Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Soda Bread with Raisins and Caraway Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Soda Bread with Raisins and Caraway

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2003

      Extremely tasty. Is a bit messy to prepare, but the wonderful taste and rate at which it disappears makes it well worth it! Really, really good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      Quick & easy to prepare. Many soda bread recipes are bland. This was very tasty. I used a 12" skillet and it easily served 22. Positive comments from everyone. I will make it part of my annual St. Patrick's Day dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      Wow! I don't know what traditional Irish Soda Bread tastes like so I'm calling this recipe it. I ran out of AP flour so I used two cups of Bread flour to make up the five total. I used 1 1/2 cups of zanti currants 1/2 cup Golden raisins and 1/2 cup of dried cranberries to make up the dried fruit. Then I pumped up the fruit by macerating in 1/4 cup of Johnny Walker Green.(Scottish I know but same effect). The photo shows I was able to shape it so I could bake it on a stone. I took about an hour to get a clean toothpick. It is very sticky dough to work with like a giant biscuit. All of my family and friends said it was the best they had ever had. This will be my traditional Irish Soda Bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Tastes great with the Open-face Corned Beef and Cheese Sandwiches With Pickled Onions recipe on this site. Try substituting 2 cups of whole wheat and 1 cup of oats for 3 cups of white flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      On two occasions during the St. Patricks Day season, I attended dinners where a "traditional" St. Patrick's Day meal was being served. In addition to the fact that the turnip, parsnips, and onions were missing, something that was alleged to be Irish soda bread was served. Apparently, the recipe was well worn and stained because the list of ingredients apparently only called for 1/2 cup of raisins and no caraway seeds. Even worse they apparently used cake flour. It crumled. I found this recipe and was really pleased. I gave it to some friends and so were they. We all particularly enjoyed it toasted for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      Perfect! The balance of caraway and raisins is spot-on. Easy to make, and even more divine to devour. Thank you Yooper for sharing Jerry's memory and bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2006

      I made this for St. Patricks Day this year and it was a real hit! I forgot to rate this recipe until I was asked to please make it again for Memorial Day. What an appropriate recipe to make. Jerry O'Leary with be with us in spirit from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      This Irish Soda Bread was wonderful. I made it for St. Patrick's Day and everyone enjoyed it very much. There were two changes that I made. One was that I did not add caraway seeds and I added a little less sugar. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2003

      THank you, thank you, thank you. This is exactly what I was looking for. It is so good and easy to make.The flavor was not to be believed.It is light and very tasty.The timing was perfect.My sister had a recipe like this,she loved irish soda bread.She passed away 2 years ago. She would say this was the best, and it is. Everytime I bake this I will say a prayer for Jerry O'Leary. Gratefully yours Gloria Morrongiello

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Soda Bread with Raisins and Caraway

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 667.1
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    19%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 56.8 mg
    18%
    Sodium 827.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 125.8 g
    41%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 55.7 g
    222%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites