45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These burgers are the bomb!! The spices are just smashing. I used fresh pineapple slices and grilled the buns. Thanks for an easy fab burger recipe. It is always nice to try different things.

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerri822 August 02, 2002

My family is getting used to me experimenting with new and to them, unusual recipes. This one got a rave reaction from them and they were sure they weren't going to like it. Love it when I can prove them wrong. The burger patties were very juicy and the flavor was remarkable. I didn't think the spices would be that detectable but they were. Not overpowering though. I used fresh pineapple. Thanks Nurse Di, for another yummy recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beccalanders31 June 03, 2003

these burgers were wonderfully juicy and tasty. the spices were perfect and all my guys had seconds. next time, i'll get a fresh pineapple which can only be more delicious. the nicest thing is that my DH actually followed the recipe and made dinner for us. (he hates it when i leave him recipes, but he's learning like the rest of us that we always like your recipes!) thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patticakes March 04, 2003

These were wonderful! Just what I was looking for. The flavors were just the right balance of spicy and sweet and savory. Can't wait to have friends over to share this exciting new twist on a backyard staple. The meal was perfectly rounded out when paired with http://www.food.com/recipe/honey-corn-for-the-bbq-grill-202194. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
apairofpetducks September 11, 2011

I made a veggie burger version with breadcrumbs, oats, and red beans. The patties were great, kinda sweet, and stuck together very well. But we would have preferred to eat them with BBQ sauce, avocado, tomato, and cheddar instead of the pineapple. Everyone thought they were just ok. Thanks for sharing, I'll definitely be making those patties again anyway!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS December 02, 2010

Interesting is the best wasy to describe this flavor. It is a nice change from the normal burger flavor. Not something we would have everyday but nice to change things up a bit. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Beauchamp June 11, 2010

Made these for my husband's bday party for a large crowd, and even the pickiest of eater's there, couldn't stop eating these. Mixed all the ingredients then let it marinade in the fridge for an hour or so. By far, the best burger I've ever had! Amazing flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MiSsBaKeSaLoT May 05, 2010

What a nice change from the boring old burgers! These are fantastic! I made little sliders out of them and cooked them on the stove top but didn't have the pineapple to top it - I can't wait to make it again because I love grilled pineapple! These are so simple to make and the medley of flavors is just incredible - thank you so much for posting this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bloomsday616 December 08, 2009

I wish I could give this more than 5 stars! We were on vacay w/extended family and chose to make these for the first time. To say they were a hit is an understatement. We have since made these several times for friends and EVERYONE loves them. Thanks for the awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama2four September 19, 2009

Great burgers,will make again thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lin1 August 17, 2009
Island Honey Burgers