Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Italian Anise Cookies With Icing and Sprinkles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Anise Cookies With Icing and Sprinkles

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2008

      I have been trying to get this cookie right for three years now. I had almost given up. As an Irish girl, I have ZERO experience with this cookie. I had never had it before and didn't know how it was supposed to taste. The first time I made them (from another recipe) they were ROCK HARD and so dry. Awful. My husband tried them on my first attempt and said "Yep, this is the taste...but they are a little bit...erm...drier than I recall..." I was slightly defeated and ready to give up. However, my step daughter (VERY Italian on her mother's side) dearly loves these cookies. She asks for them every year. This recipe was my saving grace! My ten year old step daughter declared them "EXACTLY LIKE GRANDMA'S!!!" Which is high praise indeed as her grandma is well known for her "sprinkle cookies". I ended up using almond extract instead of Anise. That's how it's done here in New Jersey so I've been told. The cookies came out fluffy and cake like and so delicious. I'm thrilled to have been able to grant my darling step daughter's Christmas wish for these cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      These are pretty close to my grandma's. If you want the authentic secret, forget about the extract and use real Anisette liqueur. I'm sure you could use Amaretto liqueur if that's your thing, but Anisette is the right call for these cookies and biscotti. The Amaretto is for the Cannolis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      This recipe tastes EXACTLY the way my Sicilian neighbor used to make them. Tender, flavorful, and oh-so-pretty. I have Celiac, so I made these gluten-free - I used a combo of brown rice flour, potato starch and tapioca starch (all common in gluten-free baking) in place of the all-purpose flour. I also added 1/2 a teaspoon of xanthan gum to the batter recipe. The cookies are divine! No one knows they are gluten-free - they just taste simply PERFECT. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      These cookies weren't difficult to bake (and I am NO baker by ANY means)and everyone loved them, except one person who thought they were too cakey.

      I did double the amount of anise to 1/4 tsp in the icing and it was fabulous.

      As she recommended, I used her exact measurements of milk and sugar for the icing and after each batch came out of the oven I microwaved the whole bowl for ten seconds and then it was nice and thin. I found I had to hold the tray of cookies with my left hand, remove a cookie with my right, dip it into the icing, put the cookie on the rack, and then sprinkle it with the little dots. I think if you dunk them all into the icing, by the time you get around to putting the dots on, the icing would be too hard for the dots to stick.

      Also, the recipe did NOT take nearly the 3 "possible" cups of flour. It couldn't even take 2.5. I ended up throwing out about 1/4 of flour because the dough was quite dry and I used all three TBS of milk.

      Next time I'll use 2 1/4 cups of flour and probably only 2 tsp of baking powder. Maybe they'll be a little less cakey. Not that cakey is a bad thing. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      I usually don't like cookies that are this "cakey" but I really enjoy this recipe. I substituted with almond milk and used powdered anise with almond extract.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      WOW! This recipe is a big keeper!
      Thanks a lot for posting it!
      I prepared the green ones with almond aroma (in the glaze I used powdered sugar, Amaretto and color) and the red ones with anise seeds ground (in the glaze powdered sugar, ouzo and red color).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      This is like being a kid at my Nunny's (grandmother's) all over again!!! She made these every christmas, and the smell of Anise reminds me of her. We made these today, one batch Anise, one, Almond, and we did one lemon. All were great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      These are truly exceptional cookies and well worth the effort to follow the directions as presented. The cookie itself is light and pillowy with a soft cake inside and delicate exterior (neither crispy nor chewy). The anise is present enough to please those of us who are devotees but gentle enough not to discourage others from enjoying. Based on the results, I am thinking of adding these to my Christmas trays using white icing and an assortment of themed sprinkles. I made my dough today and bake three cookies as testers. The rest of the dough is frozen for baking closer to Easter. Will report back on that experiment. Thanks Cookin'Diva.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2014

      Great recipe and a classic Christmas cookie. Easy to make. Do not overcook and be mindful of your specific oven temp. <br/>Using your advice on the "brownie batter appearance" of the dough, I just about doubled the milk. This creates luscious looking batter. <br/>With a little bit of difficulty, I loaded the batter into a pastry bag with a wide tip. It was so much easier to pipe them out. <br/>Be very careful of Anise Extract. It is much stronger the vanilla and almond with which we are familiar. A 1/8 teaspoon for the icing is appropriate. <br/>For those of you with a Kitchen Aid mixers, please know a double batch fits well in a 4 qt bowl. <br/>This is a superb cookie, light as air, very attractive on a mixed platter, and unusual enough to garner attention.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2014

      I made these cookies for Christmas. I made two batches. The first with anise and the second with almond flavoring. Both turned out delicious. I love the cake like texture. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. I am sure that it is one that I will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2014

      the secret to the cookies is to DO NOT overcook. The minute the bottom get brown pull them out of the oven. Check frequesntly! they will be perfectly cake like. These are on the desert table every holiday. And use real butter, No substitutes. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2014

      Thank you Cookin'Diva! For years I looked for an "anisette" (that's what our family calls them!) cookie recipe that tastes great, and now I've found one. My old recipe does never came out as great as these! Moist, tasty, and just like the Italian cookies our grandmothers made years ago! I brought them to a dinner party last night and they were a hit! I already put this in my recipe box! Yay! Thanks again Cookin'Diva, I now have a "specialty" dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2014

      I think T..his cookie xxxxxx (deleted by editor). U said 2 1/2 cups of flour but u might need 3?!!! What's up with that for one thing. I followed this recipe to the T. Had to wing it after I just tasted flour. Wasted time and money

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      These cookies are soft and delicious. I warmed up the icing and dipped the cookies. Make sure you apply the sprinkles quickly because the icing dries very fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      These are fabulous! The directions were very specific and my cookies turned out perfectly. My Italian mom remembers these from her childhood -- thank for you allowing me to bring back a precious memory for her!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      I made these cookies this year for my neighborhood Xmas cookie swap & the compliments are still rolling in. They are soft, delicious & easy to put together. I will add a little more anise extract at least to the icing next time because we like the flavor. I used a small ice-cream scoop to drop the cookies on the parchment & got 32 cookies. I also used the suggestion to microwave the icing if it got too thick. Will definitely be making these again - thanks tremendously!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      This is the 2nd year trying to make these cookies (my hubby's favorite growing up). I tried a different recipe last year which the hubby said was great! But I tried this recipe this year and I think they turned out Great with this recipe!! This recipe is Perfection!! Last year's recipe that I tried said to drizzle the icing on with a spoon. Then I read this one, dip them into the icing, A Lot easier to dip than drizzle!! I would definitely recommend trying this recipe to anyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

    • on November 28, 2013

      Family Favorite!! I use the anise oil instead extract--better flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      Great recipe! I used vanilla extract instead of anise extract because I don't like the taste of anise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Anise Cookies With Icing and Sprinkles

    Serving Size: 1 (25 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 89.2
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    28%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 54.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes