Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Island Mango Tilapia Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Island Mango Tilapia

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2011

      A great 10 star recipe, full of taste and pow! I upped the jalapeno a bit, because we love spicy here, and this was totally wonderful both in taste, and as pretty as a button to serve for company. Mango's are just so darn delish, this really is such a balanced taste, perfect in every way! Thanks, Sharon! Made for ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      This has a very different sauce than I am used to using on fish, but it is very tasty. Next time I will up the chiles and garlic, I thought it would be spicer. Also, it makes a huge amount of marinade, enough for at least two meals, might try it on chicken breasts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      I used Jumbo Shrimp with this sauce and grilled it, then topped it with the sauce. Everyone loved it. and oh yea, I added a quarter cup off coconut to the sauce recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      This really good. I used a red chile instead of jalapeno and grilled the tilapia.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      A fruity fish sauce. This is probably a good dish for some people, but just turned out to be not to our taste. The mango texture, especially in a cooked puree, was uncomfortable, and the flavors were muddled rather than complementary. It would be interesting to know more of the background of this dish - the "sour orange" (orange juice and acid) and thyme flavor I associate with cuban tastes - there must have been some spanish colonial transfer?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      pretty good!! i pumped it up with some ginger and red pepper flakes after tasting it. marinated for an hour, and then grilled it outside on a flame. I'm not sure the marinade did much for the fish as a marinade, but it was stellar as a topping! I served it with cilantro black beans and sliced baked sweet potato. Next time I might just grill the fish seasoned only with dry ingredients so it is nice and carmelized, then use this recipe as a topping for the fish and beans! Thanks so much for sharing...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      This was good. I used 2 mangoes and cider vinegar and no shallots (I've never seen those in a market here). I thought it was a pretty good sauce and a very healthy way of preparing fish. Made for ZWT3.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      Very good recipe. I love tilapia. This was an unusual and fun recipe to make and eat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      So easy and simply devine. I added a small amount of ginger which added to the tropical flavors of this fish. Also used a white balsamic vinegar to maintain the orange hue while including balsamic which I prefer to cider vinegar. There is tons of sauce here so next time I may reserve some to prepare with chicken. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Great recipe! The sauce really adds a lot of flavor to this dish! Thanks for sharing it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      The family LOVED it. I think this would go great with sweet potatoes that are slightly seasoned.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      Wow!! Absolutely fantastic recipe! I made this for company last night using Halibut as that is all we had, and it was devoured. Thanks so much for a delicious way to prepare fish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2005

      Ten star dressing. I've made lots of mango salsas which use more or less the same ingredients and I think this is probably better than any of them (including my own). I baked cod with the dressing on it. Can't wait to use the rest of it tomorrow night on some black beans and rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2005

      This was excellent! I had a little less then 2 cups of mango, and I used Italian seasoning as I was out of just thyme. I served it over pearl barley which was a lovely contrast. A nice tangy dressing complimented the fish. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2004

      OK this is a recipe that I didn't read the directions! I just put all the marinade into the vita mix and pureed. Placed in fridge to chill while I pan fried the lightly seasoned fish stove top. And served on a pool of the "dressing." Yes, I said dressing! This was Fabulous! My DH had and still doesn't know there was 2 mangos in this dressing. This fish would be great served on a bed of wilted spinach or fresh baby greens. But this recipe does make a lot of marinade for the amount of fish. So save some on the side for your salads. Sharon This will most definitely be made aging the way the directions state. Thanks Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Island Mango Tilapia

    Serving Size: 1 (331 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 255.8
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    19%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 85.0 mg
    28%
    Sodium 237.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 12.8 g
    51%
    Protein 35.3 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites