Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Island Black Bean Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Island Black Bean Salad

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2013

      A nice spicy salad, I love the combo of corn and black beans, used peppers from my garden. I liked the addition of the Italian dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      Great salad! Use less salt as some reviewers recommended. Wonderful as a take-along!<br/>Made for ZWT9 Soup-a-Stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      Great bean salad, I really like this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      Delicious! We loved this summery bean salad. I added some extra cumin and cilantro, because we love the stuff, and I used fresh white corn from my garden. Next time, I will reduce the salt as it was a little too salty for our tastes. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper! Made for ZWT 9 Caribbean for The Apron String Travelers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      Delicious! I didn't have quite enough italian dressing (about half) so I added extra olive oil and lime juice and a generous pinch of sugar. Made for ZWT 9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      Wonderful salad! I scaled it back to make about 2 cups and ate it all at one sitting. Now I wish I'd made more and probably will! Thanks Jean! Made for ZWT#9 2013 by a Hot Stuff team member.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2013

      I made a half batch of this delicious salad for lunch today. It is SOOO good. It is also very pretty and colorful. I made my own Italian dressing using a packet of Good Seasons Zesty Italian Salad Dressing mix that I found lying around. A word of caution about that. Packaged seasonings for salad dressings contain salt as the first ingredient (I didn't realize that)! Since I was halving the recipe, I was going to use a half Tb of salt (1.5 tsp). Thank goodness I stopped at 1 tsp and decided to try it. It was already too salty. I could have gotten away with either a half tsp or none at all. To combat this, I used another half of bell pepper and another half of lime. This, along with letting it meld for the two hours in the fridge really helped. This probably would not be the case with store bought dressings or homemade ones not using a seasoning packet. Despite the bit of saltiness, this salad is excellent and is going into my keeper file. Thanks! Made for ZWT9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      While this seems far more American South West to me than any Island it is, no matter what it's name, excellent. It does benifit for a chill but it's not bad fresh made either. Made by the recipe it's very fresh tasting and a real treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      Wonderful salad! I cut it back by 2/3rds because there are just 2 of us. I'm so sorry I did because we ate a huge amount of it last night and I went back later for more as a snack. I just finished the last of it up for my lunch. Made as directed using a home made Italian dressing. Yummy!
      Made for Food.Commandos ~ ZWT 7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      I didn't think I would like this overly much, as I'm not a big bean fan, but I knew DH would. Well, I loved it, too! The Italian dressing gave the mixture a tangy sweet taste, and the lime juice a wonderful freshness. I can think of many dishes this will go well with and I will definitely make it again! ZWT7 - Shady Ladies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      LOVED this black bean salad. I skipped the corn (don't like it) but included everything else. I had a Lime Viniagrette (Newman's Own) that I had not tried before, so mixed it with NO's Olive Oil & Vinegar dressing - it was perfect! Loved the lime and hint of cumin in this salad. This is a new favorite - I will be making this alot in the future. So glad I tried this recipe! Made for ZWT7 and the HOT PINK LADIES!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Love bean salad! Loved this bean salad! For the Italian dreesing I used olive oil and red wine winegar with a bunch of herbs and 2 smashed roasted garlic cloves. Skipped the salt. Thanks. Made for ZWT 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Very easy and very tasty. I used 3 15-oz. cans of black beans, drained and rinsed, but only had 2 cups of frozen corn that was thawed. Every other measurement was as written, and it came out lovely. I will definitely make this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      I've taken this to multiple parties / picnics and everyone raves about this salad. Now it's requested I bring it. Great taste but I do go heavier on the dressing and spices. I make it the night before for even better flavor. Thanks Chef Jean for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      This is a delicious salad. It was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Thank you for sharing the recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Island Black Bean Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (2118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 187.2
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    27%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 672.8 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes