Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Bread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2004

      Great recipe can be adapted for different purposes. Don't mist bread and you get a thick crunchy crust great for dipping or mist and get a thin crisp crust for sandwiches. I added different amounts of flour each time I made the dough. Now I just go by feel, it's generally 7-9 cups. Thank you so much for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      Barb, this bread is excellent...I got 3 good sized loaves, and one small loaf (for mom)...Nothin' to mixing up and baking...The dough is great to work with...I didn't spritz the loaves, but, they turned out fine anyway! I posted my recipe for you...I'll be making yours from now on, thanks! Laudee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2003

      this is wonderful, just what i was looking for. so light, such a wonderful texture, not too crunchy or too soft. i did omit spraying the water on them, and i have no regrets, however, when i get a sprayer maybe i'll try it. the amount of flour is accurate i used 8 cups. i have made this 2x, the first time with all purpose flour and it came out very good. the 2nd time i made it i used king arthur bread flour, i was very extrmely pleased with the results. i can't wait to use this dough for my next pizza.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2003

      This recipe proved to be very wet and I had to add at least 2 extra cups of flour to get i to an accepable consistency. Otherwise the recipe worked well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Was looking for a nice dense bread to serve in lieu of Irish Soda bread for St. Patties Day and glad I found this. Mine turned out a little flat but I think it is because I let is rise too long, but still excellent and will be great for sopping up all that brown gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      I love the fact that there is no oil or anything in this recipe. I only wanted one loaf, so I made half a recipe. It made a good size loaf of nice crusty bread, which is exactly what I wanted to dip in olive oil and pepper to go with my spaghetti dinner. We loved it. Thanks for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      This was so good! I halved the recipe and got one really nice big oval loaf. I didn't have anything to spray water on it with so I just put a pan on the bottom rack and filled it with boiling water instead. The bread is so lovely, just the right amount of crispy crust and the inside is so soft and light. I will be making this one a lot! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Soooo good!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      WOW!!! What a fantastic dough! I added a half cup of olive tapenade to one of the loaves...MMMMM! I also rounded the loaves and spritzed with olive oil instead of water! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2005

      i picked this recipe because of its simplicity, and it's a winner. the crust is crunchy and the center is soft and chewy, the perfect consistency. plus the instructions could not be easier to follow. thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 21

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 132.0
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    58%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 333.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes