17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Incredibly easy to make and my family loved them! I added a couple of slices of red bell pepper to each packet. Next time I might stir in little bit of cornstarch so sauce thickens as it cooks. This is also a fantastic recipe for camping. The packets can be made in advance and frozen so all you have to do at the campsite is put them on the grill!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W June 17, 2002

A really good easy dish. I used 4 canned pineapple rings and placed one under and one on top of each chicken breast for baking. Served with snowpeas and rice and I had a quick, tasty and healthy meal.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! April 23, 2002

The minute I read this recipe I knew that it would be great and we weren't disappointed. So easy to make and so easy to eat too. I didn't have sesame oil so I used sunflower instead. I served it with baked potatoes and a green salad - easy as pie!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Get Smart January 02, 2003

These were OK, not bad, but not wow. I'd give 5 stars for healthy and simplicity. Based on other reviewes, I added some sliced red bell peppers and used some cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. It happened that these marinted for 24 hours, but these still seemed a tad on the bland side. Perhaps our family just enjoys more spice. I would make these again if the family requested it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARathkamp May 14, 2009

It tasted OK but it took forever to cook. After 20 minutes the chicken was half-cooked despite cutting it up. The sauce was pretty watery and a bit bland, but my toddler ate it without argument. Maybe it's because I used fresh pineapple instead of canned, I don't know.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seedbeads February 18, 2009

Nice recipe, though it seems to be lacking something. Next time I will add some bell pepper to the packet. Also the sauce needed to be thicker, and for my taste, needed a bit of soy sauce added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie3551 July 18, 2008

These were really good, once I got them cooked. I did exactly what the directions said to do, but when 20 minutes went by, the chicken was not done at all. It took a good 15-20 minutes more for the chicken to cook. I might of done something wrong, since everyone else seems to have had much success, so I'll give it another try and hope that it goes better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lingering_Dream September 20, 2006

Very good, easy to make, no pan to clean, and has flexability. Hubby and 6 year old enjoyed it over rice and with green beans. Thanks for the recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise Nachtigal August 24, 2005

Well - another "packet" dinner to add to our list. We loved this recipe. It had an "Island" taste. I served with rice and brussel sprouts. I loved that I did not have to "watch" the stove or stir. I did not marinade ahead of time, just put all of the ingredients in together and baked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUSIE IN MISSOURI April 19, 2005
Island Chicken Packet