Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Israeli Rice and Lentil Stew with Cumin and Garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Israeli Rice and Lentil Stew with Cumin and Garlic

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2002

      This is absolutely delicious. My husband, Huey, couldn't get enough. I made one change, however. Since I use brown rice, which takes longer to cook, i cooked the rice separately until it was almost done. Then I put everything together and heated it all up. I like it with a dollop of Yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2001

      I''ve made this recipe several times now, and I like it better each time! It tastes great served warm with a cucumber raita or plain chilled curds. I use a lot more onions than the recipe calls for too. Thanks for sharing this Mirjam! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      I certainly am not a vegetarian but I do like rice and lentils. This made a great meal. I stuffed some in a tortilla with BBQ sauce and hot sauce and loved it!! Am looking forward to the leftovers at a later date (froze the leftovers). Thanks Mirjam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2002

      I made this this afternoon and served it with cucumber-onion raita and garlic pickle. It is very filling and quite nice. I added more than a dash of pepper, used vegetable broth with onion and used 5 onions in all. Parley and pepper did make a diference to this dish. I think this dish would also go well with mango pickle or lime pickle as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      This was delicious! I took the other reviewers' advice and doubled the onion, used more cumin, and used about 7-8 cloves of garlic. I also toasted some slivered almonds and tossed them in the stew the last 10 minutes or so. At the last minute, I thought some mushrooms would be yummy too, so we sauteed some quickly and added them as well. I will add both the almonds and the mushrooms every time I make this dish. Awesome! We served the dish with a heaping plate full of steamed veggies. One other tip would be that if you want to watch the amount of fat, you can sautee the onions and garlic in a little bit of veggie broth...No oil at all needed that way. Thanks, Mirj, for a fabulous recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

    • on December 23, 2009

    • on December 17, 2008

      This was great!! I took the suggestions of other reviewers and increased all spices, using 2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp regular ground black pepper. I used minute brown rice, so I allowed the lentils to cook on thier own for 30 min, since they would only spend 10 min cooking with the brown rice. The parsley really adds something, so I used about 1/4 cup of it. Bon appetit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Tasty enough to make an acceptable meal for non-vegetarians. I reduced the amount of rice a bit to cut down the white starch level for diabetics. The parsley would have probably helped but my garden ran out and I don't pay out of season prices for it. We served it with a green salad and some good bread. Scooping up a bit of the lentil mix along with a bit of salad was a very good combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Good, tasty, cheap. I also had to add much more cumin and garilc so that it had taste, but when I did, it was really good. even good leftover and reheated. Not the most beautiful food in the world, but versatile and healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      I LOVED this. I could eat it every day. Even my hubby, who doesn't get excited about not-meat meals, liked it. I added tons more garlic (about a whole head) and probably more than tripled the cumin-- we like things flavorful. This is a great recipe, and very adaptable to your own tastes. Thanks so much! Will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Delicious!!!!This will be a regular meal for my family. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      This was very tasty; the kids both loved it. I thought it was too thick. I doubled the cumin. I'd add more onions & garlic next time, too. It was a nice change from the heavy meat based meals we had for the holidays. Made for NA*ME Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      I made this tonight for dinner. It is very similar to another recipe I fell in love with, "Palestinian Lentils and Rice" but the preperation is simpler and the oil is significantly less. I think I prefer this recipe. I served it in corn tortillas lightly fried andwith avocados radishes cilantro and spinach. Family gobbled it up. MMMM...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      I'd recommend against trying to scale this recipe down, and if you do, use more of the water in the first step when cooking the lentils. I say this with the smell of burned lentils (ugh) still wafting through my apartment. Once I got it to work, though, it was quite good. Sauteed onions make anything taste so much more complex than the sum of its ingredients. This is a very economical dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Israeli Rice and Lentil Stew with Cumin and Garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (217 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 366.4
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    18%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.9 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites