Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Baked Chicken and Pasta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Baked Chicken and Pasta

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 10, 2009

      This recipe was quite good. I added a lot more pasta then one cup and added Italian seasoning. The second time I made it I also added artichoke hearts and it tasted great. I also added much more mozzarella the second time around since I love cheese. I really enjoyed the taste of the fresh parsley. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      This was great. I think you have to really make the sauce your own, then "flavorless and runny" won't be an option. I don't think just dumping canned tomatoes and other ingredients on the dish is the best way (Step 7). Also it's important to really season your chicken, as chicken breasts have almost no taste on their own. I season with with kosher salt and then pepper, and then added some classic dried Italian herbs. DELICIOUS! I will keep this one on hand whenever I'm at a loss as to what to do with chicken breasts. And since I put up lots of jars of my own special sauce, it's a quick go-to. Another added note.....since mozzarella tends not to have much flavor, using an herbed or garlic one will help with flavor. Even try switching out for an equally delicious melty cheese (I'd stay away from cheddar personally.) There's nothing I've ever made of Giada's that hasn't come out perfect. She's the best. Thanks for posting. ADDED NOTE: I'm not sure if this recipe was word-for-word Giada (ie, the way she would do it), but I cooked my chicken til browned and almost cooked through, and my pasta to slightly before al dente, because they're both going to continue to cook in a 400 degree oven for 30 additional minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      I have made this a few times now after borrowing Giada's cookbook from the library. It is indeed excellent. I have made it using Giada's Marinara Sauce in place of the diced tomatoes and it was great. I also have made it without the chicken because I forgot to put it in once and that was still good. So, you can change this up pretty easily and still have a great dinner. Thx for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This is excellent but I wouldn't expect anything less from one of Giada's recipes. I made it as written, using acini de pepe for the pasta. I added a half teaspoon of Italian herb blend since I could only get plain canned tomatoes but I think next time I will leave it out as I could taste the rosemary too much. My husband just loved this so I will be making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      This was fabulous. I used the small macarroni noodles in mine. I also cut out the onion, because we don't care for them much. My husband loved it and it made plenty, so we had leftovers for lunch. This is a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I loved this recipe! I didn't do the onions, b/c we both aren't fans. I bought a can of diced tomatoes that was already flavored with oregano, basil and garlic. And I used little pasta shells instead. It was delicious! I made 2 small casseroles, one where I added some regular jarred sauce to make it saucier (I like it better that way!) Both were excellent. Definitely broil at the end to make sure the breadcrumbs get browned. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      We enjoyed this pasta dish. I didn't have pastina but used tiny alphabet noodles. Worked very well in the dish. This would be a good candidate for oamc if the crumb topping was left until reheating. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Excellent flavour! Everyone, including the 16 month old babies, loved this recipe. Very easy to make, and delicious. Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      This is delicious!!!! Made for Fall PAC 07. My 15 yo DS just loved this meal. I followed the recipe as directed except that I added about 1/2 cup cottage cheese and added an additional 1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese. This is nice as you can make it up earlier in the day and just pop it in oven later for dinner. Thanks for a great recipe Peyton&KaylansMama!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2014

      Great base recipe. My family likes food w/ a bit more pizzazz so this first time around wasn't an instant favorite. However, I can see how to jazz this up for our palate. Again, this is a great base recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

    • on February 16, 2012

      My family liked this and it was very easy. I used a pound of pasta and doubled the other stuff. I used italian style tomatoes, but next time I will add an extra can because it was a little dry. I crushed up seasoned croutons for the top and they were super tasty. I called this a deconstructed chicken parmesean. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      This is a great easy recipe. I had some left over rotisserie chicken used it in this recipe. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Add a little seasoning when cooking the chicken with seasoning salt(Lawry's). It still didn't taste like a great dish, but still good the meat was very tender. I think next time I'll add Italian dressing when mixing the pasta and chicken next time that might add some pazzazz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I made this recipe the night before last and I thought it was boring. It didn't taste bad just lacking something. It did taste very much like a chicken pizza. While I was putting the ingredients into the casserole dish I tasted it then and thought it needed something. So I added some cheddar cheese that didn't help. I thought adding the tomatoes with juice made it runny. The chicken was good, but I think the Mozt cheese was too bland and mushy. I usually Like Giadas dishes, but this one lacked something. I keep trying to get my adult children to take the leftovers, but they aren't interested. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This was a disappointment -- the proportions seem kind of wrong and the sauce was flavorless and runny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I doubled this for a church potluck. It was well-received, but not "special" enough to warrant 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This was great. I made it just as posted and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Baked Chicken and Pasta

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 251.0
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    65%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 35.2 mg
    11%
    Sodium 605.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Italian pastina

    chicken breasts

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites