Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Iron Mike's Sweet Tomato Pizza Sauce - the Spirit of Cincinnati Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Iron Mike's Sweet Tomato Pizza Sauce - the Spirit of Cincinnati

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-35 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2009

      In the midwestern town where I attended college, there was a locally owned pizzaria which was legendary. Their sauce was sweet, sweet, sweet. I loved that pizza and in an effort to replicate the sauce, I tried this recipe. While not exact, it quieted the cravings. ...and my family loved this too! Thanks for the posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I loved this rich sauce! I could have eaten it plain! I used crushed tomatoes and let simmer on very low about 40 min. I used it on a grilled pizza. Thanks Mr. Mom, for posting a winner! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      Larosa's pizza is my favorite pizza place around here! Luckily we have one a few miles down the road and get the luxury of eating it whenever we want. Their sauce is the best and thought I would try this one. This recipe is very good! Nice and sweet and has a great flavor. Makes plenty of sauce for 2 large pizzas. I always seem to have to simmer mine for awhile (at least an hour) to get the tomato puree taste out. If I use tomato sauce or canned tomatoes and puree them myself I normally end up with a better flavored tomato base. Maybe I just need to experiment with new tomato puree brands to find the one that tastes the best. This recipe isnt exactly like Larosas but is sure is a nice alternative to have at home! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Mr Mom my family thanks you tremendously!! Moved out West back in the 90's and have NEVER been able to find a pizza that I liked as much as Buddy's. Everytime I went home had to load up on LaRosa's while I was there, even got my daughter hooked on it too so when I ran across this recipe needless to say I was in the store that day buying all the ingredients This is pretty darn close to what I remember as the BEST pizza sauce I have ever had in my life. Thanks so much for this recipe!! Now if you can create a recipe for the Baked Buddy, or Skyline Chili(ones on the web don't even come close sorry) Then I will be perfectly content living here without my favorite restaraunts!! Thanks again, Kell

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Sweet and yummy-thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Left the "'Nati" 12 years ago and now live in Santa Barbara Ca. (California Pizza Kitchen = BLEH!) I haven't tried your recipe yet but am anxious. VIVA LaRosas!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      This this incredible. It has so much flavour and so much better than store bought sauce. I did have to alter some things to accommodate what I had on hand. I left out the oil, and thyme and used Rotel tomatoes which I pureed. I also reduced the amount of brown sugar to 3/4 Tblsp.My pizza tasted so much better. Thanks for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      Fantabulous!!! Add a Chicago girl to your fans;) I love sweet sauce, and we moved away from the pizza place I loved. I will never order takeout pizza again!! Edited to add - I increased the salt quite a bit, but otherwise went according to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      This is great recipe. I will definitely make it again and again. The only change I would make next time is to crush the minched garlic in a garlic press to make it cookdown more. Pretty close to what I remember as Cincinnati's favorite Pizza Sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      I just LOVE this sauce! I have never made my own pizza sauce or crust, this was a great one to start with and will probably not try another. I did make a few changes though, I doubled everything but the puree. This sauce is sweet, tangy and spicy. Thanks for sharing this recipe! Oh, and easy to make too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I LOVE THIS SAUCE! My friends thought the sweetness was odd, but overall it was a hit. We're from California, so we're not use to rich pizza sauces like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      This was a very good pizza sauce, that I will be sure to make again, as both the kids and I loved it! They even wanted extra to dip their crusts in:) It was easy to make and tasted better than the store bought. I had to use crushed tomatoes, as that is what I had on hand, and didn't have carrot, so left that out. I doubled the batch so I could freeze half, but there wasn't much left to freeze. Thanks, Mr. Mom, for a great pizza sauce recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      5 stars all the way. The only change I made was I doubled the garlic and used half the brown sugar. We made individual pizzas using My "Best Ever" Breadmaker Pizza Dough for the dough. We let the grandkids add their own toppings. The taste of these pizzas were far better than any order out pizza we could of got. I will be making again often. Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      Being from upstate NY I too am use to sweet tomato sauce and I am thrilled to find this one! Trying to find some thing to do with all the tomatoes from the garden and I am chicken of canning, this fit the spot. Used 1Steve's tomato puree Tomato Puree and followed the rest using just slightly less honey and sugar. Took a few tastes before it went to the freezer. It is a thing of beauty look and taste. Thanks a ton Mr Mom. Not only for the great sauce, and easy recipe, but for taking me back home too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      This is a very *unique* tasting pizza sauce. Just as the description says, it is sweet. I'm not used to that, but I gave it a try in spite of the inner urge to add back in some tangy tomatoes. I topped the pizza with only a mixture of Italian cheeses. Truthfully, I was amazed at how the sauce, when topped and baked didn't taste nearly as sweet as it did while simmering. I ended up adding a tad more salt, and I think next time (and I *will* try this again!), I'll add in some fresh, more flavorful herbs to the sauce during simmering. Since I'm (obviously) not from Cincinatti, I'm used to the sauce having an "upfront" taste and role in the pizza. This sauce provides a nice, mellow backdrop for whatever will top it. Give this a try. It's very unique, and it's especially nice knowing the background/ regional info on the recipe/flavor. Thank you for sharing, Mr. Mom. ~Jeff's Girl Way Out West

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Iron Mike's Sweet Tomato Pizza Sauce - the Spirit of Cincinnati

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.0
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    26%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 56.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites