Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Bread

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2010

      This was so easy... and so good! I followed the directions as is, except that I used "quick rise yeast", which meant that within an hour and a half (give or take) from start to finish, I had bread! I did not put the dough in the fridge. Really good! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      TERRIFIC BREAD! And I'm a big bread snob! this was amazing--great crust. A few things I did: 1) I didn't let it rise in the fridge, since my fridge was way too packed to allow two loaves of bread to rise in it. :lol: Next time, I'd like to see how it might rise with the lower temp in the fridge and will plan ahead to have fewer things in my fridge then. 2) I put a pan of water in the oven to humidify it when I started to preheat it to 425. 3) I baked this on my pizza stone. in order to do this, I had to "bend" the bread into a U-shape. (See picture!) This bread would look more authentic if it were a straight baguette shape, but I was constrained by my pizza stone. this was a great recipe, Dee!!! thank you for posting--I'll definitely make this more than one time! UPDATE: I have made this bread probably 7 or 8 times since my first review in June 2004, but felt the need to update this time. I did do the refrigerator slow rise this time for 6 hours, and it was ready in time for my 3:30 easter dinner (I had to get up early!) Also, I bought some cheap straight razors at the grocery store and found that my slashes were SOOOOO much better than with my sharpest knife....a good tip I picked up from another cooking site. Anyway,this is a terrific recipe and seems to be no-fail for all I've put it through in my varied attempts. Thanks again, Dee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      DELICIOUS!! I made two loaves, one to go with our dinner of Cheese Stuffed Shells, and Caesar salad and one to give to a friend for his birthday. After dinner I didn't want to give the second loaf away!!! :) It had a lovely crisp crust with a soft, chewy interior. I served it with Parmesan and Garlic Dipping Oil and it was the PERFECT accompaniment. The only thing I did differently was I used olive oil instead of peanut oil and I used my usual bulk yeast, 2 Tbls. of it. Make sure you watch the bread after adding the egg white. Mine browned FAST. The corn meal on the pan started smoking and burning by the end too but it didn't affect the bread. One other note, the prep time *doesn't* include rise time so make sure you figure that into your plans. An excellent recipe. I will be making this again! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      This bread is amazing, I love New York italien bread. This is the closest I have come to finding a recipe that is similar. I have tried complicated recipes simple ones this is by far the best! I used my bread machine to knead it. I have a Zojirush machine and I melted butter put it in bottom bread machine pan along with water , then flour , on top of the flour on one side I placed salt and sugar and yeast on the other side. When the machine was done I shaped the bread and then put it on cookie sheet w parchment paper then I placed a paper towel and let it rise for one hour. I brushed the bread with egg wash and put it In a 350degree oven. I bake the bread for 30minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2013

      I have made bread from this recipe dozens and dozens of times and it has NEVER FAILED to make the most wonderful loaf of bread. I use my stand mixer and knead the bread with the dough hook. I bake it at a lower temp in the oven, thought. I freeze the second loaf to enjoy another day. Would agree with njuniee's opinion that it is more like french bread . . but still GREAT. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      Wow! This bread is amazing! I was having company the other night and wanted a good bread to go with the lasagna I was making. This was perfect! Our guests kept eating it and have requested I bring some to our next get together. I am not an expert bread baker so for it to turn out so well says a lot about this recipe and the ease of it! One thing that I would mention is that when you cover the dough with plastic wrap, be sure to oil or put extra flour on the top of the dough. Mine ended up being a sticky mess when I went to uncover it. I just made another batch today and doubled it as it was gone way too fast the first time I made it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      I love this bread, comes close to grandma's from Sicily.
      I rise at room temp, be aware time is temp dependent, so learn to judge by size not time.
      After second rising I split in two, roll each piece out and twist around my index finger to make a circle. I then pinch outside piece to hold shape, and razor 3 cuts , one down each side a third of the way around,about 1inch deep..while still holding on your finger. I make these ( as grandma did) to make a round loaf with several "rolls" that can be broken off while steamy hot. This prevents compressing the hot bread if you try to cut it hot.
      Please note round loaves take 10 min more to bake. You can also do away with the cornmeal and pizza stone if you use well seasoned bread pans( I have my grandma' s 50 year old heavy pie tins that she had someone drill holes in the bottom). I place the loaves in them for the second rising after making the razor cuts above, and cover with dishcloths. Grandmas were made out of flour sacs....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      Not good... turned out like french bread and a led sinker to boot. Refridgerator rising is the issue. May try this again but will definitely not put in the refridgerator. Also, no need to use any more than 4 cups of flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      Very very good bread!! This was my first time making bread from scratch and it turned out great! Easy to follow!! Did have to adjust time but that's the case when baking anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      Wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      This is the first bread I've ever made and it was so so so easy and so so so good! I'm shocked that I can make bread! I opted to use the roasted garlic bulbs and doubled what you suggested (1 bulb per loaf) since I'm a garlic lover. Instead of mixing it in the dough i laid it on after rolling it out flat before shaping the loaves so that the bulbs retained their shape. Served it spread with pesto. yum yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      Easy and flexible. I converted it to a garlic bread. I didn't use the refrigerator nor did I knead the dough that long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      This is fabulous! At the suggestion of another reviewer, I baked mine in a circular springform pan, and got a perfectly round loaf that looked gorgeous. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Excellent. The next time I will roll it out a little smaller so it turns out more like a loaf of bread to slice for sandwiches. It was still good the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      Outstanding. My husband wanted fresh bread with my vodka sauce tonight and I was outside of the window on time in regard to having my bread maker make it. I went in search of a quick bread recipe and decided to try this with quick rising yeast. WONDERFUL! I only let this sit in the fridge for 25 minutes. Followed everything else as stated and it was AWESOME!! Way better than any bread machine recipe. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      I'm terrible with breads but this worked very well for me. I cut the recipe in half to make 1 loaf, using about 2 1/4 cups of flour before it wouldn't take any more. Very easy with great results. Made some great garlic bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      Absolutely loved this recipe. It was a big hit with my family. I took one roll and split it and made garlic bread with butter, fresh minced garlic, grated parmesan cheese and oregano. with a lot of picky people in my house this recipe is a keeper. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      No flash needed for my picture because a beam of light was shining down from the heavens, illuminating my masterpiece. Made for Soups and Breads Recipe Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      This is pretty good. It's the closest I've gotten to making Italian Bread similar to the bakery. And I've tried quite a few times with different recipes. I'll admit, I cheated and had my breadmaker mix the dough, then shaped & put in fridge before baking. Not too dense and nice crusty outside. It was so hard, I thought I'd overbaked it until I sliced into it. So don't be discouraged like I was when I first took it out of the oven. Also halved recipe and made into 2 small rounds, so might cut baking time by 5 minutes next time. Will try this one again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      This was so good! As I came back to write the review I realized I didn't follow the last part of the recipe. I stopped after just baking 20 minutes. I thought it was wonderful though! I did leave it in the oven a couple extra minutes because I made an underdone loaf once, and I wanted to be sure it was done. (Little did I know I took it out way too early.) I'm going to do it that way again though it turned out so well. I sprinkled the top of one loaf with parmesan cheese, garlic powder, and pepper. It is our favorite of the two. (especially right out of the oven. It was worth the burning fingers.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 455.8
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    53%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 807.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 90.9 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes