15 Reviews

A nice spicy salad, I love the combo of corn and black beans, used peppers from my garden. I liked the addition of the Italian dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser September 04, 2013

Great salad! Use less salt as some reviewers recommended. Wonderful as a take-along!<br/>Made for ZWT9 Soup-a-Stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky August 31, 2013

Great bean salad, I really like this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B August 08, 2013

Delicious! We loved this summery bean salad. I added some extra cumin and cilantro, because we love the stuff, and I used fresh white corn from my garden. Next time, I will reduce the salt as it was a little too salty for our tastes. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper! Made for ZWT 9 Caribbean for The Apron String Travelers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill August 08, 2013

Delicious! I didn't have quite enough italian dressing (about half) so I added extra olive oil and lime juice and a generous pinch of sugar. Made for ZWT 9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl August 07, 2013

Wonderful salad! I scaled it back to make about 2 cups and ate it all at one sitting. Now I wish I'd made more and probably will! Thanks Jean! Made for ZWT#9 2013 by a Hot Stuff team member.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 August 02, 2013

I made a half batch of this delicious salad for lunch today. It is SOOO good. It is also very pretty and colorful. I made my own Italian dressing using a packet of Good Seasons Zesty Italian Salad Dressing mix that I found lying around. A word of caution about that. Packaged seasonings for salad dressings contain salt as the first ingredient (I didn't realize that)! Since I was halving the recipe, I was going to use a half Tb of salt (1.5 tsp). Thank goodness I stopped at 1 tsp and decided to try it. It was already too salty. I could have gotten away with either a half tsp or none at all. To combat this, I used another half of bell pepper and another half of lime. This, along with letting it meld for the two hours in the fridge really helped. This probably would not be the case with store bought dressings or homemade ones not using a seasoning packet. Despite the bit of saltiness, this salad is excellent and is going into my keeper file. Thanks! Made for ZWT9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny July 31, 2013

While this seems far more American South West to me than any Island it is, no matter what it's name, excellent. It does benifit for a chill but it's not bad fresh made either. Made by the recipe it's very fresh tasting and a real treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 21, 2011

Wonderful salad! I cut it back by 2/3rds because there are just 2 of us. I'm so sorry I did because we ate a huge amount of it last night and I went back later for more as a snack. I just finished the last of it up for my lunch. Made as directed using a home made Italian dressing. Yummy!
Made for Food.Commandos ~ ZWT 7

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned June 21, 2011

I didn't think I would like this overly much, as I'm not a big bean fan, but I knew DH would. Well, I loved it, too! The Italian dressing gave the mixture a tangy sweet taste, and the lime juice a wonderful freshness. I can think of many dishes this will go well with and I will definitely make it again! ZWT7 - Shady Ladies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie June 20, 2011
Island Black Bean Salad