73 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so good! As I came back to write the review I realized I didn't follow the last part of the recipe. I stopped after just baking 20 minutes. I thought it was wonderful though! I did leave it in the oven a couple extra minutes because I made an underdone loaf once, and I wanted to be sure it was done. (Little did I know I took it out way too early.) I'm going to do it that way again though it turned out so well. I sprinkled the top of one loaf with parmesan cheese, garlic powder, and pepper. It is our favorite of the two. (especially right out of the oven. It was worth the burning fingers.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina6652 June 04, 2010

I am unworthy of this recipe - I would give it 10 stars if I could!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gigi1975 April 05, 2010

This was our first time making a bread loaf and it turned out wonderfully! I love how simply it came together & what a delicious bread it turned out to be! We skipped the part of putting it in the fridge so we just stuck it in a toasty little corner for an hour or two until it rose up nicely. We also just put it in a springform pan because we wanted a round loaf. It baked up beautifully & we couldn't stop eating it! Thanks Dee for this awesome recipe that we'll be using often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit Katchen December 28, 2009

Lovely dough to work with. I halved the recipe to make 2 large sub buns, which I then cut in half to make long boy cheeseburgers. I have to say, they were fantastic! Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 August 01, 2009

I made this for the first time tonight. Wow it came out perfect!! I used bread flour for the recipe, and I didn`t have any olive oil so I used canola oil instead. It still came out perfect. In fact both loaves have all gone. The loaves didn`t even have time to cool before my hubby and sons devoured the lot!!! I`ll definitely be making this again. Next time I`ll double the recipe so I can have some to make toast for breakfast the following morning. Thanks so much for the recipe Dee....it`s a keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Wendy Bee July 10, 2009

Such an easy recipe and foolproof. I only had time to let the dough rise in the refrig for 1 hr. and the rolls were so YUMMY! I made a paste with fresh herbs and olive oil as suggested by another poster and my family just loved them. Thank you Dee for such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamelagroover May 03, 2009

Excellent and very easy recipe - I didn't refrigerate the dough, as I didn't have time, and it turned out fantastic anyways. I made plain, simple rolls, I have to laugh because I didn't quite follow the roll rolling directions ;o) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen April 12, 2009

Wonderful! I made this two nights ago, and the leftovers got eaten yesterday. I added a little minced garlic to the dough. I knew I didn't have time to do the slow cool rise, so I instead let it rise twice. Today I had time and let it rise in the refrigerator, and wow. Even better! I know it will become a staple in my recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jolenemom6 April 10, 2009

Very easy to make and came out excellent! Used it for supper one night and the rest for french toast casserole. Will definitely make again. Really love the texture!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 April 08, 2009

I made this bread tonight and it was very easy and very delicious. I did use extra virgin olive oil instead of the butter/margarine. I also sprinkled my loaves with sesame seeds before baking. When I put the breads into the oven, I put a pan on the bottom shelf and poured boiling water into it to keep the bread moist on the inside and crusty on the outside. This recipe is a WINNER!!! Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RITmom February 05, 2009
Italian Bread