20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Poured all the ingredients in my kitchenaid mixer bowl and let go for 5 minutes with the dough hook @ speed 2, then followed remaining instructions and cooked as directed and this turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing ;)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeatrice June 28, 2010

First I must say, beautiful, tender, flavorful chewy bread, my friend. We loved it. I made 1/3 the recipe. I didn't have enough yeast to make more. What a great recipe, this is, even with my scaling down the recipe, the bread was amazing and tasted great. It was a lovely addition to our last Italian meal. Can't wait to make this again. Made for Culinary Quest 2014 for the Suitcase Gourmets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato August 27, 2014

Turned out great even though I made half for one loaf. Very good with our chicken marsala.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound August 22, 2014

Crispy exterior, soft interior, not a fussy or fiddly bread recipe either. I also used my KA stand up mixer in the same manner as another reviewer did. Made three loaves and served with gremolata butter and some homemade hummus, too! Prepared for CQ 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl August 20, 2014

Perfect bread if you ask me. Nice crust, great chew. I used my KA which made this a breeze. I toasted some up to have for lunch with bruschetta! This will be a favorite around here! Made for Culinary Quest 2014

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's August 18, 2014

I had fantastic results using this recipe. Bread turned out beautifully. This was my first attempt at making "from scratch" bread without using the ABM. Used my kitchen aid to mix the dough and followed the steps for the rest of the process. Thank you so much for posting . Can't wait to make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kippy2 February 19, 2013

Wow, this bread is so good! I mixed mine at a higher speed than most reviewers....2 seemed too slow, so I cranked it up to 4. After the dough came out of the KitchenAid, I followed the recipe as written. Baked 2 loaves on a stone for about 27 minutes. This was so easy to make, I don't think I need to buy bread anymore!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lmscraps August 14, 2012

Nothing beats the aroma of fresh home made bread. This loaf was delicious. As did some others, I used my KA on speed 2. I wasn't really watching the length of time, I just went by the appearance of the dough. I cut the recipe in half and made one loaf. Made for ZWT7

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario June 04, 2011

Y U P. This is a recipe that works from start to finish. Doesn't matter if you divide it or not...just a perfect recipe. I also used my KA, for the time of 5 minutes, speed 2 (as another reviewer suggested) and this produced a lovely dough. Not to wet, not to dry, perfect. I also used bread flour, and it worked beautifully. Thanks for posting, diner! Made for ZWT7

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 03, 2011

A lot of times I have to slightly adjust the amount of flour or water in a bread recipe, but this recipe was spot on. I used honey instead of sugar but that was only deviation from the recipe and it turned out great. Dough was easy to handle. Bread was moist with slight crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana June 02, 2011
Italian Bread