73 Reviews

This bread was EXCELLENT!!! I'm always baking bread, but my boyfriend complains about the bread being too heavy. He loves Italian bread, so I was determined to find a recipe. I just did one loaf to see how it would turn out, and as soon as I made the dough I knew it was a winner (I replaced a half cup of the water with evap milk). I did not do the egg wash because, by the time the 20 mins were up, the crust was a perfect golden brown. What I DID do is to brush some evap milk on the crust once I took it out of the oven. Now not only do I have a bread that my boyfriend and I love, but I also have a dough for pizzas and for stuffing. Thanks so much!!! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LGriff28 January 28, 2009

WOW! I have to admit...I had my druthers about putiting it in the fridge and all but it was absolutely wonderful! This bread had an awesome texture and it tastes wonderful too...heard lots of "mmm" noises when people were eating it! Did not do the brushing it will egg thing just because I was busy with dinner as this was baking but it still turned out wonderful and looked beautiful! I will definately be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenJellyBean January 15, 2009

This was very easy to make and turned out great. This bread had the perfect texture and was easy to slice. I left off brushing the bread with egg but other than that made as directed. Made for the I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ January 10, 2009

I have only tried bread a couple of times in the past so I hesitated on trying this, but it turned out great. Easy for a beginner and I made it for the guys on football Sunday with meat sauce and it was a huge hit. Thanks Dee-- also per the reviews I used the water in the bottom of the stove and it helped a bunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpencersMom December 07, 2008

I've only tried a bite, and I'm already in love! I baked it on a pizza stone and followed another reviewer's recommendation of pouring water in the bottom of the oven. Fantastic crust, soft interior! I did use olive oil instead of the butter in the dough. Finally, I didn't have much time, so I did the second rise on the counter for about an hour. It rose very quickly. Thank you for a wonderful bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maggiepcs November 18, 2008

This was my fifth loaf of bread I ever made. I made it into one big loaf and used it for our lunch sandwiches. My husband and kids loved it. Since I am a beginner I don't have a stand mixer. It was so tough to knead it together but it was worth all the work. I'm about to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef 1013074 November 06, 2008

We loved this bread! Crusty on the outside and soft texture on the inside, just the way we like it. The smells in the kitchen were amazing while it was cooking. I couldn't wait to have a slice! Can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolynryanlv August 18, 2008

What lovely loaves!! They turned out really nicely. I used some King Arthur Italian Bread flour and the dough just felt so silky and smooth. This was a completely different method of making bread for me - so I was a little nervous, but it was really easy and turned out perfectly. I was only able to refridgerate for 2 hours... Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
me & alex August 14, 2008
Italian Bread