Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Steel Cut Oatmeal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Steel Cut Oatmeal

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2009

      To make it faster in the morning, start it the night before. Combine the boiling water and oats (and cinnamon, if desired) then cover and take off the heat and let them sit overnight. In the morning, you reheat and cook for more like 10 minutes (or until tender) before adding everything else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      We love the steel-cut oats too. I go one step further and toat the grain in a heavy skillet with 1 tbsp. butter for about 2 minutes until the oats smell like butterscotch,then add them to your boiling water. Try it, you'll love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      This is so good! I will never buy another package of pre-made oatmeal again. The texture of the steel cut oats is amazing. I made this with our Sunday morning breakfast. My fiancee mixed in cinnamon and brown sugar, and I stirred raisins, chopped dates and walnuts into mine. Delicious and so filling! Next time I will try mixing bananas in, but I loved my own variation :-) I will make this all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      yum! We always have either McCann's Steel cut oats, Whole Foods steelcuts or, now, Quaker Oats steel cut oats in the house. Traditionally we use them to make Hofelgritz (Hoffelgritz - Aka (To Our Surprise!) Cincinnati Goetta) (shameless self-promotion) but have expanded to replace rolled oats for improved glycemic index. This makes a great breakfast - we use flax seed sprinkled in while the oats cook & top with pepitos, almonds slices & pecans +/- banana. Confesssion - a splash of 1/2 & 1/2 or heavy cream makes it even better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      When I cook my steel cut oats, I put the oats in the top of my double boiler and add the boiling water. I then fill the bottom pot with more boiling water and simmer for 30 - 45 minutes, checking occasionally to see if you need more water. I never have to worry about scorching my oatmeal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2013

      Awesome

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      Very good basic recipe. I halved the recipe and my oatmeal was done well before the 30 minutes; I think 17 minutes would have been fine. I didn't have bananas, so I "made do" with brown sugar and chopped walnuts, what a nice combination. With this dish everything but the bananas was brown, so i think contrast is needed: bananas offer some contrast, but this is a good time for dark raisins, fresh strawberries or dried cranberries. Mind you, I loved my oatmeal just fine, but presentation can sway the undecided. Made for The Wild Bunch for ZWT8 Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      I love steel cut oats! I left out the optional milk, no banana in the house so that was left out also. My nut of choice was walnuts and topped with the brown sugar. I made this for Zaar World Tour 8 for the Bistro Babes team.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      I left out the cinnamon, since I don't really care for it. Love steel cut oats, and the banana and honey were nice additions. For ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      This was a delicious reward after a spin class. I had it with a tiny bit of brown sugar and lots of cinnamon. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      Filling! My first review for ZWT#8~Great Britain/India. Hold on to your tea and crumpets along with your magic carpet, this is going to be one wild ride.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      This is my new favourite winter breakfast! I use a splash of pure maple syrup in place of honey or brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      I have been meaning to try steel cut oats for ages and I'm SO glad I finally did! I followed other reviewers' suggestion and boiled them the night before, and they were done quickly in the AM. I did not leave the cover on for the morning cooking, which I'll mention here b/c I wasn't sure what to do there. The texture was so creamy and lovely! We enjoyed ours with blueberries, honey, and flaxseed for the boys and walnuts for me. DH ate 3/4 of the recipe in one sitting! Delish! Thanks for posting and prompting me to finally make these!! Made for Veg Swap November 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Delicious! Hearty & Wholesome! (I halved the recipe and followed Chef #1382175's suggestion to bring to a boil the previous night. When I awoke and flipped on the burner to low, it didn't take long at all to finish it off.) Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      I love steel oats and basically make it the same way, my favorite being with honey, nuts, cinnamon, banana but I have to add a tad butter to the mix. I love that flavor. I add it when it's done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      I have to tell you Rita that I am an avid oatmeal eater most mornings, just not steeloats. So buying a box of this was a new adventure for me. It has a totally different texture than the traditional and of course the cooking time is the main thing. I love this as a different twist up. And, of course sky's the limit as to possibilites. I used a combination of a flaxseed, cinnamon, brownsugar spice mix I have on hand and also this time I threw in a blend of dried fruits that Sunsweet carries that is labeled AntioxidantBlend. I get it at Costco. So yummy. Great breakfast and one that I'm sure to have again....soon!! Made for April's Spice of the month...CINNAMON~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      Well I never liked oatmeal but boy have I changed my tune since trying these. The texture is soo much better. I ad toasted pecans, dates or golden raisins or cranraisins and 1-2 Tbsp heavy whipping cream. Now I eat my oatmeal 3-4 times a week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      Love it! 3/4 of the recipe is perfect for my mom, brother and I. I add a tbsp each of chopped walnuts and almonds to my bowl, and ground flaxseed w/the brown sugar. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      In my home we call this banana bread oatmeal. We eat it in big bowls and it is perfect for those cold mornings you would rather just stay in bed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      Yum. I found a box of steel cut oats in, of all places, my local discount store (Big Lots). I've had it a few weeks and was looking for a way to really see the difference in it and moe refined oatmeal. This recipe was lovely. The timing and amount of water were right on. I was out of banana so just added some skim milk and splenda to my first small bowl, and a bit of fat free vanilla yogurt to my second. The kids are not so sure about the texture yet (one of mine only likes the instant packets), but we'll work on it. Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Steel Cut Oatmeal

    Serving Size: 1 (308 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 177.4
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    19%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    19%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites