30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe - it gets eaten so fast! First time I did not chop the mango small enough... oops!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goldigal May 29, 2012

great recipe, used it for overripe mangoes and added a little toasted coconut glaze on top. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum April 01, 2012

Went fast, very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Kat Cook August 15, 2011

Made this the other day to use up some slightly-past-prime mangoes that I had in the fridge. I omitted the raisins because I'm not really a fan, and I used some Malibu coconut rum instead of the rum extract (didn't have any). I was a tad worried that it wasn't going to turn out because it looked as though it was threatening to spill over onto the oven rack while it was baking, but it puffed up nicely and turned out just fine. I had to bake it for about 1 hour and 20 minutes for it to be done in the middle, but I didn't have to foil the edges (they browned nicely, but they weren't burnt at all). This was good fresh out of the oven, but it was spectacular the next day -- I toasted thick slices of it in my toaster oven, and spread them with Orange Butter -- yum! I'll definitely be making this again when I've got stray mangoes lying around, thanks for posting! Made for the All You Can Cook Buffet tag event

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess August 05, 2011

Made a double batch and got 6 - 3.5x7" loaves......3 had raisins. This recipe is moist and yummy. The coconut really comes through. Although I used all mango, I am clear it could be augmented with banana, peach, nectarine etc if you did not have enough mango. I had to coconut or rum extract so I used vanilla extract and rum. Oh yeah, BUTTER not margarine...taste the difference! One hour was just perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ambervim July 29, 2011

I made 1 medium loaf and 8 muffins, I don't like my big loaf pan. I was a shy short of 1.5 cups mango so I added a very small peach skin and all. I mixed the wet ingredients and let them sit while I showered before I added the dry thinking it might be good for the raisins. Very nice muffin/quick bread thanks! I hope my kids enjoy it for snack time. thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m July 17, 2010

I made this with 3 small very over ripe mangos which I pureed with my hand blender. I did not have any sour cream so I used some buttermilk instead. I did not have any rum flavoring or raisins so left them out and added a bit more coconut to make up for the raisins. I made 2 medium loaves which I baked for an hour at 350. The loaves turned out moist, very flavorful and tastey!! Next time I would like to try soaking some raisins in rum and adding them to the batter. This is a marvelous way to use up over ripe mango....if there is any left I am going to freeze a loaf :)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn302 July 31, 2009

I made this bread as I had a mango and some sour cream to use up. I found that the directions were very vague with this recipe and it seemed that each cook interpret it a different way. I used butter, Splenda instead of sugar, left out the coconut and rum extract (as I didn't have them) and use amber rum. 1-1/2 cups of chopped mango equaled 1 large mango. The bread was very moist and was gone in a day. I did not rate this as I had changed the recipe quite a bit. I would do this recipe again if I had a ripe mango that needed to be used up!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl April 22, 2009

I like the texture of this bread because it is moist and I like the ease of the recipe. The flavor of it tastes better once it is cool IMHO. I had everything except the rum extract. My family loves this bread and gave this recipe a 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB April 22, 2008

What a divine bread this makes! I love all of the flavors this recipe has and it is a great way to cook mango. I added some walnuts to my bread, I like a lot of texture and this bread has it all! Thanks for sharing =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemunkypie March 14, 2008
Island Mango Bread