16 Reviews

Mike, you are THE man! This is awesome syrup! I had been trying unsuccessfully to mix my own mochas and this recipe has made it possible. Never again will I pay $4 for a coffee drink! Kudos to you for figuring the ratio out and many thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisv July 09, 2011

YUM! I am not using stars, as I made significant changes (Splenda), but I do think this is a 5 star recipe. So chocolatey! And, I much prefer this recipe to another recipe I tried involving cooking the ingredients together for a few minutes; this one has a cleaner chocolate taste. SO... I subbed equivalent Splenda, and used much less vanilla (wimpy me!) I actually found my concoction extremely chocolatey and not quite sweet enough, so I add more sweetner to my cup. Love this stuff! (I was prompted to seek this recipe because *bucks stopped carrying their sf chocolate/mocha syrup.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorie's Lori June 05, 2008

Finished product was extremely watery...not thick enough to be called syrup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gary H. April 19, 2016

I have made this twice now and ready to make a third batch. I make a half recipe and it lasts for about 2 months for me. I added peppermint syrup to the last batch and it was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound December 22, 2015

Just made this. Mine is not thick like you'd expect of a syrup. Does it thicken while it cools? I followed the recipe almost exactly. I didn't have imitation vanilla so I used a splash of the good stuff. I don't think that should affect consistency. Tastes good though. Do you store it in the fridge?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenOfOakville July 13, 2014

Wonderful recipe. For a twist, I added cinnamon and ancho chili powder for a Mexican Chocolate taste. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cedfan November 29, 2011

I'm so happy I now have the *bucks right in my own kitchen! I also used the baking soda trick as a sub. for the dutch processed coco. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smsme_syd April 26, 2010

Wonderful, made up a half batch last night and its very very good. I have been trying different recipes and this is definately a keeper! Thanks for posting it!! I brought it into the office this morning and am currently the most popular person there. I didn't have dutch processed cocoa on hand and added the baking soda as another reviewer suggested. Terrific!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mv December 30, 2009

wow that is amazing... can't believe how much better than bottled syrup that is! i used it in the 'zaar frappuchino recipe and it was fantastic! thanks for sharing mike!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
***chef katie*** September 25, 2009

Great recipe! I cannot compare, as we don't have that famous coffee shop right here in our small village, but this syrup is it anyway :) My guinea pigs were extremely happy with it, so it will become standard. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany July 12, 2009
Iron Mike's Mocha Syrup - Chocolate Syrup for Espresso Drinks