Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Israeli Breakfast Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Israeli Breakfast Salad

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2003

      This was delicious. Very refreshing and simple to make. It reminded me of a cucumber yogurt soup that I like to get in Indian restaurants. The lemon juice gives the cheeses that yogurty sort of tang. I know I will make this again too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2003

      I made this to take part in Mirj's Jewish mother cook-a-thon. I didn't eat it for breakfast, but for lunch instead. The feta cheese gave this a nice tang, and the cottage cheese made the dish very creamy in texture. I imagine this would work with yogurt as well. Very easy to make. Thanks for sharing a little bit of Israel with me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      This salad is wonderful!! Bright, fresh flavors, easy-breezy prep, just a delight all the way around. I doubled the recipe for our group and one change I might make next time (and there will be a next time!!) is to not double up on the lemon juice and olive oil when doubling the recipe. It makes it just a tad soupy. But, the flavors were awesome!! One person remarked during dinner how "refreshing" the salad was. And totally yummy, too! Thanks Miraklegirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Add me to the accolades!! This is great! I halved the recipe. I did not want it soupy at all, so I just used a drizzle of olive oil, and instead of lemon juice, I used lemon pepper and some diced spanish olives to it. I also used a seasoned feta..with sun dried tomatoes and basil. I topped it all with a sprinkling of dill. I found myself disappointed in the fact that I only made half!!! I will make this over and over again. It's that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

    • on April 14, 2008

      I've made this countless times and I've started to switch it around -- i used yogurt instead of cottage cheese, omitted the oil or green pepper, etc. It's still wonderful no matter what I do to it. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      Funny that this is an Israeli dish. We had a dish very similar to this growing up in South Georgia (USA). It is great for Potlucks too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2005

      Very yummy! i used feta cheese and added a few green olive and 1/2 of a tomato. Didn't use green pepper. It made a great b-fast/lunch combo. Warning: I ate all of it in 2 days with No help:) I guess it is one of the better thing to eat too much of.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      This salad was excellent and very refreshing! I had it for lunch. I use a red pepper instead of a green pepper otherwise didn't change a thing! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2004

      I like cottage cheese to start the day and am always looking for new ways to incorporate it into breakfast, so I DID actually eat this for breakfast. It's a very pleasant blend of flavors and will from hereon out have a place in my early morning rotation. I may sometimes add slivered almonds for nutritional reasons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Israeli Breakfast Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.4
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    73%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 20.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 320.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh mint

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes