Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Iron Mike's Sweet Tomato Pizza Sauce - the Spirit of Cincinnati Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Iron Mike's Sweet Tomato Pizza Sauce - the Spirit of Cincinnati

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2010

      The sweetness of the sauce was fantastic...I made this sauce for my family and mother-in-law with rave reviews....well...since I am only civil with my mother-in-law she begrudgingly gave me a "That was good"....trust me...that is code for grand slam...thank you for the great recipe..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I have to admit right up front that I didn't put all the sweet in this--I thought it would be too much for my family. I used a tablespoon of brown sugar and a tablespoon of honey and it was PERFECT for our family, still quite sweet. We experimented with toppings, and the best ones with this topping are toppings with more salt and spice in them (think pepperoni and jalepenos). We also topped with crushed red pepper which took it right over the top. The combination of sweet, salty, and spicy is FANTASTIC! We will definitely be making this again, and I really appreciate the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Hats off to Iron Mike! I made this and this is the best tasting pizza/pasta sauce I have tasted in so very long. I know make it in big batches and freeze the extra. I use it for both pizza & pasta. I get rave reviews every time. I made a egg plant parm with this. And it was the best egg plant parm I've tasted in my life. So again thank you so very much Mike. I'll be making this for many many years to come.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      This is pretty close to Buddy's. I worked for LaRosa's for 7 years and this is on the money. I will know for sure once it cools down and I put it on a Pie :-)! After cooling it was a little weak compared to the real thing so, I "kicked it up a notch". I almost doubled the sugar and honey (3 TBS each) but I also doubled all of the spices. Simmered it a while longer and this time when it cooled it was dead on. I had some thin crusts bought from either Sam's or GFS in the freezer so I pulled one out and made a 12" 4 item pie. I haven’t eaten an entire 12" 4 item pie since I quit LaRosa's 14 years ago but I swear I couldn't stop till it was all gone!!!!! I grow and can my own tomatoes every year so instead of the puree I used 2 pints of Roma's drained and ran through a blender. I was out of fresh garlic so I used 3 tsp. dried garlic powder. For the carrots...I used Gerber baby food :-0.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2014

      I found this recipe a few years ago looking for either a Papa John's reproduction or just a general sweet pizza sauce. Most of the recipes I've found online have been a huge disappointment, aside from anything from Alton Brown. This, on the other hand, is the only sauce recipe I ever bother with. I've actually come back to this website at least 3 times to recopy it. I think one of the things that was intriguing was the minced carrot. I don't know if this is based on a particular restaurant's sauce, I only know it's great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      LOOOOOOVED this sauce recipe. I made this for my family and we loved it. It reminded us of a pizza place here in town. I used half and froze the other half so we can have it again soon. It is sweet, but that's what we liked. Thank you for sharing with awesome recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      This recipe taste nearly identicle to Larosas sauce. However I made a few variations. FYI I ordered off of Cinci faves to have 10 Larosas pizzas shipped to me freeze dried. It tasted really dissapointing, infact my body also rejected it. I wouldn't bake any for friends it tasted so bad. My body kept saying not to take another bite and ended to the bathroom each time I baked theirs. And Cinci faves would never respond to my complaints. I threw most pizzas in the trash and wasted over $100. So I was pleased to find this. I just made this and here's a suggestion/opinions etc.

      For starters you MUST use provolone cheese!!! Larosas actualy uses this. I put some mozzarella on part of pizza just to see and it's like eating a sweet dessert and not a pizza.

      The ratio is incorrect for a medium pizza. Make a full 11oz can of puree instead of 7oz. I had to add a lot of extra brown sugar. I regreted it when I added a little extra honey. Plus I had to add a lot of extra sea salt many times while cooking. I know the recipie requires plain salt.

      Once I felt everything finished tasting identical to Larosas... it was actualy a tad too sweet when I ate some of the pizza even on the provolone side.

      I didn't add carrots, and I only had veggie oil here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      100% Excellent! Loved this sauce and used it for grilled pizza. 10 Star recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      This sauce was amazing! We traveled to London last summer and had the best pizza with a sweet sauce. We have been trying to find recipes ever since. This one tastes almost exactly like what we had! We will definitely be making this recipe over and over. Thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      I used a 26 & 1/2 oz can of hunts tomato sauce for the "puree".I then followed the recipe as directed except I decreased the sugar/honey.I agree with other reviewers it would have been too sweet.Although we loved the sweeter than normal sauce, I cut the sweetener that was called for by half.It was sooo good!Ohh!I did add some chipotle chili powder for some depth....Yum!Thx for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      This was a little too sweet for me, but doubled the recipe and honey, not the sugars and it turned out great! I used some of it and froze the rest. I cant wait to use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Before I tried this recipe, I always used just tomato sauce for my pizzas. I will never make that mistake again! This pizza sauce was out of this world! I can't describe how satisfied I was with the results of it! Thanks you so very much for this easy & delicious pizza sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Made this the other night for dinner. I know we found a new pizza sauce. It was fantastic, quick and easy. I subbed 1T of light corn syrup for the honey as I had none on hand. These are the things that I refuse to buy at the store as they are so easy to make at home and this recipe is a great example!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      This is our favorite piza sauce recipe now. I do like mine iwht a bit less sugar though. YUM! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      BarneysBurgers is right. Double the spices and the sugar (and honey). I was born and raised in Cincinnati--worked at the call center in high school--and live in DC now. I am eating a pizza with this sauce right now. Believe me--this is as close to the real deal as you're gonna get. Do yourselves a favor and google a traditional crust recipe. I don't think I'll ever order another pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      This was really good! Never had a sweet pizza sauce before & I can say I really enjoyed it as did everyone else. So easy to make... will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Im from Cali so never had sweet pizza sauce. I personally wasnt crazy about it but it was still really good. I am still giving it 5 stars because I would make it again. I had a kid eat some and he loved it and all my other recipes call for cheese so this is a good non dairy recipe for me and kid pleaser. I am a pizza sauce lover and this sauce, as others have said, was not overpowering. I could taste it was there but it really brang out the flavors of all the toppings. So it was a nice change if you want something different then just your ordinary pizza. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I had an open can of tomato puree to use up and needed tomato sauce for another recipe so I cut this down and it worked great. I cut back on the sugar and honey just a tiny bit (1 T honey & 4 t sugar for 20 oz tomato puree) and after 1 hr cooking I was afraid it was going to be too sweet for me still. But once on a crust with cheese & toppings I loved it! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

    • on February 22, 2009

      This is THE best pizza sauce recipe. I have been looking for a great (yet easy to make) sauce recipe for a long time to compliment my own pizza crust recipe (#146401) on Zaar. I need look no further as this is exactly what I want! Thanks, Mr. Mom !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Iron Mike's Sweet Tomato Pizza Sauce - the Spirit of Cincinnati

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.0
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    26%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 56.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites