011

This is SO delicious! I made into 2 smaller loaves so I could try the egg white on one, butter on the second. Both were great, but we definitely like the crispy crust the egg white gives. This one will be made as often as the scale will allow! ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skcrowley December 20, 2010

Outstanding! The is five star restaurant Italian bread! My husband went nuts over this bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazycook in PA July 05, 2009

Really yummy, tasty, easy recipe. I made it to use as a sandwich roll for #144820 Steak Parmesan Sandwiches. Great recipe, will definately make again, probably soon, and look forward to experimenting on variations listed in the other reviews. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parrot Head Mama February 27, 2009

Oh my gosh, this is the easiest and most yummy bread ever!!!! My family LOVES it. There are 5 of us and we can easily go through a loaf in an evening. My husband even says it's good enough NOT to need butter. Thank you so much for our new favorite bread. Oh BTW I'm using this recipe tonight for pizza dough, so I'll be back to let you know how it works out. :-) ****Me again...this works fantastic as pizza dough! My kids and hubby LOVED it! Oooh and makes great cheesy bread too! Thanks so very very much!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlsarmywife December 30, 2008
Italian Bread (Bread Machine)