10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wowee, I can make delicious biscotti! Who knew?!? As soon as I smelled the anise in the batter I knew I was in for a treat. I unfortunately didn't use the slivered almonds (accidentally bought whole and didn't have time to chop them), but I don't think the recipe suffered for it. For some reason my batter REALLY spread out in the first 15 minutes, and while I was able to mush it back in the edges got a little brown. I think my butter might have been a bit too soft...but no matter! These taste and look fantastic, they have won the approval of my self-proclaimed biscotti-hating DH, and are now tucked in the freezer for adding to cookie gift baskets. Thanks for posting a keeper, Syd! Made for Healthy Choices ABC--because cookies are healthy for the soul ;)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian December 14, 2009

Holy cow! These are SO DELICIOUS! It is going to be VERY difficult to make any other cookies again! These are so perfect and so much better than any other biscotti I've ever had! PIsmo had an excellent suggestion about shaping the dough with a greased spatula - I found the dough sticky, too, and this tip was a real help! I used anise as per the recipe and am glad I did - it was delicious! I also made half a batch, but am sorry that I didn't make the whole batch - they're so good! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe, Syd! Made for Think Pink, Fall 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen October 25, 2009

I can't keep it secret. Word has it around my house that this biscotti is the best! A delicious recipe with a fine crumb and chock-filled with cranberries and nuts. Made for Everyday Is a Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng June 06, 2009

These are excellent and gone now lol :) I got these from Syd in the Holiday Cookie Swap. Loved the cranberries and all the nuts yum, very buttery too. Delicious, I need to make a batch of these now myself! Thanks Syd!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midwest Maven December 11, 2008

I make Italian Cookie Trays at holiday time and I have been searching for a good, easy Biscotti recipe for a long time. THIS IS IT!Almost everyone that received a tray said that the Biscotti was the best they have had. I do not normally care for biscotti and even I love it! I will make this every year . Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie-1221 January 17, 2008

I followed Cookiedog's lead and halved the recipe (mostly because I had a few other baked goods in the house) and also used almonds in place of the pistachios. I agree that these are FABULOUS - I love biscotti but had never tried making them before - these are fairly easy and so tasty! Mine aren't quite as pretty as the picture, but taste great - I'll make them again and serve to friends!! Thanks for another great cranberry recipe, SYD!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva May 05, 2007

Wonderful Biscotti! I halved the recipe and used chopped almonds in place of the pistachio nuts. I formed my "loaves" right on the baking sheet. You will be proud to serve these to friends!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog February 22, 2007

My only regret is that I halved this recipe! I love biscotti but some are so darned crunchy that it's work to eat them - NOT these! Other than tweaking to accommodate my lack of anise extract (used a little almond extract & added in a dash of ground star anise with the flour), I made just as written. As mentioned in another review, the dough is QUITE sticky to work with but worth the effort. Lovely outcome! Thanks for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie February 15, 2007

I don't remember ever actually having biscotti before let alone making it myself. This turned out great and I could hardly wait to eat it when it came out of the oven. I also halved the recipe. I loved the anise in it and think that I might add even more next time. I will also try using almond extract instead of the vanilla as well. I didn't shape the dough with my hands because it was pretty sticky, just plopped it down on the baking sheet and shaped it with a greased spatula. Thanks Syd!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pismo February 02, 2007

I reduced this recipe by half, omitted the anise and use 1 teaspoon almond extract, they turned out wonderful! thanks Sidney Mike!...Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen February 02, 2007
Italian Biscotti Al La Syd