37 Reviews

I used a 26 & 1/2 oz can of hunts tomato sauce for the "puree".I then followed the recipe as directed except I decreased the sugar/honey.I agree with other reviewers it would have been too sweet.Although we loved the sweeter than normal sauce, I cut the sweetener that was called for by half.It was sooo good!Ohh!I did add some chipotle chili powder for some depth....Yum!Thx for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWantABe June 15, 2011

This was a little too sweet for me, but doubled the recipe and honey, not the sugars and it turned out great! I used some of it and froze the rest. I cant wait to use it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hotstuffrider June 07, 2011

Before I tried this recipe, I always used just tomato sauce for my pizzas. I will never make that mistake again! This pizza sauce was out of this world! I can't describe how satisfied I was with the results of it! Thanks you so very much for this easy & delicious pizza sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissyMuffin March 07, 2010

Made this the other night for dinner. I know we found a new pizza sauce. It was fantastic, quick and easy. I subbed 1T of light corn syrup for the honey as I had none on hand. These are the things that I refuse to buy at the store as they are so easy to make at home and this recipe is a great example!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yinzer Chef January 19, 2010

This is our favorite piza sauce recipe now. I do like mine iwht a bit less sugar though. YUM! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meltedcountry July 22, 2009

BarneysBurgers is right. Double the spices and the sugar (and honey). I was born and raised in Cincinnati--worked at the call center in high school--and live in DC now. I am eating a pizza with this sauce right now. Believe me--this is as close to the real deal as you're gonna get. Do yourselves a favor and google a traditional crust recipe. I don't think I'll ever order another pizza.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
streckfuss April 30, 2009

This was really good! Never had a sweet pizza sauce before & I can say I really enjoyed it as did everyone else. So easy to make... will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madetobemagic71 April 29, 2009

Im from Cali so never had sweet pizza sauce. I personally wasnt crazy about it but it was still really good. I am still giving it 5 stars because I would make it again. I had a kid eat some and he loved it and all my other recipes call for cheese so this is a good non dairy recipe for me and kid pleaser. I am a pizza sauce lover and this sauce, as others have said, was not overpowering. I could taste it was there but it really brang out the flavors of all the toppings. So it was a nice change if you want something different then just your ordinary pizza. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin April 03, 2009

I had an open can of tomato puree to use up and needed tomato sauce for another recipe so I cut this down and it worked great. I cut back on the sugar and honey just a tiny bit (1 T honey & 4 t sugar for 20 oz tomato puree) and after 1 hr cooking I was afraid it was going to be too sweet for me still. But once on a crust with cheese & toppings I loved it! Thanks so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 March 17, 2009
Iron Mike's Sweet Tomato Pizza Sauce - the Spirit of Cincinnati