21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just made this tonight and everyone loved it. Started South Beach this week and this was a great meal for phase one. Hubby isn't doing the diet, but he enjoyed the meat in a sandwich as a french dip. The juice and peppers are really a tasty combination to the meat. He added some cheese to his. I plan to make this again since there were plenty of leftovers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vandermark September 26, 2010

Wow! We loved this recipe. Packed with flavour! I was afraid to put in the whole jar of pepperocinis so I put about 2/3 of the jar. Next time I will fearlessly dump in the whole jar. The peppers make the difference.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaColorado Johnson June 15, 2009

Without a doubt the best recipe i've tried so far at zaar!! I have made it 3 times for myself and friends. Wonderful flavor. I serve it on hoagie rolls. This is so easy. A real crowd pleaser. I can't wait to make it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilynn July 31, 2003

This is a very tasty and easy recipe. I used all listed ingredients except used 1/2 t. garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. Also, I think my crockpot has higher temperatures than others. I only needed 4 hours to cook a 3 lb. beef brisket, and it was a little overdone. 3.5 would have been good for my machine. Also, I think I will try it with frozen bell peppers next time. I put half the spice mix on the beef and let the other half get washed into the juice. Next time, I would put the peppers and juice in first, and then pour the spices just on the meat. We couldn't eat the juice (no bread), and I wouldn't want to waste the flavor next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie's Mom November 14, 2007

My husband said I need to give you 5 stars... so here it is. I love and easy recipes that also very tasty, and DH got his Italian Beeef so we're both happy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta August 28, 2006

Excellent. I had a rump roast in my fridge that I needed to use up, and out-of-town company. We were going camping, so I threw it into the crockpot the night before. It took about 5 seconds to make, cooked it all night and served it on Italian rolls. I didn't even add the oregano or italian seasoning, just beef, peppers, and garlic. No muss, no fuss. Perfect, and everyone loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess June 11, 2005

Decent easy recipe. I didn't like the idea of putting the peppers in with the stems on them and so I cut them off and sliced half the peppers open and scraped out the seeds to reduce the heat in the finished product. It made good sandwiches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
czl March 08, 2012

This is amazing...our fav Italian Beef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Fielding March 03, 2012
Italian Beef in the Crock Pot