Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Bread

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2010

      I am unworthy of this recipe - I would give it 10 stars if I could!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      This was our first time making a bread loaf and it turned out wonderfully! I love how simply it came together & what a delicious bread it turned out to be! We skipped the part of putting it in the fridge so we just stuck it in a toasty little corner for an hour or two until it rose up nicely. We also just put it in a springform pan because we wanted a round loaf. It baked up beautifully & we couldn't stop eating it! Thanks Dee for this awesome recipe that we'll be using often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Lovely dough to work with. I halved the recipe to make 2 large sub buns, which I then cut in half to make long boy cheeseburgers. I have to say, they were fantastic! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      I made this for the first time tonight. Wow it came out perfect!! I used bread flour for the recipe, and I didn`t have any olive oil so I used canola oil instead. It still came out perfect. In fact both loaves have all gone. The loaves didn`t even have time to cool before my hubby and sons devoured the lot!!! I`ll definitely be making this again. Next time I`ll double the recipe so I can have some to make toast for breakfast the following morning. Thanks so much for the recipe Dee....it`s a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Such an easy recipe and foolproof. I only had time to let the dough rise in the refrig for 1 hr. and the rolls were so YUMMY! I made a paste with fresh herbs and olive oil as suggested by another poster and my family just loved them. Thank you Dee for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Excellent and very easy recipe - I didn't refrigerate the dough, as I didn't have time, and it turned out fantastic anyways. I made plain, simple rolls, I have to laugh because I didn't quite follow the roll rolling directions ;o) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Wonderful! I made this two nights ago, and the leftovers got eaten yesterday. I added a little minced garlic to the dough. I knew I didn't have time to do the slow cool rise, so I instead let it rise twice. Today I had time and let it rise in the refrigerator, and wow. Even better! I know it will become a staple in my recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Very easy to make and came out excellent! Used it for supper one night and the rest for french toast casserole. Will definitely make again. Really love the texture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      I made this bread tonight and it was very easy and very delicious. I did use extra virgin olive oil instead of the butter/margarine. I also sprinkled my loaves with sesame seeds before baking. When I put the breads into the oven, I put a pan on the bottom shelf and poured boiling water into it to keep the bread moist on the inside and crusty on the outside. This recipe is a WINNER!!! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This bread was EXCELLENT!!! I'm always baking bread, but my boyfriend complains about the bread being too heavy. He loves Italian bread, so I was determined to find a recipe. I just did one loaf to see how it would turn out, and as soon as I made the dough I knew it was a winner (I replaced a half cup of the water with evap milk). I did not do the egg wash because, by the time the 20 mins were up, the crust was a perfect golden brown. What I DID do is to brush some evap milk on the crust once I took it out of the oven. Now not only do I have a bread that my boyfriend and I love, but I also have a dough for pizzas and for stuffing. Thanks so much!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      WOW! I have to admit...I had my druthers about putiting it in the fridge and all but it was absolutely wonderful! This bread had an awesome texture and it tastes wonderful too...heard lots of "mmm" noises when people were eating it! Did not do the brushing it will egg thing just because I was busy with dinner as this was baking but it still turned out wonderful and looked beautiful! I will definately be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

    • on January 10, 2009

      This was very easy to make and turned out great. This bread had the perfect texture and was easy to slice. I left off brushing the bread with egg but other than that made as directed. Made for the I Recommend Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

    • on December 07, 2008

      I have only tried bread a couple of times in the past so I hesitated on trying this, but it turned out great. Easy for a beginner and I made it for the guys on football Sunday with meat sauce and it was a huge hit. Thanks Dee-- also per the reviews I used the water in the bottom of the stove and it helped a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      I've only tried a bite, and I'm already in love! I baked it on a pizza stone and followed another reviewer's recommendation of pouring water in the bottom of the oven. Fantastic crust, soft interior! I did use olive oil instead of the butter in the dough. Finally, I didn't have much time, so I did the second rise on the counter for about an hour. It rose very quickly. Thank you for a wonderful bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      This was my fifth loaf of bread I ever made. I made it into one big loaf and used it for our lunch sandwiches. My husband and kids loved it. Since I am a beginner I don't have a stand mixer. It was so tough to knead it together but it was worth all the work. I'm about to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      We loved this bread! Crusty on the outside and soft texture on the inside, just the way we like it. The smells in the kitchen were amazing while it was cooking. I couldn't wait to have a slice! Can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      What lovely loaves!! They turned out really nicely. I used some King Arthur Italian Bread flour and the dough just felt so silky and smooth. This was a completely different method of making bread for me - so I was a little nervous, but it was really easy and turned out perfectly. I was only able to refridgerate for 2 hours... Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Excellent bread, great texture, very easy to make. Family loved it, this is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 455.8
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    53%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 807.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 90.9 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites