15 Reviews

This is absolutely delicious. My husband, Huey, couldn't get enough. I made one change, however. Since I use brown rice, which takes longer to cook, i cooked the rice separately until it was almost done. Then I put everything together and heated it all up. I like it with a dollop of Yogurt.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SherryKaraoke February 01, 2002

I''ve made this recipe several times now, and I like it better each time! It tastes great served warm with a cucumber raita or plain chilled curds. I use a lot more onions than the recipe calls for too. Thanks for sharing this Mirjam! :)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu December 27, 2001

I certainly am not a vegetarian but I do like rice and lentils. This made a great meal. I stuffed some in a tortilla with BBQ sauce and hot sauce and loved it!! Am looking forward to the leftovers at a later date (froze the leftovers). Thanks Mirjam.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo July 25, 2002

I made this this afternoon and served it with cucumber-onion raita and garlic pickle. It is very filling and quite nice. I added more than a dash of pepper, used vegetable broth with onion and used 5 onions in all. Parley and pepper did make a diference to this dish. I think this dish would also go well with mango pickle or lime pickle as well.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani April 01, 2002

This was delicious! I took the other reviewers' advice and doubled the onion, used more cumin, and used about 7-8 cloves of garlic. I also toasted some slivered almonds and tossed them in the stew the last 10 minutes or so. At the last minute, I thought some mushrooms would be yummy too, so we sauteed some quickly and added them as well. I will add both the almonds and the mushrooms every time I make this dish. Awesome! We served the dish with a heaping plate full of steamed veggies. One other tip would be that if you want to watch the amount of fat, you can sautee the onions and garlic in a little bit of veggie broth...No oil at all needed that way. Thanks, Mirj, for a fabulous recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iforrest2000 March 05, 2009

This was great!! I took the suggestions of other reviewers and increased all spices, using 2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp regular ground black pepper. I used minute brown rice, so I allowed the lentils to cook on thier own for 30 min, since they would only spend 10 min cooking with the brown rice. The parsley really adds something, so I used about 1/4 cup of it. Bon appetit!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aquamaryne December 17, 2008

Tasty enough to make an acceptable meal for non-vegetarians. I reduced the amount of rice a bit to cut down the white starch level for diabetics. The parsley would have probably helped but my garden ran out and I don't pay out of season prices for it. We served it with a green salad and some good bread. Scooping up a bit of the lentil mix along with a bit of salad was a very good combination.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3KillerBs November 29, 2008

Good, tasty, cheap. I also had to add much more cumin and garilc so that it had taste, but when I did, it was really good. even good leftover and reheated. Not the most beautiful food in the world, but versatile and healthy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha June 11, 2008
Israeli Rice and Lentil Stew with Cumin and Garlic