Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Island Mango Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Island Mango Bread

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2012

      Great recipe - it gets eaten so fast! First time I did not chop the mango small enough... oops!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      great recipe, used it for overripe mangoes and added a little toasted coconut glaze on top. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      Went fast, very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      Made this the other day to use up some slightly-past-prime mangoes that I had in the fridge. I omitted the raisins because I'm not really a fan, and I used some Malibu coconut rum instead of the rum extract (didn't have any). I was a tad worried that it wasn't going to turn out because it looked as though it was threatening to spill over onto the oven rack while it was baking, but it puffed up nicely and turned out just fine. I had to bake it for about 1 hour and 20 minutes for it to be done in the middle, but I didn't have to foil the edges (they browned nicely, but they weren't burnt at all). This was good fresh out of the oven, but it was spectacular the next day -- I toasted thick slices of it in my toaster oven, and spread them with Orange Butter -- yum! I'll definitely be making this again when I've got stray mangoes lying around, thanks for posting! Made for the All You Can Cook Buffet tag event

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      Made a double batch and got 6 - 3.5x7" loaves......3 had raisins. This recipe is moist and yummy. The coconut really comes through. Although I used all mango, I am clear it could be augmented with banana, peach, nectarine etc if you did not have enough mango. I had to coconut or rum extract so I used vanilla extract and rum. Oh yeah, BUTTER not margarine...taste the difference! One hour was just perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      I made 1 medium loaf and 8 muffins, I don't like my big loaf pan. I was a shy short of 1.5 cups mango so I added a very small peach skin and all. I mixed the wet ingredients and let them sit while I showered before I added the dry thinking it might be good for the raisins. Very nice muffin/quick bread thanks! I hope my kids enjoy it for snack time. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      I made this with 3 small very over ripe mangos which I pureed with my hand blender. I did not have any sour cream so I used some buttermilk instead. I did not have any rum flavoring or raisins so left them out and added a bit more coconut to make up for the raisins. I made 2 medium loaves which I baked for an hour at 350. The loaves turned out moist, very flavorful and tastey!! Next time I would like to try soaking some raisins in rum and adding them to the batter. This is a marvelous way to use up over ripe mango....if there is any left I am going to freeze a loaf :)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I made this bread as I had a mango and some sour cream to use up. I found that the directions were very vague with this recipe and it seemed that each cook interpret it a different way. I used butter, Splenda instead of sugar, left out the coconut and rum extract (as I didn't have them) and use amber rum. 1-1/2 cups of chopped mango equaled 1 large mango. The bread was very moist and was gone in a day. I did not rate this as I had changed the recipe quite a bit. I would do this recipe again if I had a ripe mango that needed to be used up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I like the texture of this bread because it is moist and I like the ease of the recipe. The flavor of it tastes better once it is cool IMHO. I had everything except the rum extract. My family loves this bread and gave this recipe a 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      What a divine bread this makes! I love all of the flavors this recipe has and it is a great way to cook mango. I added some walnuts to my bread, I like a lot of texture and this bread has it all! Thanks for sharing =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      Amazing! Everyone loved it! It was easy to make. The flavors were wonderful. I am definitely making it again. Thank you for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      This recipe made the most wonderful, moist, flavorful muffins ever. I was really scared when I put them in the oven because the rum extract smell was overwhelming. I tasted just a touch of the batter and it tasted really strong in it too. I went ahead and put them in the oven anyway. I ended up making 12 regular size muffins and 12 smaller muffins(only 1/2 full instead of 3/4 full) for the kids snacks. They turned out wonderful and I can hardly taste the rum flavor now. I will make these over and over again. I did not however taste much mango so next time I think I will cut out the raisins and add more mango.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      This bread was amazing!!! I did not include raisins since I don't really like them, but this was the kind of bread I was looking for. It definitely has the "island" flavor! I made two batches and made one regular size loaf and 4 mini loaves to give to friends. I will definitely be making this bread again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      Yummy bread. I used mango puree and mango flavoring and made it into 14 muffins. Baked for about 30 minutes. Also, I usually only have dessicated coconut on hand usually, so I used that. The mango and coconut combo goes on great. next time, I will put a little more of mango food flavoring as the mango taste was not pronounced. Also added cashews instead of raisins - a substitution suggested by my husband. It was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      I made this wonderful recipe today and it is delish! Next time I just might add a few chopped pecans to it, although it is tasty just the way the recipe was posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      My house smelled sooo good while this was cooking. It was a very moist and delicious bread. You did not say at what temperature to cook it, but I used 350. I shared this with a friend who wants a copy of the recipe to use up some mangos that she has. Thanks for a creative and good recipe! I am sorry that I did not get this made while the contest was still in progress.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      I'm glad that I left it a few days before writing this because on day 1 I was't too sure about this recipe. This was because it didn't turn out as expected (I allowed myself to be mislead by the word 'bread' in the title - I know, I should have realised by the other ingredients and reference to muffins). But on day 2 we thought this was wonderful. Very moist and flavoursome. I bet it would make very good muffins too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Delicious - I love coconut. - this recipe wins favour and makes a lovely snack, a 'tweener, or lunch box addition. - the combination of ingredients in Island Mango Bread was made into muffins, and resulted in a moist, "easy to have more than just one". Well done, Chef. Deserves my favourite Rating, 5 thumbs up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      This recipe would have got 5 stars if one very important thing wasn't missing - the baking temperature! The cake was moist and really very-nicely flavoured. Two small changes that I don't think compromised the integrity of the recipe. I can't get coconut extract in Greece, so I used almond extract. I realize the cake had less 'tropical' flavour but it was, nonetheless, delicious. Also, my mango was really, REALLY ripe, and did not cut nicely, so I decided to puree it. Worked out fine but probably lent a slightly darker appearance to the cake. I decided to bake it like one of my pound cakes, seeing as no temperature was indicated. I do my cakes at a very low oven temperature, 160C-320F, and my cake took 70 minutes to test 'toothpick clean' at this temp. I did have to tent it for atleast the last 20 minutes of baking with aluminum foil, as the poster suggested. Like I said, chef, wish I could give you that 5 - but I reserve that for the recipes that have everything - great flavour as well as thorough instructions. Good luck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Island Mango Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2870.8
     
    Calories from Fat 878
    30%
    Total Fat 97.5 g
    150%
    Saturated Fat 41.0 g
    205%
    Cholesterol 431.8 mg
    143%
    Sodium 4578.8 mg
    190%
    Total Carbohydrate 455.6 g
    151%
    Dietary Fiber 12.8 g
    51%
    Sugars 259.6 g
    1038%
    Protein 44.6 g
    89%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites