14 Reviews

Very Tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacia_ May 11, 2010

DH gave this at least 6 stars. I made this exactly as per the recipe & think it was perfect. Very quick & easy to make - can't wait to have this again. Made for ZWT5 Zingo by a Hell's Kitchen Angel.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl June 14, 2009

Wow, so many of my favorite flavors in the same place. Butter, brown sugar, bananas are balanced by the allspice, rum, allspice, fresh lime juice and pineapple. Sooo delicious, and so easy!!! Big thumbs up!!!! Made for ZWT5, Bodacious Brickhouse Babes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yogachef June 13, 2009

May I just say DELICIOUS? I cut the recipe in half because I have been making too many sweets this tour! Glad I didn't not make this one though. Thnx for posting, LoriInIndiana. Made for ZWT5 for RRR

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter June 11, 2009

Yummy dessert! I made this as directed except I made one portion and served it over chocolate ice cream, lol. Very easy and good. Thanks LoriInIndiana for a great treat. Made for ZWT5 2009 Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme June 10, 2009

This was delicious. My husband & I both love pineapple so I used a fresh, sweet pineapple. However, we both thought that we would have liked this as well if not better without the pineapple. It added a bit of sour (tart) or something that detracted from the overall taste with the banana. It was very flavorful as is & we could easily have eaten more. Thanks for a great recipe Lori. Made for ZWT5 Zingo for Las Mistico Magicos Sirenas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie #6 June 10, 2009

This was so good. DD loved it also. I used grape seed oil instead of butter to be dairy free and replaced the rum with fancy molasses and an extra squeeze of lime and dash of orange juice. I used sea salt instead of kosher salt and unlike the previous reviewers I did use fresh pineapple and would definitely recommend it. I used unsweetened coconut instead of sweetened. I served this alone and it was wonderful. I can imagine how good it would be on ice cream. I will make this without the rum but with a substitute for it including molasses again and I would also like to try it with freshly grated coconut. Photo posted. Thanks. Made for ZWT5 ZINGO for Cooks With Dirty Faces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat June 08, 2009

Only complaint I heard was that there wasn't enough. I used canned pinneapple and served over vanilla ice cream. Thanks for the tip on toasting the coconut in a skillet . . . duh, why didn't I think of that! Thanks Lori for sharing! Made for ZWT5 ZINGO

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench June 08, 2009

A person could get into trouble with this dessert! It's soooo good, and so easy. I made it for the ZWT Caribbean beverage challenge, and boy was it worth it. We served it over vanilla ice cream. I had to use tinned pineapple because I couldn't find any good fresh ones. Still good th ough, don't let that turn you off! Thanks for a great treat!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner June 04, 2009

We weren't done with this when my husband asked when would I be making this again! Made for the Carribean Tablesetting Challenge, Zwt5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive June 04, 2009
Islands Bananas Foster